We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”
Review of Hotel Villa Ottone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ottone
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Portoferraio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel is grand but relaxed, formal yet relaxed,staff professional yet relaxed! Five star in every way, I adored it. I was traveling with 2 elderly ladies, and the respect and gentle kindness shown to them by all the staff was noticeable and just lovely. Food superb service superb, in fact I can't think of a more perfect place to have a break. I will be back

Room Tip: Rooms in the old villa have a direct and magnificent view over the sea, rooms on 1st floor at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jlbireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

I came again with my wife to Villa Ottone this month and were very happy with it. The location is great, 15 mn by car from Portoferraio, thus in a quiet countryside. The room although small (Nr 14), in the old villa, was nice with a beautiful view on Portoferraio, especially at sunset. The service very professional, the food good (we could order excellent fresh grilled fish since we did not want once choose the normal evening menu), the bar is very pleasant in the evening and the beach ok (there are better wild spots on the islands). The thing to do is to rent a boat for one day and go exploring the neighboring beaches, the boat comes to the hotel and this costs around eur 200 per day: a great experience! All in all, although the price is rather high, this hotel can definitely be recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DemandingAndy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Villa Ottone har everything you expect from a five star hotel. It is located in a beautiful park, the facilities are excellent, the service is impeccable, and the food is good (new menu every day!). The breakfast is extraordinary with and endless selection of ham, cheese, cereals, fruit, etc. For dinner the selection of antipasti is the best I have ever witnessed, the same goes for the desserts. The waiters are very service minded, always nice and friendly and utterly correct and professional. If I should mention one draw back: it is located 5-10 kilometers from Portoferraio, or any other town. But, above all, staying at Villa Ottone is an esthetic experience. Everything is so beautiful! Finally, give yourself the ultimate treat: a prosecco on the terrace in the evening, with a view to the bay of Portoferrario.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in the hotel og the old building, with view of the sea or the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPUlvaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Best Five Star Hotel in Island!! Excellent!!! It was amazing. Great size, beachfront views, yummy bathroom and goodies . A very relaxing resort with two pools and a very good spa. There are better beaches on the coast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hashan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We found the hotel entrance, but did not see the sign for Reception and drove towards the Beach Cafe. We were sternly redirected by the Maître d'hôtel to the correct drive. After that incident, everything went as it should, until check-out. The front desk personnel were as helpful and attentive as one could wish. A Hotel Porter directed us and our car to the shaded parking lot. He then transported us and our luggage, by golf cart, to the door of our room, unloaded our luggage and gave us a guided tour of our room and all the amenities and appliances there (including the illuminated shower-head/light-show).
Over the course of our stay, we had several small problems with our room, but each was immediately and completely corrected - this included a new mattress, after my wife commented ours was not as comfortable as it could be.
We ate one dinner meal in the restaurant. At 30-35 Euro per person, plus wine, the Menu offered a wide variety of appetizers and main dishes and it changed from day to day. It was a reasonable price. The Maître d'hôtel lightened up enough to almost seem friendly and the staff performed splendidly. The food was good, but far from excellent. The breakfasts were far better in variety and quality.
The housekeeping service was splendid. They had our room done while we breakfasted and turned our beds down while we were at dinner. They seemed to anticipate our every wish. I have rarely come across such excellence anywhere - and I have spent over 1,000 nights in hotels during my life.
The hotel sits directly on the sea. It has a nice pool, tennis area, places for the children to play and lots of trees, flowers and patios for the nature lovers. For the indoor folks there are spas, exercise rooms, watering spots and cafes.
On check-out, we had one last problem. The agency that booked our room had booked it for half pension – something we almost never take. I had overlooked this, which was my fault. Since, we had booked the hotel months before, we never thought about it. That failure cost us the price of four meals. I had hoped to get some rebate, or at least a consideration for a future visit. Nothing! They shrugged and told me that my issue was with the booking agency. Since the hotel already has the money that is highly unlikely!

Room Tip: We took one of the 'cabins' and did not suffer any of the envy that others felt of the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Gorgeous location. Right by the beach with an incredible view. The rooms were okay. The furniture could be updated and the bathroom had some cracked tiles on the floor. We had a nice sitting porch and unfortunately we had no window so we had to keep the porch door open at night while we slept to get air in the room and since we were on the first floor, I was not sure how safe this was. They do not have screens so we had mosquitos and flies coming in the room. The front desk gave us something to plug into the wall to get ride of the mosquito's.
The buffet breakfasts were great and the dinners were incredible. The food in the evening was 5 star as was the service.
They have a nice pool just about the beach area and a bar and lunch restaurant near the pool. We ordered salad for lunch and it took a very long time to arrive.
This could be a 5 star hotel if they update the rooms.
Also, several times we went by the front desk and there was no one there.
The worst part of this hotel for me was that I kept hearing a humming noise coming from another room the full 2 days we were there. I complained about it but it seems they could not fix the problem.
They also have a spa, tennis court and gym which we did not use.

Room Tip: I would go with a second floor since they do not have windows, only doors to open for fresh air. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiegoFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We agree with the other reviews, both good and bad. The location is quiet and beautiful and the beach is nice. Some staff were helpful and sincere while others were not and overall we found that the service was inconsistent. The food is good and the breakfast buffet has a good variety. While the natural setting is beautiful and the rooms are very clean, with good quality linens, we felt that the grounds and room overall were shabby and needed a good, focused maintenance crew to go over everything carefully and make necessary repairs to bring the property into shape consistent with the price paid. I'm not sure what the 5 star rating criteria are, but Villa Ottone did not seem 5 star to us, especially when compared to 3 star hotels that we have stayed in that are in better shape and with better service. Our mattress was very hard and lumpy. We would only recommend Villa Ottone if it were spruced up and if they got decent mattresses.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WrennRWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portoferraio
4.8 mi away
Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio
4.6 mi away
Hotel Biodola
Hotel Biodola
#2 of 25 in Portoferraio
364 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Airone del Parco & delle Terme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Resort le Picchiaie
Resort le Picchiaie
#19 of 25 in Portoferraio
56 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Elba International
6.1 mi away
Hotel Del Golfo
Hotel Del Golfo
#1 of 10 in Procchio
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ottone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ottone

Address: Localita Ottone, 57037, Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Portoferraio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Portoferraio
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Portoferraio
Price Range: £87 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Ottone 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance is the keynote of a hotel which underwent large-scale renovation during winter 2007. New SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa Ottone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottone Hotel Portoferraio
Hotel Villa Ottone Elba Island, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing