We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit!”
Review of La Tagliata

La Tagliata
Ranked #9 of 86 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: La Tagliata is a family restaurant no fancy, we do not have menu a la carte but we provide our house menu for a fixed price of Euro 40 per persons,in the kitchen there are Mamma and Papa whom cook the typical dishes of our house menu: vegetables from the gardens ( parmigiana di melanzane, zucchini, egg- plants, beas,pea,salami, parma ham , ricotta, mozzarella etc..Trittico di pASTA ( three differnt kind of home-made pasta called also mamma's pasta than mixed and grilled meat .. Potatoes and green salad fROM our gardens ,, fruits of the seasons, mixED of home made desserts our house wine is included. However concering the wine I would like point here that we also have our wine list so it means that guests whom like have differnt wine can chooice and select from it , our list provide a vast range of the best and famous Italian wine . We also provide a free pick up in case you stay in positano area , we suggest to make reservation at least 10 days in advance thanks for your attention have a nice saty in Positano. PS: we also have lovely rooms in our famrhouse two detached small studios
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We visited La Tagliata after reading reviews about how nice it was and we weren't disappointed! The restaurant is located at the top of Positano so the views are amazing and the food was equally good. For 35 euros each we were treated to four delicious courses (antipasti, pasta, meat and dessert), a bottle of home-made wine and water. All the food was freshly made and each course was as delightful as the next. Definitely worth the slightly scary minibus ride to get there!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,723
    576
    225
    121
    131
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ceoliac friendly and delicious”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We ate at La Tagliata after a recommendation from our driver and hotel. This was the best meal of our entire holiday. All the food is fresh and largely grown in the restaurant garden (I also caught a glimpse of a few chickens). The view is spectacular, I would recommend arriving early to enjoy the sunset.

There is no menu so no hassle in decision making, plenty of variety and more food then you could possibly finish. Eating gluten free was easy "Io sono celiaco" on arrival was treated with "no problem" and amongst the other beautiful naturally gluten free dishes I was treated to the best ravioli I have ever had (yes including my pre diagnosis gluten filled days). I would love to go back to Italy just to eat here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“"It's Mamma's Fault!"”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Well, thank you Mamma is all I have to say!
This restaurant was recommended by our guide as well as by our hotel so we made a reservation (which I highly recommend). They have a bus that comes down the mountain to pick you up in downtown Positano. The bus driver can make this drive in his sleep but it is still harrowing to go up that mountain on a narrow road in the pitch dark of the night!
When we arrived, our group couldn't believe that we were still on earth because this place must be what heaven looks like - and we are all hoping we can get food like this in heaven too!
Pacing yourself is the key to an enjoyable dining experience at this unique restaurant. The food is all grown locally and cooked by "Mamma" and her crew. The local wine served with the meals was perfect too. Her son delivered each huge multi-choice course and when the 4th course came out with 5 different kinds of meats we all sighed. He must have seen the looks on our faces, "how in the world can we eat another bite?" On que he smiled and sweetly replied, "It's Mamma's fault." We couldn't wait to meet Momma! After the dessert course Momma came out to greet each table. She doesn't speak much English but she smiles and takes her accolades with grace.
This is an amazing "foodie" experience and one we will enjoy for many years as we remember "Momma."
Tip: Go to the 7:30 seating so you can see the sun go down over the mountain and make sure you get a seat in the upper area of the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Bay, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing meal, entertainment and value!!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have never posted a review on trip advisor, probably because we have never felt so passionate about an experience!! This place is a must go to if you are in Positano!! Firstly they pick you up at your hotel and return you for free and it's a beautiful drive up into the mountains of positano. Once you arrive the family that owns and operates the family business greets you with the warmest, kindest welcome. Then the tables- probably the best views in all of positano!! Beautiful. But then the food comes- briscetta, antipasto, then another course, then another course, homemade pasta!! Then Amazing beef, chicken. The dessert was all homemade and was the tastiest!! Mama was in the kitchen cooking, papa assisted and their adult son running the tables with other staff. The whole time they bring you bottles (yes more than one) of endless wine, sparkling water bottles and a glass of their homemade limoncello at the end of the meal. Several courses of the most tasty food, all homemade, and to top it all off we were there on a Tuesday night which is music night and a woman sang traditional italian songs with music and audience participation. It was like a huge italian private party with family and the best food you can imagine. And the bill- a price fix menu of just 35 European person. What an amazing deal. You get so much for such a small cost. Mama, Vincenzo, papa, all so sweet!! We highly recommend this place!! Natalie

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dinner in Positano”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Beautiful food in stunning location which is excellent value. The family trattoria has a set menu which is delicious with wine included.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Tagliata also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Tagliata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing