We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I had never heard of Porto Venere or Hotel Belevedere but it was recommended as a great place to stay to visit the Cinque Terre, and it was perfect! Our room was in the front of the hotel overlooking the sea. The views were spectacular! The room was an adequate size and clean. The bathroom, mainly the shower enclosure, was tiny; however, as we traveled throughout the country we learned that is very common in Italy.

It was such a pleasure each morning to enjoy breakfast in a large, bright, sunny room with a beautiful view. There was a variety of food choices including fresh squeezed orange juice and the croissants were to die for!

Hotel Belevedere is convenient to the departure points for the ferries, shops and restaurants but is away from the main part of town so is a bit quieter. Below the hotel is a lovely little family owned restaurant. When the gentleman who was serving us realized we were staying at the hotel, he brought us complimentary snacks and offered us discounts on wine by the bottle.

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful and even arranged a shuttle to the car rental location in La Spezia for us.

I found Hotel Belevedere to be a wonderful little hotel and it was one of our favorite stays during our trip. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front of the hotel with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OhioBuckeye826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    80
    23
    12
    4
See reviews for
36
88
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Valais, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

as there is a main road on both sides i was worried by noise factor but it is a quiet area with very little traffic and we slept very well. the view on to the sea was very entertaining, specially for our daughter watching all those boats. it's near to supermarket and beach and old town. breakfast was very good and their coffee amazing. it was hard to move out and go on with our trip. ref parking spots they propose outdoor parking possibilities but a block further you have indoor parking area.
a very chilled place with friendly staff

Room Tip: they have a quadruple room, with 2 bedrooms, very comfortable with a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwitzerlandTofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Italy was my dream vacation and Hotel Belvedere helped me fall in love with the country. It also helped me fall in love with coffee again. After years of refusing to drink any coffee, it was a pleasant breakfast on the patio that showed me what I was missing. I was there in 2006 and still think fondly of that magical moment watching the ships motor around and sipping the splendid cup of coffee in the morning breeze. Oh I wish I knew what kind it was because it was so delightful. I would love to return to Porto Venere and Hotel Belvedere.

Room Tip: You can't beat the waterfront rooms. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoalTravelWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riguepeu
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The hotel is lovely and with a sea facing room initially feels to have everything, but the place was deserted of staff except the helpful receptionist. The bathroom door is restricted in opening by a badly positioned toilet, bad planning for a 3 star hotel.No dining room, we had to go to the sister hotel up the road which was just as bad. The poor waiter seemed to be doubling as facilities manager as well. We left and ate in town. Typical of corporate run establishment cutting everything to the bone, we had been spoilt in previous hotels run by owner/families.

Room Tip: Sea facing but dont expect quiet as the boats get on the move around 6am in the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cagnes-sur-Mer, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

On my second trip to Cinqueterre, my friend and I decided to stay in nearby Porto Venere, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. To my delight, the town of Porto Venere turned out to be the highlight of our brief trip, and the Hotel Belvedere was in the *perfect* location to enjoy all the sites, restaurants, and activities the town had to offer. The ferry to Cinqueterre left from a dock just meters from the hotel, and the concierge helped us find our way around. We booked rather last-minute and got the last room in the hotel, one of the few without a seaside view, but it was still charming and everything you would wish for in a place to sleep: clean, tastefully decorated, with nice toiletries in the bathroom (including slippers!)... A simple breakfast was served on a charming 4-season terrace off the main lobby. Checking in and out was a breeze. Our stay at the Hotel Belvedere was easy, and it allowed us to focus on the reason we were there: to enjoy Cinqueterre!

Room Tip: Ask for a seaside room if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmsojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This is a slice of heaven, after hiking down from Campiglia...this charming hotel was like finding a delicious, ripe piece of fruit in a fruit basket. A treasure!! The perfect blend of tranquility, gorgeous sea side view and peace/solitude. A cozy room, with terrycloth slippers, a comfy bed and quiet rooms (elevator, too). The simple, tasteful breakfast is served over spectacular views of the sea side in a greenhouse type room. I cannot wait to return to this peaceful haven for another get away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Go_Gina_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, MN
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stumbled upon the Belvedere, and couldn't have been more pleased. It is in a great location with a wonderful view of the bay and the marina across the street. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds. A very nice bonus is that your stay also includes a nice breakfast, which is served in the sun room overlooking the bay. A delightful way to start your day. There is a gas station right next door, and a nice little bar on the ground floor facing the bay. Buy your refreshments and enjoy them while sitting at the tables by the marina along the sidewalk which is across the street. I can't imagine how you could be disappointed in this charming little hotel.

Room Tip: Facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Venere hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Portovenere
Grand Hotel Portovenere
#1 of 7 in Porto Venere
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#2 of 7 in Porto Venere
260 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel della Baia
Hotel della Baia
#3 of 7 in Porto Venere
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Sporting Hotel
Royal Sporting Hotel
#7 of 7 in Porto Venere
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Genio
Hotel Genio
#6 of 7 in Porto Venere
144 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Grazie
Hotel Le Grazie
#5 of 7 in Porto Venere
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Property: Hotel Belvedere
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 26, 19025, Porto Venere, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Porto Venere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Portovenere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing