We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmmmm”
Review of Hotel Paradiso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Paradiso
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hmmmmm”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Ok - Im going to start by saying, yes, this is only a 3 star hotel...But...I have been on planes that have bigger bathrooms and I have also been on planes that have a bigger shower cubicle!!! Seriously!!! The bathroom was tiny!!! Having said that, the toiletries were lovely. The room had a king bed (two singles placed side by side) that was VERY firm. The room was very clean.
Front desk staff were polite.
Breakfast was fine.
There is a lovely terrace which is lovely to have an evening aperitif or nightcap.
The hotel is a 5 minute stroll into town so well placed for everything.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    114
    42
    14
    6
See reviews for
35
178
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Cerrito, California
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed in a Double Seaview Room at the Hotel Paradiso in Portovenere. The hotel is sandwiched between the two main roads into and out of town (each one-way). Its primary entrance is on Via Garibaldi, but its “backdoor” opens onto the other road, Via dell’Olivo, and the walking promenade along the marina and into town. Portovenere is a picturesque little town and is very convenient for the ferries into the Cinque Terre. It is an interesting and pretty town in its own right, with a striking church with great views of the coastline and a castle on the hill.

If you come by train, it is a 35Euro ($49) taxi ride to the hotel from the La Spezia station, along a narrow, twisty road. To return, you can book the hotel shuttle for 40Euro. If you have heavy bags, there are two slow, balky elevators at the train station that you have to navigate to get between the platforms and the main station (allow time).

While the location sounds very busy, the hotel rooms were relatively quiet, particularly after dark when traffic slowed down. The occasional loud motorcycle/boat/passersby could be heard, but usually was drowned out by the doves cooing outside the window on the roof of the restaurant below. We were on the top (2nd) floor (which is recommended), and had a beautiful and expansive view over a little marina and some mussel farms, across the Bay of Poets to Lerici, and across to the island of Palmaria.

It was an easy and pleasant walk into town (10 minute stroll). You could go down the main road, which was a bit scary since it is very narrow and you are next to the cars, but at night there is little traffic and the uphill section is not bad. More pleasant is to take the elevator to the bottom floor, go outside the hotel, down some steps, cross the road, and you are on the promenade. You can stroll along the boats and seaside cafes/bars and into town. (This route through the hotel is locked at night, but there is an easy shortcut to the upper route and the front door of the hotel.) The hotel is very convenient for town, shops, and restaurants. Even better, it is very convenient (5 minute walk) to the ferry that runs into La Spezia and the Cinque Terre.

The hotel and our room were rather basic and furnishings were plain, but they were very clean. The room had a king bed that was comfortable, some drawers, shelves, and a safe in the closet, 2 night stands, a tiny desk area, place for the suitcase, and a shelf. The bath was also basic (shower only, but it was nice), heated towel rack, so it actually turned out to be a good place to wash out some clothes. Wash in the sink and rinse in the bidet – finally a good use for the bidet! WiFi was easy with good connection. Toiletries were very basic with a tiny soap, no lotion or conditioner, no Kleenex, and toilet paper dispensed in little squares. There was a double window/door with just a balcony railing (no terrace). There were shutters on the inside for privacy since there were no drapes or privacy sheers, and the room looked out onto the road and the promenade. The room felt a bit like a cell when you had to close the shutters at night since the room was so spartan and plain. Since it was April, there was only heating, no AC. Because it got hot and stuffy at night on occasion, we had to crack and open the shutters and window to let some cool night air in.

Front desk personnel varied. One spoke good English and was quite helpful with information, restaurant reservations. Others spoke little English and didn’t seem too anxious to assist, maybe because of the language barrier. There is a restaurant in the hotel, which was OK for breakfast (see below), but we could not find any reviews of it as a dinner offering. There was never anyone eating there at night, except one night when we returned from dinner, we saw a very few people eating in the breakfast room. It looked quite bleak since the full bright lights were on, and there appeared to be no atmosphere at all (looked like a lunch room). This is a shame since there is a lovely view, and a place with what would be atmospheric seating for drinks and/or dinner. Maybe they open this area up and use it better during the high summer season – it was a waste during April. There are plenty of eating options in town, so explore!

Breakfast was included in our room rate and was served in the large dining room overlooking the marina and view. It is an expansive view, but the room can get hot with the sun streaming in through all the windows. The hotel has a small buffet of cereals, croissants, Bel Paese and cream cheese, ham, yogurt, cappuccino/espresso, some fruit. You could order hot eggs, and we had ham omelettes (which were a bit overcooked) but fueled you for the day.

We would recommend the Paradiso to those wanting to visit Cinque Terre during the high season when the ferries are running. The hotel is very convenient and provides lovely views in Portovenere.

Room Tip: Top floor is quieter with best views
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank divegirlelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We fell in love with this hotel! What an amazing little bit of heaven! We stayed in the off-season and may have been the only ones in the hotel (breakfast room only had ONE table set each morning and we were at it!) but the service was outstanding, the breakfast fresh and prolific, and the views were incomparable.

We stayed with our two young children (ages 4 and 6) and they loved that we could quickly walk to a little playground overlooking the water (viewable from our room). They also loved the bunk beds in the room - and WE loved having a little bit of privacy from the kids (who normally end up squished into our bed with us!)

We loved our time in Porto Venere and will absolutely stay here at the Paradiso every time we come. It was quiet, comfortable, affordable.

Room Tip: If you have kids, ask for a room with a bunk bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Wow! This place was fantastic! I can't wait to go back. The motel staff were so happy and helpful at all times. Rooms very comfortable. Great retaurarants very close by. It's only downfall was our initial arrival, which was late at night, required a €35 taxi trip. Otherwise it is easy to catch a bus into La Spezia?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercer Island, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Why stay in Cinque Terre when you can stay at the Paradiso in Portovenere. The place was such a find. We were disappointed we couldn't find a place in Cinque Terre so ended up in Portovenere. A quiet town with good food, nice shops, sweet cafes and a ferry that will take you to where you can join the mobs in Cinque Terre so you can hike the trail. The hotel room was good size, comfortable, quiet and had a smashing view of the harbor. Breakfast room shared that same view and had wonderful food including eggs fixed as you like them. I stay here again in a second.

Room Tip: From what I could tell they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babitsmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We spent 2 nights here, but wished we could have spent a week! The hotel has a beautiful setting on the waterfront with stunning views and it was very relaxing to lie in bed with the French doors open and watch the activity in the harbour. The hotel was close to everything - the boats to the Cinque Terre were a 3 minute walk away, the town centre with shops and restaurants were also nearby. Each night we walked to the church of San Pietro at the entrance to the harbour to watch the sunset, which was stunning. Portovenere has a wonderful calm atmosphere and is not filled with masses of tourists like the Cinque Terre villages. We did the boat trip to Monterosso and back, stopping in at each of the villages, which was a very pleasant experience. Breakfasts were plentiful with good variety and we enjoyed the omelettes. The hotel staff were helpful and when a strike was called on the day we were to leave, they arranged a shuttle to get us to our next destination. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Top floor with waterfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SociableWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a wonderful location - a little removed from the centre with marvellous views of the marina. We had a spacious, spotless and comfortable room though the decor is a little dated. We ate in the hotel's restaurant twice and were treated to the attention of our waiter, Luigi, who very capably looked after all the diners by himself and entertained everyone with his rendition of 'My way'. The food was also delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Venere hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Portovenere
Grand Hotel Portovenere
#1 of 7 in Porto Venere
402 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel della Baia
Hotel della Baia
#3 of 7 in Porto Venere
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Sporting Hotel
Royal Sporting Hotel
#7 of 7 in Porto Venere
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 7 in Porto Venere
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Genio
Hotel Genio
#6 of 7 in Porto Venere
152 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Grazie
Hotel Le Grazie
#5 of 7 in Porto Venere
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradiso

Property: Hotel Paradiso
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 34 - 40, 19025, Porto Venere, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Porto Venere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Paradiso 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradiso Hotel Portovenere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing