We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent get away”
Review of B&B Porta del Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Porta del Mare
Ranked #1 of 17 Portoferraio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yellowknife, Canada
1 review
“excellent get away”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed three nights at this cute little B&B, Rossella and Bruno were fantastic. So welcoming and went out of their way to help us out. It's in a great location, I was travelling with young kids and able to walk to 3 different beaches and one rocky cove to explore. It's central in the old town and we could also easily walk to the harbour, around town, restaurants, historic sites etc.... great spot, amazing holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen8882014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    39
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
140
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights in Portoferraio. Our hosts were excellent, friendly, and helpful, and called to arrange a car rental for us as well. Their home is beautiful (three/four flights of stairs though, but for me that's no problem, and actually charming), an old old building right at a historic square in the old city. Totally recommendable! Large bathroom as well, very nicely renovated.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexFransaskois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Very pleasant B&B in Elba. Clean and private with tall ceilings.

The fact that it is up four flights of stairs means it is much quieter than it could be. We also had a room without a view, which was probably a blessing as it's on one of the most touristy squares in Portoferraio with cover bands playing quite late most nights.

Portoferraio itself in the height of summer is full on - perhaps too full on for us - but with the right guidance you can still find hidden, quiet gems.

The location, although a little alarming at first, is great as you can stroll up to one of Napoleon's villas through deserted historic streets and there's also a nice, secluded pebble beach. Evening strolls can be filled with boat and people watching.

We were given essential top tips by the owners for local restaurants, beaches, walks and (very necessary) free parking with useful maps in our room. This insider knowledge made the holiday; although we did find the service in one of the restaurants recommended incredibly snooty.

A good value breakfast was in a little cafe with two sides - one that felt more local, the other looking onto the quay filled with boat people. You'd be hard pushed to find a cheaper breakfast.

All in all I'd say I can't imagine staying in a better place in Portoferraio.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Beautifully decorated and stylish B & B. We stayed in the 'Maestrale' room for five nights and then 'Grecale' for two - both were lovely, clean and had huge beds. Grecale has wonderful sea views and a four poster bed and we were very impressed. Rossella and Bruno were extremely welcoming and helpful, giving us great pointers about where to eat (and some 10% discounts!) and the nicest beaches nearby. We didn't have a car so mainly stuck to the local beaches, which were lovely. There is a small town beach 'Le Viste' which is a 10 minute walk form the B and B and is far less crowded than the main beach and far nicer. There are also buses to other beaches if you want to go further afield. Overall we were extremely pleased with our choice and would definitely come again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pudsey, Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Great location in the old centre of Portoferraio. Room modern, very clean and comfortable with a great view of the harbour. Hosts, Rossella and Bruno could not have been more friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyandLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Porta del mare in Elba a good choise . Elba is gorgeous and the B & B is located in a lovely historical house. However, the charming, spacious rooms offer all of the modern comforts, marvellous views to the port . generous breakfast .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I returned to Elba after 45 years to find it unchanged and as beautiful as I remembered . Rossella and Bruno welcomed us into their home .and were most helpful. Lovely room with amazing view of the sea , ex location .Highly recommend .

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank italy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portoferraio
1.1 mi away
Hotel Airone del Parco & delle Terme
3.3 mi away
Hotel Biodola
Hotel Biodola
#1 of 25 in Portoferraio
339 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Del Golfo
Hotel Del Golfo
#1 of 10 in Procchio
410 reviews
1.7 mi away
Residence Hotel Villa Mare
Residence Hotel Villa Mare
#17 of 25 in Portoferraio
105 reviews
5.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Elba International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Porta del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Porta del Mare

Property: B&B Porta del Mare
Address: Piazza Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 34 | Isola d'Elba, 57037, Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Portoferraio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Portoferraio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your B&B Porta del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Porta Del Mare Elba Island, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing