We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location with extra friendly host”
Review of Hotel Genio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Genio
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent location with extra friendly host”
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Stayed at Albergo Genio for 3 nights while visiting Cinque Terre. It was an excellent location, easily reachable by car and with good connections to Cinque Terre. Portovenere is a small town yet it has enough interesting spots for a short stay. Albergo is a small, family run hotel and its best assets are location and Igor. He was always there to answer our numerous questions and gaves us advices. Due to its location (old city wall) there are many steps to reach your room (but being in Cinque Terre anyway means to be able to hike steep paths). The room itself is clean, not big but roomy enough. The view from front rooms are excellent. Breakfast is served in lounge (or on the terrace wheather permitting) and is of good quality and quantity.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    49
    16
    9
    13
See reviews for
20
90
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the Albergo Genio in July 2010 based on the favourable reviews it received in TripAdvisor and were very pleased with our stay and have reommended it to friends who are visiting Portovenere in September. Our bedroom and bathroom appeared to be recently renovated and looked very “new” and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were tasty, the hotel location is excellent and we appreciated having a patio where we could sit overlooking Portovenere.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Just stayed there two nights in mid March, 2010. Friendly, helpful, honest, warm... I had been hiking in Cinque Terre and arrived exhausted and bedraggled. I received a warm welcome, good clean safe room with en suite bathroom, plenty of hot water, flat screen tv, and comfortable bed. The family, including Igor who speaks English, were just the reason I love italy.
Portovenere is a lesser-known gem of italy. Il Genio is, too.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB24SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel Fire, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

My husband & I stayed here to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and what a special place this is! Family owned & operated (Alfredo, Laura & Igor) Hotel Genio is clean, very reasonabily priced, has a terrific little breakfast, friendly almost round-the-clock service, a great little bar & GORGEOUS terraces. Every morning we enjoyed reading overlooking the piazza & Gulf of Poets; every evening we indulged in wine & local cheeses, meats & bread on the terrace outside our door. It was fun trying a different terrace everytime! Privacy & yet a very friendly environment should you want to chat with the other international guests. Much, much nicer than many 2 stars we've stayed in before!! And, the location is perfect right for exploring the Cinque Terre by regular ferries just steps away from the hotel. Portovenere is a delightful village with much to see, do, explore, shop & dine! So, so much history right there! We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bahamamama711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2009

You don't need to pay for a 4star hotel (which is right next to this one); Hotel Genio is a charming little old place built right into the medieval wall, it is the way Porto Venere used to be years and years ago. It's been running since1859 or so. The staff (the owners) are extremely friendly and you can have breakfast in the main terrace, surrounded by plants and next to the old medieval entrance to the city. Excellent value for money. Location is great, you're right there in the main square, across from the marina.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lustigelola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

A small family run hotel in a quiet central location. Owners and staff were all very friendly. My room didn't have a balcony or sea view but this didn't matter as there are several terraces for guests to use. Room was basic but comfortable and clean. There is a bar and breakfast was included and served on the terrace. The hotel also has an art gallery.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unasola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackendale, Bc
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

My husband and I booked Hotel Genio directly with the owner via e-mail on the recommendation of a friend who stayed there last year. The hotel is small with stairs leading to its various rooms. A simple breakfast (coffee, juice, and buns with butter and jam) was included and was served on the outdoor deck which overlooked the square below and the water beyond that. The tables were located under lovely plants (virginia creeper?, grapes?) made into an arbour. Our room had a lovely, small balcony with a view of the water. The room itself was plain but comfortable. The owner, Cerreta Igor, was always cheerful and friendly. All other staff we met at the front desk and cleaning were also cheery and friendly. We loved Portovenere and thought it was the best place to stay for a visit to the Cinque Terre. We did the hike between towns and then came home (via boat) to a very lovely town. We would not hesitate to recommend Hotel Genio to anyone visiting Portovenere. I have added a couple of photos of the hotel since there were none previously posted.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LonyM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Venere hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Portovenere
Grand Hotel Portovenere
#1 of 7 in Porto Venere
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#2 of 7 in Porto Venere
272 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel della Baia
Hotel della Baia
#3 of 7 in Porto Venere
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 7 in Porto Venere
168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Sporting Hotel
Royal Sporting Hotel
#7 of 7 in Porto Venere
312 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Le Grazie
Hotel Le Grazie
#5 of 7 in Porto Venere
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Genio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genio

Property: Hotel Genio
Address: Piazza Bastreri 8, 19025, Porto Venere, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Porto Venere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Genio 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
this Hotel is in the old village of Portovenere,have free garage for your car,simple but nice rooms all with bath,istory place and istory Hotel with romantic garden and balcony sea front,all shop are near,the tipical Liguria tradition are in this place,7 rooms with bath (shower) and good breakfast for your time free,visit from Portovenere to Cinque Terre start in front of this Hotel and the road by foot start under Genio ,very well ,coming in Genio Hotel is much better for you, hi friend ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Genio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing