We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Paradiso - the pick of the bunch in Viticcio”
Review of Hotel Paradiso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Paradiso
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Portoferraio
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Paradiso - the pick of the bunch in Viticcio”
Reviewed 4 August 2008

Elba: Hotel Paradiso, Viticcio, Elba: "Simply wonderful!"
Date: 4 August 2008
Reviewer: A TripAdvisor Member, London UK

We have just returned from a week at the hotel Paradiso in Elba. The hotel is a small family run concern which ticks along beautifully with efficient, helpful and courteous staff. From the moment we arrived we received a warm welcome and were escorted to our room by a smiling receptionist.

We loved our room, it was clean and comfortable with air conditioning if required (we found that the ceiling fan was more than adequate). The mosquito count was low but we may just have been lucky. There was an ensuite shower but no bath. Water is at a premium on Elba. The views over the bay of Viticcio were stunning. The bay faces West so you get a wonderful sunset as well as views of Corsica in the distance.

There are lots of amenities including a large freshwater pool which is cleaned everyday. There is also a table tennis table and a shaded area for smaller children to play. For the more active there is tennis and swimming in the sea.

On the food front, we were half board and would recommend this arrangement. There are limited places to eat and really at the end of a hard day sunbathing it is so nice to enjoy the delicious food in the restaurant. Typically it would be three courses including pasta starter, meat or fish for main course and a desert. "Aldo" the maitre d' is hilarious and you will immediately find yourself laughing away as he helps you match your wine to your meal. Breakfast is continental but there is plenty of it. The bar does delicious lunch time meals.

The location is really nice, only 4km from Portoferraio which cost about 15 euros in the taxi. We hired a car for a day to look around the Western half of the island and liked the look and feel of Procchio and Marciana.

The beach is small but very pleasant and yes there are a few steps to get down to visit it. However well worth the effort.

Overall my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Hotel Paradiso. We found the atmosphere friendly, warm and welcoming. Would we recommend it? Definitely. We really liked this hotel and we've been lucky enough to travel to some great places. Go and enjoy. Salute.

This review is the opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable with lots of different parts to the hotel complex
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank peoplelikeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    67
    28
    7
    8
See reviews for
56
103
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2008

Stayed for three nights. After reading the website and phoning directly, we were to have a beach front room and fantastic snorkeling. Stay away! They fail to tell you that there are 185 vertical steps to the very rocky and dirty beach, and the rooms are across the street. The food is horrible the staff extremely rude and air conditioning which costs 8 Euro more per night does not work, A Double consists of two twin beds pushed together, which split apart. The Desiree or La Perla Del Golfo are much nicer. Don't waste your money!!!

  • Liked — NOTHING
  • Disliked — Bad location, bad food, hard twin beds, rude staff, tiny room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank sallyColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2008

We had a pleasant stay at the Hotel Paradiso while visiting Elba in june/2007. Even though the bedroom was very small and the bathroom tiny, they were both properly clean. We had luck with the weather, so the size of the room was not a problem. Otherwise, it would have been difficult. They have a very nice terrace and a great swimming pool area with breathtaking views. At the time, we thought they could improve the food and the drinks at the bar. Staff were friendly and attentive. The beach is beautiful, but has difficult access. There were no restaurants and shops close by, a part from the next Hotel’s restaurant and a Pizza place (very nice, actually), about ten minutes walk. If you stay in this Hotel, you should ideally have a car, as there is not too much too do around, unless all you want, is to relax and enjoy the view.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — room size
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2006

We loved the hotel, the staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. The food was plentiful and excellent value for money. The views were simply paradise and we would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone going to Elba.

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — nothing to complain about
  • Tips/Secrets — Imperative to hire a car or a scooter
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2005

We were very much looking forward to our trip to Elba to stay at the Hotel Paradiso during September 2005. As the hotel was not close to the local town of Porto Ferrairo we called ahead to check that the hotel's menu was sufficiently varied (as there are no other restaurants nearby) and were told that the evening meal consisted of three courses, including four choices (including a fish dish) for the main. Sadly we were disappointed, veal was one of the main course choices every night we were there and on one evening veal (cooked in two different ways) was on the menu twice! The anticipated delicious Italian desserts did not materialize either as the choices were generally cheap ice-cream (the plain sort you scoop out of a tub) or fruit. There's nothing wrong with fruit, I eat it all the time at home - but on holiday you want to treat yourself! The lunch time choices were very restricted and after spending time in Rome and Florence enjoying the Italian cuisine a few days before arriving in Elba, we were very disappointed with the few choices on offer (plain spaghetti with olive oil, sliced up fresh tomatoes and a few basil leaves was one of the choices, unarguably fresh but fairly unimaginative).

Whilst our room was clean and reasonably furnished it was absolutely tiny, with only a space of about 2-3 feet all the way around the bed (with a chest of drawers and wardrobe crammed into that space on one side) and the bathroom was tiny. If the weather hadn't been so terrible (it was stormy, cloudy and rainy while we were there) we probably wouldn't have been so bothered about the size of the room as we wouldn't have been in it so much. The swimming pool had a strange cloudiness in it so we didn't get in. The small beach (accessed via some steep steps) was quite nice but strolls along it would take you about 2 minutes as it is surrounded by rocks.

That said, the hotel does have several terraces from which you can view the sunset over the sea, and the views were undeniably breathtaking. If you want a fairly simple hotel with very little to do other than sunbathe during the day, and relax with a drink in the evening then this place is for you. If, after your dinner, you prefer to have a wander around shops, or around a port for example then you'd be better off staying in Porto Ferreiro.

Helpful?
18 Thank AccidentQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patriciaElba, co-proprietaria at Hotel Paradiso, responded to this review, 6 September 2007
Google Translation
I heard about this photo of a bidet full of brown water simply by an Italian guest who couldn't thank me enough for a lovely holiday from 28th august to 3rd September 07 at our Hotel Paradiso. The lady said she was so impressed by the cleanliness of the Hotel,kitchen,grounds,pool etc. that she felt she must mention said photo as it was 'completely misleading!' If you look carefully at the bathroom, though not big,the sanitary parts are all new,same as the tiles and floor. That particular day, after the bad weather conditions we had to temporarily turn off the water to enable us to do some minor repairs. Hence the brown water - however perfectly drinkable as the water supply on the Island is iron rich. It certainly was not the colour of our normal water supply!
Food is always a big question mark when abroad, I thank this guest for his comment 'unarguably fresh' as this is what we consider important in these days of 'fast food' just sorry it wasn't appreciated.
I remember quite well these clients,they were very unlucky with the weather...the cloudiness in the pool had probably been noticed after a torrential storm - no other clients complained.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portoferraio
1.2 mi away
Hotel Biodola
Hotel Biodola
#2 of 25 in Portoferraio
334 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Airone del Parco & delle Terme
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Viticcio Hotel
Viticcio Hotel
#7 of 25 in Portoferraio
145 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Capo Sud
Hotel Capo Sud
#1 of 5 in Lacona
610 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Del Golfo
Hotel Del Golfo
#1 of 10 in Procchio
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradiso

Property: Hotel Paradiso
Address: Localita Viticcio 41, 57037, Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Portoferraio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portoferraio
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Portoferraio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Paradiso 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradiso Hotel Portoferraio
Hotel Paradiso Elba Island, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing