We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favourite Restuarant”
Review of La Chiglia

La Chiglia
Ranked #3 of 65 Restaurants in Porto Venere
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My Favourite Restuarant”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

As a seafood lover I have been fortunate to visit La Chiglia at least once a year for the last 12 years.
The decor is "nice" and the atmosphere is friendly enough but the real attraction of this place is the food. The mixed seafood starter is amazing and always a feast which they manage to vary with new additions every year.
Ihave sampled most of the menu and cannot find fault with any dish. Seafood perfection

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    316
    98
    31
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mt Eliza, Australia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Tried it twice.”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We arrived in Portovenere at around 1pm on a Saturday after a two and a half hour drive from Milan and, as our villa was still being cleaned, we decided to follow our driver's recommendation and have lunch at "the best restaurant in Portovenere". We entered the restaurant to a fairly frosty greeting from the owner and a reluctant smile from his young waiter. We were led to a table not far from the table occupied by the local gangster who scowled at everyone throughout his meal with his family who all looked miserable (not surprisingly). We both sat down and muttered to each other "welcome to Portovenere".
The restaurant is across the road from the town's beach and, being a sunny day, the pebbles were littered with the towels of local swimmers who limped their way to and from the water. However, the restaurant is set down low so the restaurant tables do not afford a view of anything but sky. A pity when it's in such a good location.
The service from Heckle and Jeckle (as the owner and waiter became known to us) was as good as their welcome and we began to wonder if we'd made a dreadful mistake in coming here. However, with their totally non-existent English and our dreadful Italian, we eventually were able to order and the food was surprisingly good. She had the melon and prosciutto and I had the smoked salmon to start. Yes - very staid choices but incredibly good and fresh and light despite being enormous servings. We then followed with barzini ravioli for her and grilled prawns for me - again, huge servings leaving no room for dessert. Prosecco, beer and a bottle of reasonable white wine accompanied the meal. Attempts at conversation failed miserably and we left vowing to return for dinner later in our week in Portovenere to see if things improved. The restaurant was only about 100 metres from our villa and we really wanted it to be a good local hangout away from the tourists in town (about 15 minutes walk along the waterfront).
So - we went back for dinner on the following Tuesday night. We'd had a lovely lunch that day at Trattoria Tre Torri in town (see separate review) and were still hoping that we might get a smile and a welcome from H and J. At 7pm, a few locals were already seated. There was no sign of young Jeckle but Mrs Heckle greeted us with the now familiar smile of reluctance (she must run the customer service training programme) which turned to a grimace when we asked to sit at a table other than the one she had allocated. Given that there were so few customers that night, the reason for the reaction wasn't obvious. Heckle did make a brief appearance from the kitchen a little later but ignored all of the customers, went outside for a smoke and didn't return.
Mrs Jeckle eventually condescended to take our order and we came to the conclusion that smiling and being as pleasant as possible weren't going to produce any warmth for us that night. We also noted that, whilst the locals weren't treated with total disdain, they weren't getting much in the way of animation either. We had enjoyed the smoked salmon and the melon with prosciutto so much on our earlier visit that we had to have them again and they were every bit as good. She had the pasta with prawns, arugula and white truffle which she declared to be fantastic and I had the griglia mista - also very good but far too much of it for one person. Beer, prosecco and a bottle of white wine again. Having arrived at 7pm, we were gone by 8.45 and a smile was begrudgingly and briefly given by Mrs jeckle as we left.
Whilst my rating of this place would have been far better based upon the food, the atmosphere dragged it down. There's some serious work needed on customer relations here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gwegwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food with nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This place was recommended by some pretty hip middle aged women with second houses in Porto venere. Although they qualified that they really tried NOT to eat out in the town, if they had to they found this place pretty good. It had an Interesting interior with a tasteful combination of urban and traditional elements. Menu reasonably priced and food good. The best of the meals that I had in town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwest usa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So good Italian families celebrate here”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

The best dish of our entire Italian vacation was served here, a recommendation of the owner. When we asked for a pasta suggestion, she pointed without hesitation to a dish with square "spaghetti," white truffle scented olive oil and minced shrimp. It was so delicious that I bought a bottle of this type of oil before we flew back to the US. We also had fresh local seafood and a good red wine. Loved it all.
A large Italian family was celebrating a birthday--seemingly the grandmother's. They were all dressed up, having a wonderful time. I attempted "Happy Birthday" in Italian as we left, and they applauded me! A special memory for us.
Make reservations, or get there as they open the doors.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingforculture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

First time in Portovenere, the first night we walked up to this restaurant. The waitress was wonderful, very kind and patient, her recommendations were perfect!
We started with the Octopus carpaccio, perfection, not chewy light in flavor, very fresh. Then I got the grilled scampi, cuttle fish and Langoustines, my husband ordered the mixed fried fish, all were cooked perfectly, nothing was oily on the fried fish and the grill was perfect on mine. I had the white local wine of the house, and was perfect with meal. For desert I got the apple, was excellent and not heavy. Will definetly go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Chiglia also viewed

Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
 
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
 

Been to La Chiglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing