We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel with great beach”
Review of Hotel Biodola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Biodola
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Portoferraio
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Super hotel with great beach”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We've been at hotel Biodola end of june 2013 after a trip through tuscany. We were lucky and had great weather almost all two weeks. Therefore we really could enjoy the excellent beach. It is extraordinary clean and the water is dark blue as it should be. Almost all days exclusive yachts came to enjoy the beach as well which also proofs the unique quality. The hotel also offers a great terrace with breathtaking views on the sunset.
The rooms were very clean and nice. However, they are certainly not "modern". The inerior looks a bit used and may have already seen the one or the other year too much. However, everything works fine and is clean as said. The whole room has a tiled floor, which we prefer since it is a bit more hygienic, however, of course also a little "cold". One disadvantage is that the glass doors to the balcony are all but well isolated. You hear almost everything from outside. When there is live music at the terrance it is like the band would play inside your room. On the other hand you also hear the sea very clearly in your room which we found extremely nice - thus, it can be an advantage as well.
Another advantage of the hotel is the dinner. Every evening they offer a four course menu where you also can choose between different meals. The quality of the food is excellent and so is the service. Once a week they had a tuscany evening in the beach bar Maitu - don't miss this, it is even one class better than the normal dinner with a huge variety of different meals from tuscany and especially great prosciutto and slami choices and fruits.
The breakfast is ok. They have a buffet with an average number of choices. Very good "cappucio" and espresso (but this is normal for tuscany ;-) but nothing special at all.
We went out the one or the other night, but not in Biodola since there is absolutely nothing to go to around the hotel - thus, you need a car to get to Portoferraio, Procchio or Mariciana Marina (this one we liked most by far!). So directly in Biodola there is almost nothing you can do outside the hotels.
All in all it is very good four star hotel in a great location. We were struggling a bit on how to review it but decided at the end to give it three points. It is a price value decision since the hotel is very expensive and having this in mind it is ok overall. However, this shouldn't change the positive views you can read above, we really had a wonderful time in Biodola!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    76
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
115
149
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

I found Hotel Biodola through CharmingTuscany.com. My wife and I have been here for the last 4 days and have found a comfortable and relaxing rhythm. Every member of the staff here is exceptionally polite and well trained in customer service. Presently the hotel is mostly booked with Italian couples and families and it seems they have been coming for years. The staff is so kind and accommodating to every guest and every request. It is a very nice feeling here with warm smiles all around; very much seeming like a throw back to kinder and gentler times. There is no attempt at cool or chic, just warmth and welcome. Domenico, the bartender is particularly kind, interesting and helpful. He handmade fresh, white peach juice at home and brought it in to make drinks or mix with champagne. Clearly we love the vibe.
That being said, everything works well in our suite, the bed is comfortable, shower and AC are good and the view from the balcony is unforgettable. We have the half-board which includes breakfast and dinner. Breakfast is a casual affair. Dinner is served in the dining room. The food is good and the service at dinner is top-notch. Tonight we are going the nearby sister hotel, Hermitage, for dinner at a little seaside restaurant. They are crediting our dinner here against our charges there.
At the beach, each guest has a chair and umbrella ready for them and there is none of that crazy jockeying we see at American hotels where guests go claim chairs (which they don't use for hours) just to get a spot.
Come to Biodola for some real service in a perfect setting. Don't come if you are looking for tons of action and partying.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chillmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My wife and I have just returned from 5 days at this beautiful hotel. I could go on and on about it, but I'll keep it brief for you, the potential guest . The location is stunning. If seclusion is your thing, as it is mine, this ticks every box. True, it's not easy to get to via public transport - but this adds to the attraction. Keeps it 'exclusive' for those of us lucky enough to stay. Please take advantage of the FREE hotel shuttle into the capital, Portoferraio. It's always worth saving 25 euros on a taxi. The room we had was immaculate & big enough for our basic needs. We didn't come to spend un-necessary hours in a room.
Beautifully landscaped and maintained, the idyllic outdoor pool and Jacuzzi was used daily. As was the private beach, just a minute's walk away.
We opted for half board. The food was beyond my expectation, as were the cheerful and attentive dining staff. As a seafood lover, I was in aquatic heaven. The view from the restaurant as the sun set will stay with me. Being one of only a few English people staying, the staff went out of their way to print us an English menu each day.
The reception staff were unflappable, smart and professional. A good first impression of the hotel. A big shout out to Massimo, who arranged a single red rose at short notice for my wife on the occasion of our 26th wedding anniversary.
Whilst this is a review of the hotel, and not the island in general, you simply MUST do the yellow, metal baskets/ cable car up Monte Cappane. The bus journey there was an adventure in itself and the gorgeous tiny mountain village of Marciana is worthy of your time.
To summarise.....so glad to have found this hotel. So sad to have left.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DarrenLawbuary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I've stayed at this hotel for a week. Isola d'Elba is beautiful, and this stay has only enhanced my experience. Very nice hotel, with great location. We stayed in a sea view room, the view was gorgeous, the room was comfortable and simply furnished.
I must also mention the hotel's restaurant, really good. It is usually not easy to find hotels with good food, but in this hotel is great!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul3v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The hotel is ideally located and great value for money. The staff is very helpful, the two restaurants have a terrific chef with breakfast/lunch and dinner a la carte with buffet choice. The rooms are clean and pretty. The hotel has its own beach with sunbeds, umbrellas, a restaurant, and a bar. Included are some water sports; canoe and peddle-boat.

Room Tip: Ask for the deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The hotel is simply fantastic, you get really a great deal for your money. The staff is very helpful, the breakfast is delicious and they have a big choice. The rooms are clean and pretty, we were absolutely satisfied with the standard double room. The hotel has its own beach with sunbeds, umbrellas, a restaurant, a bar, and very clean bathroom facilities. Biodola beach is one of the nicest beaches on the island. The hotel's bar has often live music, and the view from the terrace is amazing.
We had dinner only once in the hotel, it was abundant and good, but if you have a car, it is recommended to visit some nice restaurants in the neighbouring little cities.
A real advantage of the hotel, is that it belongs to the same group as its 5-star neighbour, the Hermitage, and as a guest of Biodola, you can use all sport facilities (gym, tennis, football).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tuncee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portoferraio
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio
1.7 mi away
Hotel Del Golfo
Hotel Del Golfo
#1 of 10 in Procchio
425 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Airone del Parco & delle Terme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Resort le Picchiaie
Resort le Picchiaie
#19 of 25 in Portoferraio
35 reviews
7.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Elba International
4.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Ottone
Hotel Villa Ottone
#5 of 25 in Portoferraio
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Biodola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Biodola

Property: Hotel Biodola
Address: La Biodola, 57037, Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Portoferraio
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portoferraio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Portoferraio
#2 Family Hotel in Portoferraio
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portoferraio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Biodola 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the magnificent Biodola bay, the hotel has a large private sand beach, 8 clay tennis courts, 9-hole golf course.The hotel's restaurant is famous for its exquisite cuisine and service. Maitu' beach restaurant offers a range of Tuscan specialties. Rooms and suites all with terrace, have all the comforts one would expect of a top-class hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Biodola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biodola Hotel Portoferraio
Hotel Biodola Elba Island, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing