We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!!!”
Review of Hotel Il Pellicano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Il Pellicano
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Porto Ercole
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed!!!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I am cook. So first things first: food :)

I will never spend 600 EURO in a spa, i think its ridiculous. But I do not mind to spend this amount or even more for a dinner in a good restaurant.
With one but. it has to be worth it. What can I say about their 2 michelin star restaurant …. fusion-confusion. I felt robed.
Yes, serves was excellent. Setting is stunningly beautiful. But i loooove food. And this is the prime reason i go to the restaurant.
To be fare, plates looked beautiful. just right amount of food, lovely colour combinations, modern design. But the taste of most of the dishes is a complete
failure. Some combinations for a simple disaster.
The chef is playing with Indian flavour, trying to implement them into european cooking. Love Indian food. Cook it. Had training in India.
That dishes was just wrong.

Another restaurant's food is more straight forward and simple, but you know, it is fine! I enjoyed my meals there.

The hotel. its OK. The best on the coast for sure. But on the world scale, nothing special. We had garden room. Good size, design is matter of taste. not my cup of coffee.
Gorgeous bathroom thought. Also checked rooms in a main building. I can not imagine anyone who will like it, especially for the money you pay.

Overall: will never come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irinchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    40
    19
    12
    11
See reviews for
47
256
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HoiAn
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

A splendid property!
Pricey when you pay €1000 per night for a room albeit one with a sea view.
We were given a room in one of the outbuildings, called 'cottages'.
Our first impression is the 'cottage look' in the room, was on the cheap side i.e. soft furnishing from a mail order catalogue, flimsy wardrobe doors and mirrors, floor tiles of the very basic type.
We asked to be transferred to one in the main building as after 2 days, trudging up and down the steps was a bit tough on the knees. We found the charming and simple decor which we expected in our second room, which was small with a distant view of the sea. The wifi never functioned in the rooms. The bed linen and towels were of those mostly used in 4 star category chain hotels smelling of a strong acidic detergent.
The breakfast spread is generous and the service impeccable. Dining experience is alright as one can expect the prices are steep.The portions on the small side. I guess they expect one to go through the antipasti, primi and secondo ritual before surrendering to the 'dolci'!

Room Tip: The rooms are on the small side in the main building but the ones in the 'cottages' slightl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mingalabaHoiAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This was our first stay at Il Pellicano. It is a beautifully appointed hotel in a stunning location. The weather was very hot so we spent most of the time swimming in the sea off their 'beach' which is a very clever construction above the rocks. The water was coolish but crystal clear. The hotel provide free goggles and flippers to their guests.

We ventured to Porto Erole and Porto Stefano but to be honest we enjoyed the tranquility and beautiful scenery of the hotel far more.

The service is impeccable. However be preapred for expensive prices. Main courses at their beautiful Grill resatuarnt are on avearge 45 Euros. The food however is delicious. I dont have a huge appetite so the portions were ideal for me. Lunch in this spot sipping chilled Rose wine is a must.

Room Tip: We booked D3 cwhich is a two bedroom Cottage. Beautiful room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieHungerford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camogli, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This is a very nice hotel. Tastefully decorated, excellent location, good food and service and discreet to the point my friends in Porto Ercole could not get in touch with me because the front desk staff would not reveal if I was staying there. I guess a good place to take a "friend". Or make sure your mobile is charged and working.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViaCamogli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Very expensive but terrible night.we couldn't sleep because of a strange noise the hotel couldn't detect,Mosquitos,piano bar musique loud,and no screen for the morning light.
The hotel suggested to change room at 11,45pm.but only 10% on the price.
Plus we were sick from the food. We strongly do not recommend this place.the fish was farm fish and the hotel is located not far the best place in Italy for fish Orbetello!plus the portion of pasta is not enough for a baby doll,a mini portion of bitter vegetables,nasty bread,really a shame for a Tuscan restaurant .

Room Tip: Maybe the cottage rooms are better,far from the noise and the icy ac of the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Cavalletti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Il Pellicano is not cheap, some reviewers complained about the price(s) and I disagree; this is a world class hotel and yes, poolside sandwiches and water bottles are expensive. If you want cheap water and snacks find a cheaper hotel.
This being said, my wife and I had an experience of a life time enjoying the beauty, service, amenities, and glorious Mediterranean view at Il Pellicano on our honeymoon. We did a boat tour around the south side of Argentario and took a day trip to Montalcino and Siena (2 hrs away), and Porto Ercole (10 mins drive). The property at Il Pellicano is lush beyond belief with plants, gardens, terraces, friendly staff, and delicious food & wine. Every single square inch of Il Pellicano is designed with incredible detail, style, and class. Save up and make it happen!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Tappan, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My husband and I just had an amazing stay at Il Pellicano. The staff was amazing, they were more than willing to answer any questions, give recommendations, make reservations, and get us where we wanted to go. All the staff was welcoming and pleasant. The hotel itself was amazing. We booked a romance package and it was perfect. Our room had a small patio and we overlooked the water, and it was magnificent. The pool was great, our weather was a little on the cool side, but we enjoyed a day by the pool anyway. We had the most amazing couples massage. The restaurants are all delicious and the service impeccible. If you are looking for a romantic, relaxing, quiet vacation spot-this is the place. It is expensive, but well worth it!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tish1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Ercole
5.3 mi away
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
#1 of 1 in Cala Piccola
728 reviews
1.9 mi away
A Point Porto Ercole Resort & Spa
4.9 mi away
Hotel Baia d'Argento
Hotel Baia d'Argento
#2 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel Filippo II
Hotel Filippo II
#1 of 15 in Monte Argentario
300 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#5 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
16 reviews
1.6 mi away
Albergo La Conchiglia
Albergo La Conchiglia
#3 of 7 in Porto Ercole
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Pellicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Pellicano

Property: Hotel Il Pellicano
Address: Localita Sbarcatello, 58019 Porto Ercole, Monte Argentario, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Monte Argentario > Porto Ercole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Porto Ercole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Il Pellicano 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant five-star hotel, located in Tuscany's Maremma region, was built in the mid-1960s as a love nest for Michael and Patricia Graham and it is today part of The Leading Hotels of the World. The home, called Il Pellicano as a tribute to the first time the couple met at Pelican Point in California, was initially a club for the Grahams' friends, but was subsequently expanded and opened to friends of friends. However, a few things remained the same: the pleasure of feeling at home and the glamorous and slightly retro atmosphere. The hotel's discrete luxury and the still-rugged Tuscan countryside attract the international jet set. Today, the cottages and the central building are suspended between the sky and the sea, with large rooms, windows and terraces where it's unclear where the indoors end and the outdoors begin. There are pathways and stairways, fragrant gardens and discrete corners, a restaurant with one Michelin stars and three Gambero Rosso forks, a heated sea-water swimming pool, a spa with a sea view to soothe both the body and the soul, and for those wanting to take a dip in the Tyrrhenian Sea, a white platform with chaise longue and immaculate parasols. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Il Pellicano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Pellicano Hotel Porto Ercole
Il Pellicano Porto Ercole
Hotel Il Pellicano Porto Ercole, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing