We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carmen and Paulo - Brazil - October 2011”
Review of Il Canneto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Canneto
Ranked #32 of 55 Positano B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Located a few minutes from Positano's center, Il Canneto offers a very gentil reception, simple and comfortable installations, excellent restaurant, good prices and a splendid view over the sea. Our room was large, tidy and very clean.The hotel also offers a private parking and is located close to a bus stop that facilitates the access of the guests to the center of Positano and nearby cities. We'd like to remark the attention given to us by Mr. Leo and his family during our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulo_costa_filho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2011

ROOM - We stayed in Room No. 3. Bedroom and private bathroom were very big for European standards with private balcony. Room was tidy, clean and comfortable. Daily service was done very well. Water pressure in the shower was not good, so you would have to have patience with that.

LOCATION - You have to remember that this B&B is located outside the town centre. If you like having everything at your doorstep, this is not the place for you. There is nothing around the B&B so you must walk or catch the bus to the town centre, bus costs 1.20 euro one way pp, bus stop right outside the B&B. Walk is 10mins (up hill on the way back, so we caught bus). There is no side walk to walk on so you have to be comfortable walking on the side of the narrow road with traffic going past you.

BREAKFAST - One thing we were disappointed with was the breakfast. We have stayed in a few B&Bs and enjoy them because of the breakfast. Breakfast consisted of - 1 croissant pp and a basket of small breadrolls with jams/spreads, and a coffee - they offered my OJ because I don't drink coffee. It wouldn't have taken much effort to serve at least cereal and maybe fruit which would have made a big difference.

Staff were helpful with our tourist questions.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank FijiTimeMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Very pleasant stay in a secluded comfortable guest house. Friendly atmosphere, surprisingly cool and neat, large room and bathroom. Leo and his family are excellent hosts. They just know what to do. Good connection by bus with the crowded Positano center, beach and marina. We'll keep a lovely memory. Grazie! Manuela & Noro

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norotours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

don't expect any luxury BUT: rooms are spacious and clean, the service is very nice and the view is wonderful (look at the picture with the view from our room!!)

the walk down to Positano is so romantic (go on the left when you exit the hotel, the way down to Positano is longer but the panorama you'll admire is certainly worth the effort)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Losfortunatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

we went to the amalfi coast for easter 2011. stayed at this gorgeous b&b. everything was just perfect. the b&b is very clean, quiet, and not far from the beach (by bus and walking). just outside there is the bus stop for the busses to amalfi and to sorrento.
People there have been very very nice.

Hope to go there again... SOON!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank berkeley86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

My girlfriend and I flew into Italy on the 1st of August, we rented a car and drove to the Amalfi coast where we took residence at the Pensione "il Canneto" for 4 days...As far as bang for your buck goes, this place is a shining star! If you are looking for super fancy and on the water..this place is not for you...But if you like a kind friendly family owned place with wonderful terrace views of the sea and valley with terrific food, then this IS the place for you. I am a person who requires air conditioning, and although the place does not have air conditioners, I must say that they are not required as the evening air coming off the water is wonderful and cool..

The food is terrific, if you want a menu with a big selection, then go to a restaurant. This place makes several terrific things a day, and that is what they serve...you only have to say "I'm Hungry, I want to eat." they will tell you what you are going to eat....and you are most certainly going to love it! Everything is fresh and made daily...nice coffee, beautiful sea food, and terrific pasta dishes. This place is located about 8 minutes outside the main center of Positano, it actually sits on top of the main zone of Positano, with a wonderful view of the valley below. Theres a bus that stops right at the hotel to take you into town, it comes every 15 minutes and is super convenient. The management will supply you with bus tickets, I think they give them to you for free, as I didnt see a charge for it, and we took this bus a few times a day...I can't stress how nice this place was....its definitely not for someone who needs all the bells and whistles though..but for us, it was perfect....

Also, to comment further on the food, it seems that most locals passing thru Positano stop at the restaurant/cafe at "il canneto" as there is always someone eating up there...Leo, the owner/manager doesn't speak the best English, but is an absolute sweet heart, and will try his hardest to get what you need..Hand signals tend to work best if you can't handle the Italian.

Thanks "il Canneto" for a wonderful escape! See you soon!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rickyexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

the food was fantastic, nice bedrooms and the staff was always very kind. it's a little far from the centre of positano but the bus stop is just on the other side of the road and they've also got private parking which is a great thing because in positano parkings are very espensive. by the way, price is also very good

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller_In_Time001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#11 of 38 in Positano
631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#14 of 38 in Positano
806 reviews
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
906 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Celentano Apartments Hotel
0.3 mi away
Casa Teresa
Casa Teresa
#33 of 55 in Positano
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Canneto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Canneto

Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 87, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range: £86 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The residence is located by the main road of Positano, probably at the most peaceful part of Amalfitanian Coast. Being close to the canyon and to the stream "la Cascata" brings more freshness to the rich vegetation of this oasis. It is easy to reach, avoiding the busy road to the centre of Positano and easy to park using our quests parking. The place is managed by the family and one can appreciate it seeing beautifully arranged garden and the most important is our cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Il Canneto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing