We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this ristorante”

Ristorante Saraceno d'Oro
Ranked #14 of 85 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$33
Cuisines: Latin, Contemporary, Central European, Italian, European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Natchitoches LA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Love this ristorante”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Closest restaurant to our villa so ate there about 4 times. Food was very good, local wine was above average (and cheap) and the staff was always friendly and fun.

I was with a group of six so eating there four times equaled 24 meals, and we didn't have a bad meal in the bunch One of our group really liked the pizza, most got pastas, but I suggest the small local fishes (sort of like sardines) fired with onions. Keep in mind that two people can easily split most of the dishes.

This is one of the few restaurants in Positano without a view but the food, wine, service and reasonable prices more than make up for it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NatchitochesTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    856
    445
    111
    39
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Saraceno D'Oro for my Sara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

While in Positano i wanted to take my wife Sara out to at least one very nice restaurant. The owner of the Inn we were staying at ,Carlo ,was quick to recommend Saraceno D'Oro and i found out later why.The place was very clean and orderly ,we really liked the atmosphere.The food was very good ,we both thoroughly enjoyed our meals.When it came time to leave,i found a very generous discount had been applied to our dinner bill,come to find out the owner of the restaurant was Carlos sister and she gave us the discount for staying at Carlos Inn.Very nice people.We hope to see them both again one day!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unexpected dinner serenade!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I went to Saraceno d'Oro on one of our last nights in Positano during our honeymoon and we had a GREAT time! The food is all very fresh, with an emphasis on local seafood. We had a great grilled vegetable appetizer, a seafood pasta, and then a giant grilled seafood platter to share - it was too much food at the end of the night, but everything was excellent. However, aside from the great food, the best part of the evening was the atmosphere. A traveling group of musicians (who seemed to be regular performers based on the staff's interaction with them) came in to sing some classic Italian songs for the diners - Volare, O Sole Mio, etc. Cheesy but fun. The night we were there, though, there was a table of Italians sitting in the back of the restaurant who joined in the fun. One of the men started singing along, and he sounded like a trained singer - he was so good the servers went and got the cooks out of the kitchen to hear! Everyone was having a wonderful time, especially the musicians, and it turned the whole evening into a very fun, intimate experience. Top it all off with a couple of limoncellos on the house, and it ended up being one of the most fun evenings we had on our honeymoon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CbusTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great pizzas and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Lovely friendly staff, high above the town, some of the best food of the week. We sat on the roadside tables, but you wouldn't have known it as we were so comfortable. Proper pizzas, and the best ravioli.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome service, great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Positano is expensive so to find a restaurant that served mains for €12-€20 is a great start. The food was excellent and worth the money and much more. The atmosphere as mentioned in previous emails is fun and homely thanks to the family run team. The wine list is really good and also well priced. We shared a pizza as an entree which was a little excessive to start with but excellent. And for mains my husband had the best seafood risotto he claims he has ever had and I had a simple and delicious Gnocchi with tomato, mushrooms and basil. Excellent. No room for desert so can't comment. The waiter who served us gave excellent wine suggestions, entertained us with stories and taught us the correct pronunciation of places and objects. The restaurant is curb side on the main road and doesn't have views but is very pretty and thoughtfully decorated. Sit inside if you want a little more privacy and peace and quiet. A local band pops by to play a few songs and yes they do want a tip, a few euros for some wonderful and talented local musicians is worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nflsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Saraceno d'Oro also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ristorante Saraceno d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing