We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in glorious setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Scoglio Bianco
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Portoferraio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2012

The Hotel Scoglio Bianco gave me the quiet, get-away-from-it-all, totally relaxing holiday by the sea I had been dreaming of for a very long time but didn't really think I'd find.

I arrived to a very nice welcome from Walter and staff that made me feel like a guest, not just a person filling a room. The family and staff all seemed lovely- very hospitable, kind, helpful and friendly - nothing seemed too much trouble for them.

The hotel location is incredible. It's is elevated right over the sea with stunning panoramic views around the bay. It's lovely to sit out on the terrace watching the sea, birds, boats and sunset. Immediately below the hotel (down some steps) is a tiny,pretty rocky cove with crystal clear water. A short walk along a track and some steep steps take you down to a pretty pebble beach (when I was there, mostly covered with a thick layer of soft dried kelp that did not smell). There is a beautiful (sand and pebble) beach with crystal clear water a five minute walk on from that. Or you can take a country walk of about 40 minutes through lovely scenery to a beautiful sandy beach with restaurant and bar. If you have a car or bike you can visit any beach you like (there is parking at the hotel) and the bus stop is a short walk from the hotel. I didn't have transport and enjoyed exploring the area on foot and by bus.

I traveled solo and had booked a single room. It had (shared) balcony with tables and chairs and views straight out to sea. It would have been fine for me for a night or two but I was staying longer, had lots of bags and decided I would prefer a bigger room and bathroom. So I was moved to a double room with large bathroom and little terrace area overlooking the flowery inner courtyard of the hotel. That was perfect, very comfortable and cleaned every day to a very good standard.

I stayed during a heatwave and being from a Northern country found it pretty hot some nights. I could have left the windows open & the sea breeze in (there were shutters for privacy) but wasn't sure if there were mossies around (I'm allergic) so kept the windows shut. I could have asked for a fan but didn't think about it at the time - doh!

I stayed half board. Breakfast was adequate and dinner was home-cooked and tasty - just right after a day spent walking or swimming. There is a nice bar with seating indoors or out on the terrace overlooking the stunning bay (deciding where to sit is a no-brainer really!). The service (throughout the hotel in fact) was excellent. There is a nice looking restaurant immediately next door to the hotel but I never ate there - I enjoyed eating at the hotel.

The hotel paid for a kayaking trip (I think it came with the half board) at the nearby water sports/ camping centre at Enfola. That was brilliant fun and I wanted to do it again but was leaving. Perhaps next time as I would like to re-visit the Hotel Scoglio Bianco now I've found it. I would like to thank everyone there for a totally enjoyable and relaxing week and many happy memories.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingWillbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank PAOLO F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: richiedere camere superior , hanno frigorifero e vista mare. spaziose e fresche con un bel balconcin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maria Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dario P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: assolutamente prenotate camere vista mare
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank daviemanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le camere superior con terrazza vista mare o quelle senza terrazza ma sempre con vista mare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Francesco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: sono tutte stanze con ingresso privato la mia dava sul mare tramonto stupendo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gianfrancocamuffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portoferraio hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#8 of 25 in Portoferraio
210 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Biodola
Hotel Biodola
#2 of 25 in Portoferraio
366 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ombrosa
Hotel Villa Ombrosa
#17 of 25 in Portoferraio
228 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Il Caminetto
Hotel Il Caminetto
#11 of 25 in Portoferraio
144 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Ottone
Hotel Villa Ottone
#5 of 25 in Portoferraio
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scoglio Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scoglio Bianco

Address: Localita Viticcio, 57037, Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Portoferraio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Portoferraio
Price Range: £164 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Scoglio Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are interested in spending a relaxing and romantic holiday,our bio-hotel is just what you're looking for!Set over a crystal-clear sea, near to Portoferraio (the main town of Elba, sourronded by the mediterranean wood of the National Park.You can eat genuine food, in a family small hotel owner-managed.From our terraces you can admire wonderful and magic sunsets on the sea, with the island of Corsica and Capraia on the horizon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Scoglio Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Scoglio Bianco Elba Island, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing