We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Pizzeria Il Timone

Ristorante Pizzeria Il Timone
Reserve with
Ristorante Pizzeria Il Timone is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 63 Restaurants in Porto Venere
Price range: US$2 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Rudder opens its doors around 1960 when Portovenere had not yet reached the tourist interest today. The create and lead him to the end of the 80s and Marino Toni offering their customers the traditional Ligurian dishes joined the Italian dish: pizza. Today on the path created by the parents, Antonella continues the tradition in a room totally renovated but in the typical tone of Liguria. The rudder is the perfect destination to enjoy the flavor and atmosphere of Ligurian cuisine. Ideal for an aperitif from 18.00 Onwards with wine and Ligurian cuisine or for a dinner with many different tones. Great for organizing birthdays afternoon with a buffet, or traditional with the offer of delicious pizzas created by the high professionalism of Antonella already leading exponent of the pizza industry and is currently President of the Pizza Planet - Science and Culture Pizza. Interesting for groups up to a maximum of 50 people offer to drink menu with wines and Ligurian cuisine from 7 euro, and dinner from 15 EUR. The Wardrobe will offer an opportunity to give away or give a concrete memory of your passage to the rudder.
1 review
“Good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Very cozy and beautiful place. Waiters are welcome. We had incomprehension about size of glass of wine (we get very small shots instead of glasses), but it doesn't matter. Grazi!

Helpful?
Thank Sergey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    331
    139
    69
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Superb setting with excellent service and food that I found very well presented with exceptional taste. I had the cold cuts, wrapped fish and local pasta which were all very enjoyable. Wifi available. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. I really liked the decor with both inside and outside dining options. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterosso
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Value, Lovely View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Porto Venere seems quite under appreciated compared to Cinque Terre. Il Timone had a broad menu and great prices, it was also very convenient. It is within 20 feet of the ferries , and has no cover charge which is rather rare for such a prime location. Free wifi and and good service were also nice surprises. This seems to be great a place for families or couples as the menu has something for everyone and locations provides a comforting experience. Pizza was great, and my wife really enjoyed her pasta. Desert and espresso were also great. I highly recommend this restaurant for anyone using the ferry, because it is right there and you still get the beautiful view without feeling like you entered another tourist trap.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank djh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic Ligurian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We ate here on both nights that we were in Portovenere and can highly recommend it. The staff are very efficient and pleasant. We had the €15 tasting menu and didn't leave feeling hungry! You get 3 different kinds of farinata, followed by a platter of beautiful cold cuts with a blackberry paste and focaccia and then a variety of thin crust pizza. A drink is included. Our friend stayed in bed in the hotel as she was unwell and they happily prepared a takeaway trofie pasta dish for us to take back to her. We can also recommend the fish/seafood zuppa, the fish in foil and the pot of mussels.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SociableWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonech, Proprietario at Ristorante Pizzeria Il Timone, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Google Translation
È stato un piacere per noi farvi assaggiare la nostra buona cucina ricca di sapori e profumi,con simpatia vi ricordiamo ,
Antonella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great meal, great service, great fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We knew it had to be good because we noticed it was jammed the previous night when other restaurants were empty. It did not disappoint. The staff were charming and helpful. Salads were fresh and delicious. Local pasta was excellent, as were the fried sardines. And the tiramisu was killer. We all loved it and highly recommend it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonech, Proprietario at Ristorante Pizzeria Il Timone, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Google Translation
Grazie cari signori siamo felici di aver contribuito a rendere piacevole la vostra permanenza a Portovenere
A presto
Antonella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Pizzeria Il Timone also viewed

Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
 
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
 
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Ristorante Pizzeria Il Timone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing