We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Seaside Resort!”
Review of Hotel Il Pellicano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Il Pellicano
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Porto Ercole
Certificate of Excellence
Edgewater, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Elegant Seaside Resort!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife and I spent a relaxing 4 days at this cliffside resort. It's branded as a hotel but they have a pool, a spa, a beach club and tennis courts, so in my mind it's a resort. We had a beautiful suite with a spacious patio overlooking the sea. The place has an old world Italian charm and elegance. It's setting is very beautiful, tucked in a cove nestled between towering hills and the sea. The staff is professional, super friendly and extremely efficient. They truly are there to make sure you have the best stay possible and they did. Especially Francesco, Michele and Gabriella in the restaurant and Fernando in the hotel.
The restaurant is amazing and is a destination in itself. You can order the tasting menu or order ala Carte. Either way you will be pleased.They also have an extensive wine list and their sommeliers are brilliant. We never had a bad meal. The restaurant sits on a deck that overlooks the water and the views are stunning. Except we never saw a pelican.
Be prepared to pay for what you get. But it's hard to find such a great total package in a Hotel/Resort. We'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrence O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    40
    19
    12
    11
See reviews for
48
253
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We loved everything about this hotel. It is gorgeous with the rocky mountains on one side and the gorgeous sparkling sea on the other but the staff it was set it apart for us. The staff is very helpful and friendly.... it is so nice to be surrounded by happy, friendly staff. Our beds were of high quality and the bathroom was very nice as well. It's an amazing place!

Room Tip: If you book during a time that the hotel is not full, they will upgrade your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThreeBayMares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We spent a long weekend (4 Days) over the May holidays and couldn't have been more pleased with Il Pellicano. Finally a World Class resort that 'gets it'!! This cozy, small 5 Star Leading Hotels Resort puts its emphasis on its drop-dead location, excellent service, amenities (spa) and food & wine for the discerning guest without trying to accommodate families with young children. Hoorah! (Children under 10 are not allowed. You really can't try to please everyone and those with children are better off in areas where there are activities for and an atmosphere specifically for kids. This is a secluded, tranquil grown-up spot catering to 'grown-up' interests.) While being shown around the hotel after checking in, we immediately noticed the peaceful, serene atmosphere: no screaming children around the pool or cafe, a calm emerald green ocean...Ah! Just the perfect spot for adults looking for a time out from the craziness of the World. One actually mustn't venture out from the hotel at all: Between the lovely sunning area at the private beach to the heated salt water pool with its comfortable chaise lounges to the 2 outdoor bars/cafes, the in-house 2 star Michelin restaurant to the well-equipped spa & fitness room, one could easily spend a week decompressing in this very special place. Unfortunately, the weather during our stay was cool, windy and a bit rainy for the most part making our foray to the beach and relaxing days around the pool a To-Do for our next visit. To best use our time, we ventured to areas away from the hotel (no more than 1 hour) and found these tours quite worthwhile: The Maremma National Park with its natural rough coast, pine & oak forests and special cattle breed, the Etruscan hill towns of Pitigilano, Sorano etc. with their picturesque vistas and interesting histories, the harbor towns of Orbetello & San Stefano etc. with their rich histories (including Spanish fortresses) and of course the famed Saturnia Thermal Springs. We can enthusiastically recommend the last! Quite a new experience for us actually, but the warm sulfur springs at the spa was a unique, and I believe therapeutically helpful, experience. We recommend booking a day pass thru Il Pellicano's concierge for the Saturnia Resort & Spa's Day Pass. This allows one access to the same amenities as the hotel's own guests and costs €65. Included is a bathrobe, locker, access to the hotel's spa, access to all the outdoor pools and indoor spa areas and health bar. During our stay the number of passes for external guests was booked out so we ended up having to go to the affiliated 'more public' but still maintained neighboring area of pools costing around €23. It was pretty full despite the dark clouds on the horizon. (The picture I include with this review is from the other, natural Thermal Spring which is open to the general public and is rather primitive having no changing room, shower or rest room facility. But there is no entrance fee.) The clientele of the hotel was very international: Italian, Swiss, Dutch, English, American and Russian, with the helpful staff quite able to advise and assist them. Our meals were mostly very good. For breakfast, a small but interesting selection of high-quality meats, yogurts, breads, jams etc with eggs to order. A nice touch we thought was that the attentive and very professional staff brought around daily some special item to the table separately. As for our dinners: we dined three times at the main restaurant as the less formal one was closed this time of year. One of our special tasting menus with wines was first rate with the combination and preparation of our dishes being outstanding and worth every star, but the second less so. The combinations here just didn't gel. (Lots of raw 'preparation' and similarities to our previous menu selections; not much variety.) And for one evening, we dined in the finer dining room but selected more simple local dishes not listed on the menu. (We share a Branzino in salt crust with vegetables, €90.) The wine selection was extensive and we loved that the staff was more than willing to dispense wines by the glass to try even if it meant opening a bottle just for us. This was for us a true highlight of the hotel: THE STAFF! They were all helpful, attentive, knowledgeable and very professional. PLUS, they had a genuinely friendly attitude, from chambermaid to concierge to gardener to wait staff. We were very impressed. We are already planning our next trip but have been informed that the 2nd half of June, all of July and August are booked. Small, special hotel 2 hours north of Rome, it figures. We're hoping for a cancellation or maybe for a spot in September. Maybe you'll be lucky too?

Room Tip: Obviously, if you can afford it and they're available, book a room with sea view. Plus, we recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelingwithdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We recently came back from a trip to Rome and Port Ecole. We stayed here for 2 nights from April 28th. The day after my 50th birthday. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. We arrived at about 6.30 in the evening, and were shown to our room. We had been upgraded to a junior suite. It was very nice indeed. A superb bathroom, with a separate shower and bath. All modern & very clean. Our room was lovely, it was big, with double doors onto a lovely big terrace. A nice big TV, with plenty of free film channels. The hotel also has a list of DVDs which are free for the guests to borrow. We stayed at the beginning of the season, so it was a little chilly in the evening, and we didn't actually need to borrow any of them, but they were available if we needed them.

The evening we arrived, I had tried to make a booking for the grill restaurant. The restaurant reservations lady, said she wasn't sure if the grill would be open as it was so early in the season. But we could have a table in the restaurant and choose from either menu. We actually ended up choosing a starter from the 2 Michelin star restaurant & fish from the grill. The staff who looked after us were charming and very friendly. We had a lovely meal. When we finished, they brought out a very large trolley with loads of different chocolate. They give you a plate of your choice, we didn't eat much as we didn't have room! Then they came out with a beautiful birthday cake on a decorated plate. It was lovely and very tasty. Again we didn't eat uch but I asked the staff to finish it on my behalf. They were more than happy to do so!

Breakfast was a huge choice, cold meats, breads, fruit, cakes, juice, water, prosecco. It was amazing. You could sit and have breakfast on the terrace overlooking the sea. Perfect! Beautiful grounds, couldn't really say anything bad about it. I don't know what it would be like in the height of the season, but for us it was just lovely.

The only down side, is that if you want to leave the hotel, there are no taxis in the area. So you can either walk, but you wouldn't really want to, especially at night. There is no pavement & there are lots of bends & steep hills. So you have to go in one of there lovely chauffeured cars. It's only a 5 min drive, but they do charge you 30 euros each way. Which when we paid 380 euros to be collected from the airport in Rome & 4oo and something euros to be driven from the hotel into Rome to our 2nd hotel, seems rather expensive! Other than that, it was a really lovely experience. We are members of the Leaders club, and were treated wonderfully!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzanneb255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Il Pellicano was by far our travel revelation in 2013. Service levels were exceeding expectations from booking modifications before arrival to preparing our car upon leaving the property.
We stayed in one of the more basic accommodations, a garden view room overlooking the lush greenery and the tennis courts. No direct sea view but perfectly adequate. Loved the extensive DVD list and for once the selection was actually worth watching!

We had diner in both the Michelin rated `Il Pellicano` and Pelligrill. We enjoyed the most delicious grilled fish and fresh pasta in the Pelligrill and were really fond of the more vibe and food compared to the fine dining `Il Pellicano`. Closing the evening with an infusion tea or a class of wine on the terrace next to the piano bar is an absolute delight.

Also worth noting that there is something about this property that attracts an international clientele open for a chat or a greeting while passing by! We met with people all over the world and all them were unanimously interesting characters. Great ambiance guaranteed!

We`ll be back during the 2014 season ! Looking forward

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SwissBelgiantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Five star food, wine, service and accommodations. Our service one night was less than to be expected at a Michelin star restaurant but the view, food and ambiance more than made up for it. The staff was friendly, hospitable and made sure every aspect of our stay was amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QDL
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Lunch under a shady umbrella,on a gorgeous day, looking over a sparkling sea - wonderful!
I just loved the soft colours of terracotta and planting of this property in a totally secluded setting. We ate in the grill and had a simple but most enjoyable meal of salad and grilled chicken which was full of flavour.
The staff were most attentive and charming especially the young lady from Ischia who was the sommelier.
My only tiny criticism was that various waiting staff were almost too eager to refill our water and wine glasses and it became slightly distracting constantly having a member of staff coming to our table.
I would love to come back and stay at this hotel one day, finances permitting!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnoopyQdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Ercole
5.3 mi away
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
#1 of 1 in Cala Piccola
717 reviews
1.9 mi away
A Point Porto Ercole Resort & Spa
4.9 mi away
Hotel Baia d'Argento
Hotel Baia d'Argento
#2 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel Filippo II
Hotel Filippo II
#1 of 15 in Monte Argentario
290 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#5 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
10 reviews
1.6 mi away
Albergo La Conchiglia
Albergo La Conchiglia
#3 of 7 in Porto Ercole
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Pellicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Pellicano

Property: Hotel Il Pellicano
Address: Localita Sbarcatello, 58019 Porto Ercole, Monte Argentario, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Monte Argentario > Porto Ercole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Porto Ercole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Il Pellicano 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant five-star hotel, located in Tuscany's Maremma region, was built in the mid-1960s as a love nest for Michael and Patricia Graham and it is today part of The Leading Hotels of the World. The home, called Il Pellicano as a tribute to the first time the couple met at Pelican Point in California, was initially a club for the Grahams' friends, but was subsequently expanded and opened to friends of friends. However, a few things remained the same: the pleasure of feeling at home and the glamorous and slightly retro atmosphere. The hotel's discrete luxury and the still-rugged Tuscan countryside attract the international jet set. Today, the cottages and the central building are suspended between the sky and the sea, with large rooms, windows and terraces where it's unclear where the indoors end and the outdoors begin. There are pathways and stairways, fragrant gardens and discrete corners, a restaurant with one Michelin stars and three Gambero Rosso forks, a heated sea-water swimming pool, a spa with a sea view to soothe both the body and the soul, and for those wanting to take a dip in the Tyrrhenian Sea, a white platform with chaise longue and immaculate parasols. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Il Pellicano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Pellicano Hotel Porto Ercole
Il Pellicano Porto Ercole
Hotel Il Pellicano Porto Ercole, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing