We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Trip to a gentler time”
Review of Hotel Biodola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Biodola
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Portoferraio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I found Hotel Biodola through CharmingTuscany.com. My wife and I have been here for the last 4 days and have found a comfortable and relaxing rhythm. Every member of the staff here is exceptionally polite and well trained in customer service. Presently the hotel is mostly booked with Italian couples and families and it seems they have been coming for years. The staff is so kind and accommodating to every guest and every request. It is a very nice feeling here with warm smiles all around; very much seeming like a throw back to kinder and gentler times. There is no attempt at cool or chic, just warmth and welcome. Domenico, the bartender is particularly kind, interesting and helpful. He handmade fresh, white peach juice at home and brought it in to make drinks or mix with champagne. Clearly we love the vibe.
That being said, everything works well in our suite, the bed is comfortable, shower and AC are good and the view from the balcony is unforgettable. We have the half-board which includes breakfast and dinner. Breakfast is a casual affair. Dinner is served in the dining room. The food is good and the service at dinner is top-notch. Tonight we are going the nearby sister hotel, Hermitage, for dinner at a little seaside restaurant. They are crediting our dinner here against our charges there.
At the beach, each guest has a chair and umbrella ready for them and there is none of that crazy jockeying we see at American hotels where guests go claim chairs (which they don't use for hours) just to get a spot.
Come to Biodola for some real service in a perfect setting. Don't come if you are looking for tons of action and partying.

Stayed: June 2013
1  Thank Chillmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

My wife and I have just returned from 5 days at this beautiful hotel. I could go on and on about it, but I'll keep it brief for you, the potential guest . The location is stunning. If seclusion is your thing, as it is mine, this ticks every box. True, it's not easy to get to via public transport - but this adds to the attraction. Keeps it 'exclusive' for those of us lucky enough to stay. Please take advantage of the FREE hotel shuttle into the capital, Portoferraio. It's always worth saving 25 euros on a taxi. The room we had was immaculate & big enough for our basic needs. We didn't come to spend un-necessary hours in a room.
Beautifully landscaped and maintained, the idyllic outdoor pool and Jacuzzi was used daily. As was the private beach, just a minute's walk away.
We opted for half board. The food was beyond my expectation, as were the cheerful and attentive dining staff. As a seafood lover, I was in aquatic heaven. The view from the restaurant as the sun set will stay with me. Being one of only a few English people staying, the staff went out of their way to print us an English menu each day.
The reception staff were unflappable, smart and professional. A good first impression of the hotel. A big shout out to Massimo, who arranged a single red rose at short notice for my wife on the occasion of our 26th wedding anniversary.
Whilst this is a review of the hotel, and not the island in general, you simply MUST do the yellow, metal baskets/ cable car up Monte Cappane. The bus journey there was an adventure in itself and the gorgeous tiny mountain village of Marciana is worthy of your time.
To summarise.....so glad to have found this hotel. So sad to have left.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DarrenLawbuary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Francesco V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I've stayed at this hotel for a week. Isola d'Elba is beautiful, and this stay has only enhanced my experience. Very nice hotel, with great location. We stayed in a sea view room, the view was gorgeous, the room was comfortable and simply furnished.
I must also mention the hotel's restaurant, really good. It is usually not easy to find hotels with good food, but in this hotel is great!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul3v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The hotel is ideally located and great value for money. The staff is very helpful, the two restaurants have a terrific chef with breakfast/lunch and dinner a la carte with buffet choice. The rooms are clean and pretty. The hotel has its own beach with sunbeds, umbrellas, a restaurant, and a bar. Included are some water sports; canoe and peddle-boat.

Room Tip: Ask for the deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The hotel is simply fantastic, you get really a great deal for your money. The staff is very helpful, the breakfast is delicious and they have a big choice. The rooms are clean and pretty, we were absolutely satisfied with the standard double room. The hotel has its own beach with sunbeds, umbrellas, a restaurant, a bar, and very clean bathroom facilities. Biodola beach is one of the nicest beaches on the island. The hotel's bar has often live music, and the view from the terrace is amazing.
We had dinner only once in the hotel, it was abundant and good, but if you have a car, it is recommended to visit some nice restaurants in the neighbouring little cities.
A real advantage of the hotel, is that it belongs to the same group as its 5-star neighbour, the Hermitage, and as a guest of Biodola, you can use all sport facilities (gym, tennis, football).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tuncee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Very nice hotel, clean, good service. Own beach and nice breakfast buffet. Probably in the nicest bay on Elba Island

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swiss_Traveller_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portoferraio
1.7 mi away
Hotel Del Golfo
Hotel Del Golfo
#1 of 10 in Procchio
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio
1.9 mi away
Hotel Desiree
Hotel Desiree
#6 of 10 in Procchio
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Airone del Parco & delle Terme
7.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Elba International
4.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Ottone
Hotel Villa Ottone
#5 of 25 in Portoferraio
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Biodola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Biodola

Address: La Biodola, 57037, Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Portoferraio
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Portoferraio
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portoferraio
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portoferraio
#2 Family Hotel in Portoferraio
Price Range: £115 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Biodola 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the magnificent Biodola bay, the hotel has a large private sand beach, 8 clay tennis courts, 9-hole golf course.The hotel's restaurant is famous for its exquisite cuisine and service. Maitu' beach restaurant offers a range of Tuscan specialties. Rooms and suites all with terrace, have all the comforts one would expect of a top-class hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Biodola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biodola Hotel Portoferraio
Hotel Biodola Elba Island, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing