We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabrice's choice”
Review of Le Bocche

Le Bocche
Ranked #16 of 65 Restaurants in Porto Venere
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Chevy Chase, Maryland, United States
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fabrice's choice”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Six of us arrived in Portovenere by boat with about three hours for lunch and strolling before the return trip to the Cinque Terre. Before we even docked, my French son-in-law Fabrice had selected Le Bocche for its location -- as far as possible the center of the town. We sat outside for a fine lunch (I loved watching my 12-year old grandson devour his octopus salad; I had fried calamari) and still had plenty of time to clamber out on the rocks for pictures. Great location; good food; reasonable price.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    145
    73
    41
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Siena, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, great, romantic location”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This lounge bar/restaurant was built on a rocky cliff facing the sea and the nearby islets. We had a light lunch there, sitting outdoors on a sunny weekend in spring. The food was very good, genuine, with an excellent choice of local seafood (we had fried cuttlefish, boiled octopus with potatoes, salted anchovies served with butter, spaghetti with mussels) and cool, delightful Vermentino white wine. The location is wonderful. If the weather is good, you can sit outside, a few meters from the sea. The price was very reasonable. The service was fine. We would definitely return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gicadelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

The food is average, nice atmosphere but the service is slow and waitresses are incredible unpolite, not willing to work.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Y2ksail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had a light lunch here, sitting outdoors on a beautiful day. The food was OK, the service average. My 'Very Good' rating is based on one thing: the location. When the sun is shining, this is a delightful spot to sit and watch the boasts coming and going. My guess is that the restaurant relies on its location and doesn't feel the need to try too hard.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PGL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best spaghetti al scoglio ever tasted”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Romantic spot close to the entry of the port. Lovely breeze on a hot night.
Small select menu but very tasty. All the past dishes were top class.
Professional service and reasonable price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ROBERTO G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Bocche also viewed

Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
 
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Le Bocche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing