We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute, cozy and friendly”
Review of Hotel Genio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Genio
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cute, cozy and friendly”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Nice hotel and location in the center of the town, in front of the sea, really one step away from the Carrugio and from the port. Everything is really within walking distance.
The hotel is built in the old town walls, it's pretty simple and basic, not very modern, but clean, cozy and nice, and the staff is very friendly and supportive. Some rooms are at top to of a stairway, but it's not a big deal: the higher you go the better is the view. Free parking and wi-fi connection.
Just one small downside: the breakfast is pretty basic and simple, no international breakfast, but you can have it on the terrace with a fantastic view on the Golfo dei Poeti.
Definitively a great value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lowres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    44
    16
    9
    11
See reviews for
17
82
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The hotel may be fine, but I was charged a full night's rental after notifying them 3 days ahead by phone that events were preventing us from coming. Nothing on the Website about cancellation penalty, or in either the phone conversations before and after, or e-mail traffic. It was October, not a busy time of year. I try not to stay where the penalty is too confining ( 72 or 48 hour notification is fine with me), because traveling overseas can get messy. Had I known, I would have planned to stay elsewhere, where the policy is posted and acceptable. I may or may not get back to Porto Venere, but if so won't be staying at the Genio.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MrTip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed at Hotel Genio, Portovenere for two nights at the beginning of May 2013.
On first meeting the owner, Igor, he was very pleasant and offered a double room for one night for 90 euros and this included breakfast and free parking. The hotel was in a fantastic spot so we decided to have 2 nights at the hotel as the ferry to visit Cinque Terre stopped at the harbour in Portovenere which was literally a 2 minute walk from the hotel. We checked in with Igor, who carried our cases up 2 flights of stairs to reception. We checked the price again with him, 90 euros per night and he even wrote the price down on a hotel business card. My husband asked if he could pay with a credit card and he said that was no problem. He said we have very good breakfast, and I asked if it was hot and he said that it was. Our room was up a further 2 flights of stairs which wasn't a problem and the view from the communal balcony was beautiful. There was lots of space on the many communal balconies to sit and relax. Our room was small but adequate. Very comfortable bed. We had a very small bathroom, but this didn't worry us as we were only staying 2 nights. Breakfast the next morning was not great. Fresh orange juice made by Igor but was a bit 'thin' Coffee, was lovely. Bread rolls that were so hard we found extremely hard to cut and chew. Although breakfast was disappointing, I still would at this point recommend the hotel for its location and the beautiful view. However, on checking out after 2 nights stay, Igor gave us the bill for 200 euros. I challenged this, and quoted his price for 90 euros per night. He then said that there is a charge for using a card of 10 euros per night. We reminded him that we had asked him about the use of a card when we first made enquiries at the hotel, when he then had the opportunity to tell us, but did not. We were charged an extra 20 euros that we should not have to pay and therefore I would not recommend this hotel but only for the reason that Igor was dishonest.

Room Tip: Great room, with lovely views but lots of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank connextions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Our family stayed there for one night, and I would have gladly stayed longer. Porto Venere is a great town and highly recommended. Hotel Genio is ideally situated to take a quick stroll through town and we really enjoyed the interesting location of this hotel built into the old town wall.

We were very happy with Hotel Genio and found Igor and his parents very helpful and friendly - even after we had a misunderstanding via e-mail regarding my youngest child's age and he thought she needed a camping cot. Lucky it was low season and we were offered an alternative room on the spot.

Parking was close by and Igor parked the car for us since the parking is difficult. He also advised us to drive onto the square to unload. We had to drive past the hotel and park and I went to check in while my husband drove the one way around town again to enter the square after Igor advised me to do that. It took a good few minutes as it is about a 4km loop but then you park right in front of the hotel door. Maybe for visitors booking parking space Igor could give this info per e-mail so to avoid the extra loop...

We only did the stairs bit... We slept in what I thought must be the highest level in the hotel and the steps is really a non event for any reasonably fit person. Igor carried our biggest suitcase up and down the next morning.

Rooms were small but we all had a good night sleep and breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MywaySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundas, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel surrounded by ruins in a prime location with gorgeous views from our room. Portovenere has absolutely wonderful ruins/history throughout this small town and breathtaking views. We enjoyed the extra walking up the steps to our room which overlooked part of the city and the water. The room was small, but clean and the location was perfect. Igor, the owner was pleasant, funny and always available for assistance. Be sure to ask about parking so he can give you directions on where to park. Restaurants specializing in fresh fish along the strip were fabulous. Great location to pick up the ferrie to visit the 'Cinque Terre'. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view. I would recommend going in spring or fall and bring a good p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vera055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Great location, stayed there 4 nights. Beds are not great in room number 2. Parking not easy there. Hotel offered free parking for us, but its not normal practice. Great value for the money at this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristian123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I just finished a wonderful few nights stay here last week with a friend and had a Lovely stay.

We were in Portovenere for friends' wedding in the grounds of the Doria castle so as it turned out, this was the perfect location as we were placed right at the foot of the castle. There is definitely a rustic charm to Hotel Genio with very much a 'family-run' feel, which I really enjoyed. The views from our balcony and the multiple terraces are also fantastic overlooking the town square and port. Breakfast is very basic but sufficient and quality local bread and a great coffee.

Igor runs the hotel with his crazy smile and warm hospitality - its a very relaxed place and probably better suited for a trip with friends or family and not the romantic trip with your significant other... this is a great spot to base yourself to explore the rest of the Cinque Terre too as the town is easily accessed from La Spezia railway station and close to ferries and water taxi's along the CT.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Venere hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Portovenere
Grand Hotel Portovenere
#1 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel della Baia
Hotel della Baia
#3 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#2 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Sporting Hotel
Royal Sporting Hotel
#7 of 7 in Porto Venere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Le Grazie
Hotel Le Grazie
#5 of 7 in Porto Venere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Genio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genio

Property: Hotel Genio
Address: Piazza Bastreri 8, 19025, Porto Venere, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Porto Venere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Genio 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
this Hotel is in the old village of Portovenere,have free garage for your car,simple but nice rooms all with bath,istory place and istory Hotel with romantic garden and balcony sea front,all shop are near,the tipical Liguria tradition are in this place,7 rooms with bath (shower) and good breakfast for your time free,visit from Portovenere to Cinque Terre start in front of this Hotel and the road by foot start under Genio ,very well ,coming in Genio Hotel is much better for you, hi friend ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Genio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing