We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Sporting Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Portovenere(Porto Venere)
US$329
US$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Genio(Porto Venere)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Baia Blu RTA(Lerici)(Great Value!)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Nina(La Spezia)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$197
US$111
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel della Baia(Porto Venere)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Paradiso(Porto Venere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belvedere(Porto Venere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Le Grazie(Porto Venere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Stella Marina(San Terenzo)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
61
122
88
51
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
122
88
51
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroad scholarcinque terreinternet connectionhiking tourthe wait staffwater viewnice hotelthe staff was friendly and helpfulnice breakfastenjoyed our stayclose to the hotelbed was comfortablesmall townpastabalconyseaviews
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We were a bit disappointed when we arrived. The Hotel looks smart from the outside but like too many of the italian riviera hotels it is a bitt outdated an run down. Sure the view from the terrace and the swimming pool area is breathtaking, but the rooms are not up to standard. Considering the cost, I would say that the hotel is not worth the price. But the location is excellent and the potential is there. Portovenere is a true gem, and we absolutely fell in love with the place. One word of warning though, everything is expensive here. We ended up paying 32 Euro for two sun beds at the beach. The small harbor area is fantastic with many good restaurants to choose from, and these are not to pricey. The breakfast was very good. Being a scandinavian I am not used to eating cookies for breakfast, and the range to choose from was very good. The Fitness center was a laugh!!!! If you plan to end up as Arnold Schwartzenegger this is not the hotel for you, unless you start lifting the furniture in your room. I still to this day can not comprehend how the could call this a fitness center!!! The car park will sett you back 20 Euros pr night!!!!!! Par it in the street. Perfectly safe and free of charge

Room Tip: Get a room up front for a breathtaking view.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We were mystified how this hotel claims 4 stars. It is old and tired, with staff who appear disinterested and not very friendly. The room had a nice view, but the furniture and fittings were sparse, old, and not comfortable. The bathroom is very small, and also "vintage". We had no complaints about the cleanliness.

Sound proofing between rooms is terrible. The balcony has no privacy, and its furniture is uncomfortable.

The hotel's pool area is unpleasant. The pool had far too much chlorine in it, and the attendant was brusque and overbearing.

Breakfast was ok.

This hotel is one of the furthest from the harbour area and the parking is expensive - which they don't tell you about unless you ask.

Neither royal nor sporting.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

It's a hotel that may have been good in the 80ies but tht now needs a lot of attention (which it has not) and refurbishing. High price and low quality. Our room on the back was one of the smallest rooms I ever saw (you could not open the drawers unless you moved the bed side table on the balcony). Noisy air conditiong: if you stopped it, you had to keep the windows open for some fresh air at night, but the air conditioning compressor of the hotel was just below our balcony so... The housemaids were cleaning the corridor carpets at 8.00 am on Sunday! Is it normal? The fact is that Portovenere is so lovely but hotels are not up to its beauty

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front, facing the sea, maybe they are a little bigger (but noisy as well as the ones on the back because of the bar
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I found this hotel full of contradictions. My wife said it was just plain bad. I’ll give you my side as she isn’t writing this.

On arrival the receptionist handed us our keys, said the room was on the second floor and then stood and watched as we lugged our suitcases up stairs to the elevator. She didn’t score any starting points. The room was sparse, plain and a bit disappointing for the price. We’d just come from the Hotel Pietrasanta in Pietrasanta and the comparison was like driving a Maserati and then moving onto a Fiat, but paying the same price.

But then there is the pool! A great plus indeed. In fact, the location, the view and the pool are really the only things going for this place. They do also have parking for extra.

So this may not be too bad, you might be asking yourself, just some teething issues? Well, then we got to the balcony! In fact it is just one big elongated balcony, interspersed with some fence-like barriers. The complete lack of privacy or intimacy doesn’t really make you want to use it. It’s like sitting on the deck by the pool as your neighbours are right on top of you. C’mon, how hard can it be to put up some nice cotton screens or something? Then First Night: the walls were definitely made out of cardboard… you can hear people having quiet conversations and even breathing! Not a lot of fun, especially when someone decides to watch TV late or extra early. Then 8am arrives and the cleaners kick start the vacuum. They even banged against the door in their quest to get us up and out of bed. I’m on holiday, I don’t want to wake up at 8am! And this everyday for 4 days, no exception!

The pool staff are friendly, as is the barman. You can hardly fit in the shower and the bath products smell terrible.

They could really make something special of this hotel, especially with the location, but in its current state I can only recommend wholeheartedly that you stay away from this one! Really, do yourself a favour and shop around for something else.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VincennesFrance100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

The staff was great. The beach across the street was excellent. Several good restaurants are within easy walking distance. The pool and bar provided great views of the harbor. Our room was small, the beds and pillows hard as bricks, and the shower tiny. There was a flat screen TV with a small(20") screen and no English language channels. The breakfast had great bread, pastries, fruit, and the usual Italian meats and cheeses. Eggs were avaible at additional cost. Internet access was 4 Euros an hour...not good for a 4 star.

Room Tip: Insist on a balcony on the harbor side.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldDukeDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews