We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, basic relaxing place”
Review of Hotel Paradiso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Paradiso
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Portoferraio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2009

Stayed at Hotel paradiso for four nights in late june of this summer. Was on the early leg of our honeymoon so we were looking for somewhere to chill out by the sea with nice food. It nearly ticked all the boxes.
Hotel is in a lovely spot, overlooking the sea, tucked into the trees. Rooms are basic but clean. Staff are fine. Theres a lovely bar there for drinks any time of day, with an outside area looking out onto the sea - beautiful views - just dont expect it to be rocking. Most nights we were there,everyone was gone to bed by 11, which was perfect for us, but mightnt suit everyone.
Beach is down a lot of steps but isnt a problem unless youre lazy to be honest. And its a decent quiet beach with beautiful clean water. There are other beaches not too far away - though you would probably need a car - in Scaglieri (theres a nicer beach just around the corner from scaglieri but i cant remember the name of it right now).
The main gripe with the hotel is the food. We are there the first night just for ease and it really was spectacularly awful. Tasteless, bland, terrible choices for a hotel right by the sea. We ate at a lovely restaurant just 2mins walk down the hill - its the only other place for miles - every other night and that was far far better. Dont eat at the hotel.
Overall, nice, basic, pleasant stay. Dont go here for the food or mad nightlife and Im not sure id stay here for more than four days. But for a quiet getaway its grand, relaxing, with lovely beaches and water and the nearby restaurant is really lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank irishcouple20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Paradiso
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2008

We spent a wonderful week late july in this hotel, with our young child, and we really enjoyed the place, the room was nice, not too small, the bathroom was small but spotless, and the private terrace very enjoyable. We found the food was realy really good (except from the breakfast juices!) and that was a very important point. The pool was beautiful, with an exceptionnal view, and it was very calm. The only point we disliked was that the beach is near only if you're a bird, otherwise, there are 180 steps, and once you're there, i found it dirty and tiny, there are lots of better places in the island in terms of beaches. But maby not in terms of hotels/rate. After the very first deception (beach) we really likes it, and my child keeps talking about the hotel, and wants to go back
After the first week of August, the whole island is packed, so ... it's the same everywhere...
We'll be back!
(Just one thing, when we pay, it'd be nice to hear "thank you"or something.. at the desk, they didn't help a lot) the rest of the staff was very nice

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SeppiaSeppia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

We stayed at Paradiso for two nights before spending a week in Tuscany. It was an amazing location, completely away from it all with fabulous views and sunsets! My two teenage boys were happy with the tennis and pool, and we travelled to the next bay and spent a whole day on a speedboat! It was fabulous, only 100 euros for the day and the best way to see the whole island.
The food was ok, very tasty, although we felt it was a little basic, but everything was fresh and cooked well! We stayed on the half board option and the restuarant was always busy but we did not have to wait long, the service was top class! The staff were very helpfull, our family room was HUGE and clean! The beach was an adventure to get to so we stayed around the pool for the most part.
Yes, we would return, and yes, you should put Elba on your list of places to see!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shazarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

Elba: Hotel Paradiso, Viticcio, Elba: "Simply wonderful!"
Date: 4 August 2008
Reviewer: A TripAdvisor Member, London UK

We have just returned from a week at the hotel Paradiso in Elba. The hotel is a small family run concern which ticks along beautifully with efficient, helpful and courteous staff. From the moment we arrived we received a warm welcome and were escorted to our room by a smiling receptionist.

We loved our room, it was clean and comfortable with air conditioning if required (we found that the ceiling fan was more than adequate). The mosquito count was low but we may just have been lucky. There was an ensuite shower but no bath. Water is at a premium on Elba. The views over the bay of Viticcio were stunning. The bay faces West so you get a wonderful sunset as well as views of Corsica in the distance.

There are lots of amenities including a large freshwater pool which is cleaned everyday. There is also a table tennis table and a shaded area for smaller children to play. For the more active there is tennis and swimming in the sea.

On the food front, we were half board and would recommend this arrangement. There are limited places to eat and really at the end of a hard day sunbathing it is so nice to enjoy the delicious food in the restaurant. Typically it would be three courses including pasta starter, meat or fish for main course and a desert. "Aldo" the maitre d' is hilarious and you will immediately find yourself laughing away as he helps you match your wine to your meal. Breakfast is continental but there is plenty of it. The bar does delicious lunch time meals.

The location is really nice, only 4km from Portoferraio which cost about 15 euros in the taxi. We hired a car for a day to look around the Western half of the island and liked the look and feel of Procchio and Marciana.

The beach is small but very pleasant and yes there are a few steps to get down to visit it. However well worth the effort.

Overall my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Hotel Paradiso. We found the atmosphere friendly, warm and welcoming. Would we recommend it? Definitely. We really liked this hotel and we've been lucky enough to travel to some great places. Go and enjoy. Salute.

This review is the opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank peoplelikeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2008

Stayed for three nights. After reading the website and phoning directly, we were to have a beach front room and fantastic snorkeling. Stay away! They fail to tell you that there are 185 vertical steps to the very rocky and dirty beach, and the rooms are across the street. The food is horrible the staff extremely rude and air conditioning which costs 8 Euro more per night does not work, A Double consists of two twin beds pushed together, which split apart. The Desiree or La Perla Del Golfo are much nicer. Don't waste your money!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank sallyColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2008

We had a pleasant stay at the Hotel Paradiso while visiting Elba in june/2007. Even though the bedroom was very small and the bathroom tiny, they were both properly clean. We had luck with the weather, so the size of the room was not a problem. Otherwise, it would have been difficult. They have a very nice terrace and a great swimming pool area with breathtaking views. At the time, we thought they could improve the food and the drinks at the bar. Staff were friendly and attentive. The beach is beautiful, but has difficult access. There were no restaurants and shops close by, a part from the next Hotel’s restaurant and a Pizza place (very nice, actually), about ten minutes walk. If you stay in this Hotel, you should ideally have a car, as there is not too much too do around, unless all you want, is to relax and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miriane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2006

We loved the hotel, the staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. The food was plentiful and excellent value for money. The views were simply paradise and we would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone going to Elba.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kathryn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portoferraio hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio
1.3 mi away
Hotel Biodola
Hotel Biodola
#2 of 25 in Portoferraio
359 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Airone del Parco & delle Terme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Resort le Picchiaie
Resort le Picchiaie
#19 of 25 in Portoferraio
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Viticcio Hotel
Viticcio Hotel
#8 of 25 in Portoferraio
157 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ottone
Hotel Villa Ottone
#5 of 25 in Portoferraio
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradiso

Address: Localita Viticcio 41, 57037, Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Portoferraio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portoferraio
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Portoferraio
Price Range: £72 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Paradiso 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradiso Hotel Portoferraio
Hotel Paradiso Elba Island, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing