We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Chiglia

La Chiglia
Ranked #3 of 63 Restaurants in Porto Venere
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

First time in Portovenere, the first night we walked up to this restaurant. The waitress was wonderful, very kind and patient, her recommendations were perfect!
We started with the Octopus carpaccio, perfection, not chewy light in flavor, very fresh. Then I got the grilled scampi, cuttle fish and Langoustines, my husband ordered the mixed fried fish, all were cooked perfectly, nothing was oily on the fried fish and the grill was perfect on mine. I had the white local wine of the house, and was perfect with meal. For desert I got the apple, was excellent and not heavy. Will definetly go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    292
    84
    27
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Best fish soup in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Been there 3 times. Had the fish soup 3 times. Perfect, just a dream, can't stop thinking about it.

No idea about the rest of the menu though.

Just try the fish soup.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephane75004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best meal in Portovenere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Bad location, very good food, close to gourmet experience. During our one week stay in Portovenere this was the best restaurant we visited. We had one dinner and one lunch here. The dinner was the best meal. We had the sea food soup. It had plenty of sea food and was very tasty. The dessert menu was exciting and a perfect finish. All restaurants in Portovenere are quite expensive, many of them with bad service and average quality, so why not pick this restaurant and eat gourmet style food accompanied with waitors that have time for you and also a kind smile.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NordFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We sought this place out on the basis of the reviews above. But to say that our pasta was mediocre is to put it kindly. There is no kind way, however, to describe the increasingly hostile service we received. We hoped that the deserts would redeem the evening but were again sadly disappointed. It was a memorable evening, bit for all the wrong reasons. Of all meals we have eaten on the Ligurian coast, this was the worst.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KulaCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Avoid this place at all costs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Terrible service, mediocre food. We waited one hour for our antipasto and the wine arrived already opened. We gave up waiting for the rest, paid for what little we had and left. Go to the Tre Torri or Da Paolo in the main square. La Chiglia has terrible service, mediocre food. We waited one hour for our antipasto and the wine arrived already opened. We gave up waiting for the rest, paid for what little we had eaten and left. Go to the Tre Torri or Da Paolo in the main square.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Chiglia also viewed

Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
 
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
 
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
 

Been to La Chiglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing