We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run down hotel with a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Sporting Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Run down hotel with a great location!”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We were a bit disappointed when we arrived. The Hotel looks smart from the outside but like too many of the italian riviera hotels it is a bitt outdated an run down. Sure the view from the terrace and the swimming pool area is breathtaking, but the rooms are not up to standard. Considering the cost, I would say that the hotel is not worth the price. But the location is excellent and the potential is there. Portovenere is a true gem, and we absolutely fell in love with the place. One word of warning though, everything is expensive here. We ended up paying 32 Euro for two sun beds at the beach. The small harbor area is fantastic with many good restaurants to choose from, and these are not to pricey. The breakfast was very good. Being a scandinavian I am not used to eating cookies for breakfast, and the range to choose from was very good. The Fitness center was a laugh!!!! If you plan to end up as Arnold Schwartzenegger this is not the hotel for you, unless you start lifting the furniture in your room. I still to this day can not comprehend how the could call this a fitness center!!! The car park will sett you back 20 Euros pr night!!!!!! Par it in the street. Perfectly safe and free of charge

Room Tip: Get a room up front for a breathtaking view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    104
    74
    49
    16
See reviews for
45
154
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We were mystified how this hotel claims 4 stars. It is old and tired, with staff who appear disinterested and not very friendly. The room had a nice view, but the furniture and fittings were sparse, old, and not comfortable. The bathroom is very small, and also "vintage". We had no complaints about the cleanliness.

Sound proofing between rooms is terrible. The balcony has no privacy, and its furniture is uncomfortable.

The hotel's pool area is unpleasant. The pool had far too much chlorine in it, and the attendant was brusque and overbearing.

Breakfast was ok.

This hotel is one of the furthest from the harbour area and the parking is expensive - which they don't tell you about unless you ask.

Neither royal nor sporting.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Porto Venere hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
FORLI'
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

It's a hotel that may have been good in the 80ies but tht now needs a lot of attention (which it has not) and refurbishing. High price and low quality. Our room on the back was one of the smallest rooms I ever saw (you could not open the drawers unless you moved the bed side table on the balcony). Noisy air conditiong: if you stopped it, you had to keep the windows open for some fresh air at night, but the air conditioning compressor of the hotel was just below our balcony so... The housemaids were cleaning the corridor carpets at 8.00 am on Sunday! Is it normal? The fact is that Portovenere is so lovely but hotels are not up to its beauty

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front, facing the sea, maybe they are a little bigger (but noisy as well as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I found this hotel full of contradictions. My wife said it was just plain bad. I’ll give you my side as she isn’t writing this.

On arrival the receptionist handed us our keys, said the room was on the second floor and then stood and watched as we lugged our suitcases up stairs to the elevator. She didn’t score any starting points. The room was sparse, plain and a bit disappointing for the price. We’d just come from the Hotel Pietrasanta in Pietrasanta and the comparison was like driving a Maserati and then moving onto a Fiat, but paying the same price.

But then there is the pool! A great plus indeed. In fact, the location, the view and the pool are really the only things going for this place. They do also have parking for extra.

So this may not be too bad, you might be asking yourself, just some teething issues? Well, then we got to the balcony! In fact it is just one big elongated balcony, interspersed with some fence-like barriers. The complete lack of privacy or intimacy doesn’t really make you want to use it. It’s like sitting on the deck by the pool as your neighbours are right on top of you. C’mon, how hard can it be to put up some nice cotton screens or something? Then First Night: the walls were definitely made out of cardboard… you can hear people having quiet conversations and even breathing! Not a lot of fun, especially when someone decides to watch TV late or extra early. Then 8am arrives and the cleaners kick start the vacuum. They even banged against the door in their quest to get us up and out of bed. I’m on holiday, I don’t want to wake up at 8am! And this everyday for 4 days, no exception!

The pool staff are friendly, as is the barman. You can hardly fit in the shower and the bath products smell terrible.

They could really make something special of this hotel, especially with the location, but in its current state I can only recommend wholeheartedly that you stay away from this one! Really, do yourself a favour and shop around for something else.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VincennesFrance100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
261 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

The staff was great. The beach across the street was excellent. Several good restaurants are within easy walking distance. The pool and bar provided great views of the harbor. Our room was small, the beds and pillows hard as bricks, and the shower tiny. There was a flat screen TV with a small(20") screen and no English language channels. The breakfast had great bread, pastries, fruit, and the usual Italian meats and cheeses. Eggs were avaible at additional cost. Internet access was 4 Euros an hour...not good for a 4 star.

Room Tip: Insist on a balcony on the harbor side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldDukeDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville Beach, FL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

This was a very neat hotel in a sweet location. The bathroom was so big, especially compared to the other hotels we stayed at during our visit to Italy. Everything was wonderful, the front desk was very welcoming. We enjoyed our stay here so much. Walking distance to nice shops & restaurants and the water taxi to the other villages was so much fun!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoniAbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EU
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Nice hotel with central European style. Nice swimming pool, view to the sea and nice surroundings. Room quite small.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisse2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Venere
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Portovenere
Grand Hotel Portovenere
#1 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel della Baia
Hotel della Baia
#3 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#2 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Genio
Hotel Genio
#6 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
3.4 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sporting Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sporting Hotel

Property: Royal Sporting Hotel
Address: Via dell' Olivo, 345, 19025, Porto Venere, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Porto Venere
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sporting Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Sporting Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Sporting
Royal Sporting Portovenere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing