We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Portovenere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Sporting Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Sporting Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Dublin, Ireand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Portovenere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

My Husband & I visited Royal Sporting again after 5yrs. This place is so quite & peaceful and of course very beautiful
The staff are very friendly, but I must say when we were there before, the breakfast is still the same buffet as before. It gets a bit boring every day with the same. But an ample choice for everyone. You have to pay an extra €4 if you want an egg!!

We really love Portovenere, and glad that we went back again.It was just what the doctor ordered.

Lynn

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LegsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    99
    70
    49
    16
See reviews for
43
149
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oslo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Spent two days in this hotel. Nice view from my own terrace, and ok quality. I picked it for the location, and was not disappointed.
Small swimming pool on the premises, most for children. Access to beach, wi-fi and parking are all extra. In my opinion at least the two first should be included in a hotel in this price range.
Breakfast next to the pool. 15 min. walk to Porto Venere center.
Will probably stay there if I come back to Porto Venere, but I will probably select a quieter area with less tourists, wi-fi and beach access for hotel guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank docadhoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
199 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

We found ourselves in Portovenere, Italy (La Spezia Penisula) thanks to Rick Steves and found the Royal sporting Hotel because of its TripAdvisor reviews.
This is a great base to explore the Cincque Terre area.

We were originally unsure how long we would stay but after the warm welcome from the very friendly reception we decided at least two nights. Our bayview room was a little dated but large and clean and had a decent sized patio were we enjoyed our morning coffee watching the comings and goings in the harbor and hotel pool.

We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant our second night. It was very quite that night with only three other tables so the service was attentive. The food was good, but not exceptional.

We asked to stay a third night in our room, but the hotel was crowded with a wedding so we had to change rooms. They offered us a suite at a sweet price just two doors away from our current room so how could we complain. It was a corner room with two bedrooms, two baths and a huge balcony. And, though we didn't think it possible, the view was even lovelier than our old room two doors down.

Though the hotel is a twenty minute stroll into town, it is a pleasant walk along the bay.

We were sorry to have to leave to continue our journey, but will definitely return on our next trip to Italy.

When we

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellauno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed at the royal sporting hotel for a few nights recently, knowing the reviews were saying the hotel was dated and need of a face lift! I guess l would need to agree, however, the position was fabulous and the staff very helpful. We had a balcony room with sea view which was wonderful, however, the balcony wasn't private by any means so if your looking for something a little intamte perhaps this may not be the place for you! Out of the hotel to the right are plenty of restuarants, cafes etc. Also, you must walk to the end of the street to the small chapel with its magnificent views over the ocean and beyond. What a picturesque place. On the way back from the chapel head to the laft and you will find the small narrow streets of restaurants and shops of all kinds to linger around. All in all a beautiful place to spend your holiday!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carol1136458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

To me, a 4 star rating is to have accommodations that are luxurious and service that is excellent. The Royal Sporting Hotel has a 4 star view of the mediterranean, all other aspects of the hotel barely rank a 2 star hotel. Our room was medium in size, two twin beds, a desk , small T.V. on a wall stand. We did not have a view, but our friends had a balcony and a lovely view of the sea.

The beds were very hard, sheets were not of a high thread count and the bedspread was thin and like something my grandma had on her beds. The pillows were very hard and flat, I had to ask for extra pillows because they were so uncomfortable.

The bathroom was very small and two people could not stand at the sink at the same time. It was however very clean.

If you are expecting luxury you will be disappointed. The hotel does not deserve a 4 star rating in my book. The food was good, room was clean and the service was average.

Room Tip: Ask for a front view with a balcony. Don't expect the Taj-Mahal it is more like a motel 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indygal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Friendly service, good breakfast, very nice swimmingpool. We had a room with seaview, the room was clean an comfortable but a bit dark and outdatet. Walking distance to the boats to Cinque Terre. Considering the standard,the hotel is a overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HegeKTrondheim_Norge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We were a bit disappointed when we arrived. The Hotel looks smart from the outside but like too many of the italian riviera hotels it is a bitt outdated an run down. Sure the view from the terrace and the swimming pool area is breathtaking, but the rooms are not up to standard. Considering the cost, I would say that the hotel is not worth the price. But the location is excellent and the potential is there. Portovenere is a true gem, and we absolutely fell in love with the place. One word of warning though, everything is expensive here. We ended up paying 32 Euro for two sun beds at the beach. The small harbor area is fantastic with many good restaurants to choose from, and these are not to pricey. The breakfast was very good. Being a scandinavian I am not used to eating cookies for breakfast, and the range to choose from was very good. The Fitness center was a laugh!!!! If you plan to end up as Arnold Schwartzenegger this is not the hotel for you, unless you start lifting the furniture in your room. I still to this day can not comprehend how the could call this a fitness center!!! The car park will sett you back 20 Euros pr night!!!!!! Par it in the street. Perfectly safe and free of charge

Room Tip: Get a room up front for a breathtaking view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Venere
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Portovenere
Grand Hotel Portovenere
#1 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel della Baia
Hotel della Baia
#3 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#2 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Genio
Hotel Genio
#5 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.4 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sporting Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sporting Hotel

Property: Royal Sporting Hotel
Address: Via dell' Olivo, 345, 19025, Porto Venere, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Porto Venere
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sporting Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Royal Sporting Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Sporting
Royal Sporting Portovenere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing