We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night well spent”

Ristorante Mediterraneo
Ranked #19 of 85 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Mediterraneo is a little family run restaurant where we will take care of our guests in a nice, romantic but unformal atmosphere. We try to keep traditional flavors and recepies as first of all we do like eating.Using fresh seasonal products, we like to cook fish specialties, vegetables and "al dente" home-made pasta, the same way our grandmas used to.The right location for pre-wedding lunch.It's mostly a nice place where you can sit, eat and drink well, discussing of art or listening to good napolitan live music. Enzo always organises art exibitions, books presentation, wine tastings and music evenings.
Bangalow, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A night well spent”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My friend and I dined here only a short walk from our hotel. We weren't disappointed, finding the service very good, and to top it off we were entertained most of the evening by live 'Italian' music. The food was good, not spectacular, but we went away satisfied, happy and replete.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    647
    269
    109
    43
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful time in Positano!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a great night at "Mediterraneo" in Positano. We stopped there for a late dinner and it was outstanding. I had "fiori di zucca filled with ricotta cheese" and "aneli di Nettuno", my friend had "gnocchi" and "grilled swordfish". The food was spectacular but the best was the enterteinment. The singer is really good and it filled our night with beatiful italian melodies. If you like a song, Piedro will know it, for sure! Bravo!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrankBostonBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“worth eating here.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was a pleasant experience with good quality food and good service. Traditional fare of predominantly pasta or fish. There was also a guitarist singing traditional Italian songs…and handing out tambourines to customers to play along... despite our initial apprehension, this added to the evening! We would go back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jec63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Keep walking and don't stop”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

During our 4 night stay in Positano we had noticed this place during a walk and we thought we could have dinner there.

The staff was extremely unpleasant, the waiters only smiled and laughed with 3 young girls ignoring completely the other customers. The staff also stopped just in front of the TV set for a while, watching football not paying attention to the fact that the customers couldn't watch the football.

When we have been served the wine, I tasted it and it was undrinkable, and when I said that to the waiter, he didn't say anything, he took the wine away without replacing it, without asking if we wanted something else.

The portions served were very small for a very high price: 16 Euros for a child portion of pastas, the pastas were not al dente but nearly row.

When the owner/manager finally came to inquire if we enjoyed our meal, we complained and he didn't charge for the meals. But as we were still hungry (and I am a slim woman, I don't eat that much), we went a little further up for a dessert and a glass of Preseco.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nadine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very friendly restaurant”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were three couples who stayed in Positano for a week and on our first night our landlord Matteo recommended Mediterraneo and made a reservation for us. The staff were all very friendly and made us feel at home. The meal turned into more of an experience than a dinner and we ended up eating there 2 more nights during our stay. On the second night there we were there we were entertained by Pietro who we learned also spends several months of the year in Phoenix. The food was very good but the atmosphere was even better and brought us back for more.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimyou0724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Mediterraneo also viewed

 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ristorante Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing