We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, lovely people !”

Donna Rosa il Ristorante
Ranked #39 of 86 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food, lovely people !”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We loved this restaurant's friendly atmosphere and lovely, delicate food. The black and white seafood pasta and limoncello desert were highlights. We'll be back !

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    46
    36
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Mixed experience - overpriced”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

It was our second visit to Donna Rosa, the first one being six years ago. We remembered that the experience was better, way better.

For starters, our evening got to a very slow start. After being sat down, the service ceremony has begun. We were handed the menus. One for me, with prices mentioned, and one for my girlfriend, without prices. Needless to say (see pictures attached of the menu), it is a very expensive restaurant, even by Amalfi Coast standards.

For first courses, we ordered the daily special - a Minestrone Soup ('it was a cold day today, so we decided to make vegetable soup') which turned out to be a very ordinary vegetable soup. Nothing to write home about. A plate of Borrata cheese with cherry tomatoes and Roquet leaves (18 euros) was nice, but didn't justify the hefty price. Also, we were waiting roughly 40 minutes for these courses to arrive.

After clearing our table of the firsts, we were surprised that 5 minutes later we got the mains. One Ravioli filled with eggplant and parmesan with cherry tomato sauce (19 euros) and 1 black & white pasta with various seafood (27 euros). The ravioli was fine, the tomato sauce was a bit on the sour side. We have tasted much better in other places around (Da Gemma in Amalfi for example). The black & white seafood pasta was good.

Getting the check wasn't an easy task too. We were waiting for quite a while to get it and also to actually make the payment.

Overall, we don't think Donna Rosa is a top notch restaurant. It's fine, nothing out of the ordinary, and way way too expensive for the quality of food served. In this area, crammed with amazing restaurants, you can make much better choices.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TLV-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delizioso!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Breath taking taxi ride up the hill to this small family owned restaurant. We dined on bruschetta, caprese salad and had the fantasy of pasta - small portions of three house specialties. Wonderful lemon cream cake for dessert, topped off with lemoncello!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Krazykat26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Truly a special experience!”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

My review of Donna Rossa is over half a year late, but no less enthusiastic. Our night at Donna Rosa was one of the most special evenings of our trip to Italy in May 2013. I had contacted the restaurant through their website about the possibility of helping us celebrate my father in law's 70th birthday with a dessert and candles. Rosida was happy to oblige!

We felt privileged to meet the whole family at Donna Rosa throughout the evening. The food was divine and the atmosphere was very friendly. We literally watched the mother pull the birthday cake out of the oven when it was time for dessert. It was the freshest and tastiest chocolate and almond flourless cake known as Torta Caprese.

We will always remember our wonderful time at Donna Rosa! I highly recommend dinner there if you are spending time in Positano.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KelekeWahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best Food in Positano!!”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Our hotel recommended this restaurant and we loved it! Service with a smile from the moment you walk in.
They offer a shuttle service that picks you up because the hotel is sooooooooo high up on the hill and boasts incredible views. (It was too chilly for us to sit outside when we were there unfortunately but I could tell the view was amazing when the weather is right!)
We spend 7 nights in Positano and had eaten in Sorrento, Capri and Rome. I'm glad we finished it off with a bang as this was by far the best meal we ate. Authentic italian cuisine and delicious wine made this my favourite night in Italy.
I cant wait to go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paedsrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Donna Rosa il Ristorante also viewed

 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Donna Rosa il Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing