We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food and location”

Buca di Bacco since 1916
Ranked #14 of 85 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$43 - US$86
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, View, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: You can find the restaurant centrally situated, on the main beach of Positano. The entrance of the restaurant is between its kitchen and the veranda, where you can enjoy a 180° view of the beach and coastline. With an informal and vibrant atmosphere in the day and a soft lumination by impressive coral shaped chandeliers, by night. Romantic candelight dinners under the stars can be enjoyed on our second floor roof terrace. The cuisine is typically Mediterranean with pasta dishes, fish, vegetables, crispy fries,...We are open every day from April 1st to October 31st. If you would like to make a review, please make sure that you don't confuse us with Bar Buca di Bacco & Ristorante Pizzeria La Pergola, belonging to another management.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great food and location”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I was a little hesitant as the menu given to me was just in English. However the food was divine - typically understated in description and simple yet such an experience. The codfish will always be one of my favourite meals.
The service was also wonderful and friendly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank argy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    497
    179
    44
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Okay!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

After having pizza at Dar Poeta, in Rome, my expectations were raised. I hoped, given its proximity to Naples, we would be in for a treat ordering pizza on the Amalfi Coast. I was disappointed. It was "soupy." I was greatly underwhelmed. The customer service was nice. The view cannot be beat. However, a simple pizza left much to be desired.

On the other hand, the Chef and staff were great.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cianadoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
226 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A Great Find and a Great Afternoon”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We drove to Positano after our visit to Pompei for a late lunch. This restaurant on the beach was recommended by our guide. We got the best table in all of Positano and then it got even better. The buffalo mozzarella was some of the best we've had in Italy and the tomatoes were juicy and flavorful. The soups and starters were all good and the main courses were also well prepared and delicious. We had a wonderful 3 hour lunch starting at 3pm and basically had the place to ourselves as we watched all the activities on the beach around us. Very memorable day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you like pasta, come here first!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

As with anything, garlic just makes everything more delicious. Bacco doesn't disappoint and both my wife's spaghetti with lobster and my vongole were infused with just enough garlic that we could still kiss each other after our meals. Don't miss it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TKA72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great cooking class and restaurant ”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We had a very fun time learning to cook local dishes. Our teachers, Francesco and Andrea were great!
We also had other meals there that were also very good.

Helpful?
1 Thank HuskyAztec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buca di Bacco since 1916 also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Buca di Bacco since 1916? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing