We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence i Gabbiani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence i Gabbiani
Ranked #4 of 19 Porto Venere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Idyllic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in apartment 4 with 2 young children. The apartment was very spacious, clean and the kitchen well equipped. Lovely terrace area, which was nice for the children. The views were amazing and we spent alot of time in the evening sitting outside enjoying the view and the changing sky. Parking was a blessing as it is paid parking on the street. I had wanted to visit Cinque Terre for a very long time and after visiting a few of the villages I think Portovenere has so much more to offer and would recommend it as a place to stay. It takes about 20 mins to walk into the village from the apartment, but it is a lovely walk (also one that our 3 year old did very easily). I can recommend the little shop just 5 minutes walk away with beautiful cakes and fresh fruit. We fell in love with Portovenere and genuinely didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTraveller08032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    32
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
48
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Me, my wife and child had stayed 2 nights in here.
The room was really clean and the available pans and kitchen saved us some money on dinner/breakfast (and if you came to Portovenere you know what I mean).

The owner is fantastic, it can entertain you for hours telling about his past, somebody is going to make a book about his hectic life! But very kind expecially with small kids.

The decks are the highlight of the deal, breathtaking views of the gulf! Bring your tripod.

It isn't too close to the "core" of the town but the walk (~20 minutes) is nice and plenty of opportunities to steal some figs from the neighboors.

We will come back (to hear more stories)!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxscipio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed for 12 nights in appartment number 4. It was a great experience.
When we arrived we walked up the stairs to the owners' appartment. The lady does not speak any English but her husband does a little. Both very kind. They showed us the appartment, which is very nice. Terrace facing the sea (and sun from about 10am til 8pm) with two sunbeds and a table with some chairs. Inside: Very clean, nice bed, kitchen with microwave, oven, stove, fridge and freezer. Very handy since we cooked a lot of our own meals during our stay. Nice living room with a sofa, closet desk and tv. Walking distance from the beach (5min), the town (10min), a small supermarket (10 min) and restaurants (10 min). Airconditioning in the living room and bedroom, which was great. WiFi worked really well in the livingroom.

We really appreciated the garage, as parking is pricy on the street. Unfortunately there were a few days on the weekends when the garage was full. But we moved some trash cans and were able to park inside anyways. If you don't have a car, there is a regular bus service which runs through the street to La Spezia. The street is not super busy though (except for saturdays) so it was nice to sit outside whenever we felt like it.

Whenever our towels were dirty we could drop them off with the owner and she would give us clean ones. Same with the bed sheets. Be sure to just use gestures and point to things you need, so she understands. Also the younger lady who cleans speaks a little English.

Downsides: the pillows were pretty hard, so we bought some cheap new ones in the supermarket in La Spezia. The kitchen has plenty of pans and utensils, but a few more cups would have been nice and a sponge to do the dishes.

Overall it was great to stay here and if we ever come back here, I would pick Residence i Gabbiani again. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: For as far as we could tell all appartments except for number 5 face the sea. We stayed in number 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenBez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Our two night stay at Residence i Gabbiani was one of the highlights of our three week driving trip. The access is simple...drive into Porto Venere on the one way road and follow it as it starts back up the hill. It has free parking in the garage beneath the apartments. The view is nothing short of spectacular! One can enjoy the view and a little sun from your own lanai. The apartment is very clean, comfortable and fully equipped. The owner speaks practically no English...only Italian but that was not a problem. We were able to communicate with no difficulty. It is a short walk down the hill to many fine cafes and the local sights. It was a short drive to La Spezia to take the train to the Cinque Terre. We would have walked to the boat, but the Ligurian Sea was too rough for the boats to run.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russellville, Alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

The Residence i Gabbiani is a joy where we had a 2 room flat with a balcony overlooking the Bay of Poets on the Ligurian Sea in a sturdy family-run hotel with underground parking! Parking is especially important in Portovenere and to find a hotel with free parking is an anamoly here, the gateway to the Cinque Terre. The lovely woman who runs the place speaks no English so be prepared to talk with your hands but you can be understood by simply stating your name if you have a reservation. The man of the house will sometimes share a bottle of his own wine with you, too. In additioin to the front balcony, we had a nice, roomy, sunny terrace off our bedroom and TWO bathrooms in the 2 room flat. Spotlessly clean, the living area features a Murphy bed, a small table with chairs, and an efficiency kitchen. Since my daughter, grandson, goddaughter and I were there, I have also placed several friends in Residence i gabbiani.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yfoster129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed for two nights in a large modern apartment with fully equipped kitchen/breakfast nook, living room, bedroom, and extremely large patio overlooking beautiful Portovenere. Car parking is free in the garage (1.25 to 1.75 euro per hour on the streets). Driving is simple - you come in on a one-way road to the center and leave town on a one-way road away from the center (Residence i Gabbiani is just up the hill on the way out of town and easy to find). While the owner's mother does not speak English, she maintains a friendly line of patter in Italian as she shows you what is needed by sign language, and then gives you a free bottle of wine to seal the deal.
We had intended to visit three towns of the Cinque Terre by boat from Porto Venere. Because of rough seas the boats ran only to Monterosso on our first day and not at all on our second day. This was OK with us as we enjoyed Monterosso and seeing the rest of the five towns from the sea, but loved to be in Portovenere. One can climb to the fortress overlooking the town and to the two lovely churches that provide great views. The narrow streets are rustic and it was enjoyable to watch children leaving for school on my early morning walks. I am 71 and the walk to the main square and boat docks was less than 15 minutes. Only one uphill portion returning to the apartment so the return took about 15 minutes. Can't recommend Portovenere and Residence i Gabbiani enough.

Room Tip: Any of the sea view apartments would be great. We had number four, which also had a small side gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank muchoviajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Our stay (3 nights) at Residence I Gabbiani is one of the most memorable ones in our 3-week trip in France and Italy. It's certainly difficult to find the place, especially at night and more particularly for Canadians not used to driving in Italy, but once you get there, you'll forget about that!
Portovenere is magnificent and the panoramic view from the balcony reveals its beauty. We were fortunate to travel during low season (late September) since we got a spacious apartment that was clean and had the equipment we needed.
Communication with the owner was a challenge since she did not speak English, but everything was resolved when the owners' son was around. But this did not prevent us from seeing their kindness and willingness to help.
Residence I Gabbiani is well located to go to the Cinque Terre (much nicer location than La Spezia) by boat, which costs about 12 euros per person. You can decide to come back by train and bus if you don't want to take the boat again. But if you do take the boat for one way, choose it to get to the Cinque Terre because the view is splendid, postcards like.
If we ever go back to Italy, we will definitely stay there again and stay longer! We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We highly recommend room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PLMEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Venere hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel della Baia
Hotel della Baia
#3 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Portovenere
Grand Hotel Portovenere
#1 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#2 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Genio
Hotel Genio
#5 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Sporting Hotel
Royal Sporting Hotel
#7 of 7 in Porto Venere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence Le Terrazze
Residence Le Terrazze
#1 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence i Gabbiani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence i Gabbiani

Property: Residence i Gabbiani
Address: Via Seno Dell Olivo 465, 19025, Porto Venere, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Porto Venere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Porto Venere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a balcony overlooking the Ligurian Sea, apartments at the Gabbiani Residence are 300 metres from the sandy beach and 1.5 km outside Portovenere. Air conditioning, a fully equipped kitchenette and flat-screen TV are included in each apartment at Residence I Gabbiani. Some units boast separate living and sleeping areas, and some have free Wi-Fi. Guests can find shops and restaurant only 400 metres from the property, or reach La Spezia city centre in 20 minutes by car. The famous Cinque Terre Area is 25 km away. Parking is free on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Residence i Gabbiani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing