We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and charming setting”
Review of Ristorante Max

Ristorante Max
Reserve with
Ristorante Max is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 88 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Bronxville, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and charming setting”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

While sight-seeing in downtown Positano, we stumbled across this restaurant during the day. We walked in to view the menu and get a quick look. Menu looked great and the entire restaurant, both indoor and out, was so charming. We made a reservation and went later that night for dinner. We had a table in their garden courtyard. Beautiful ambiance with candles hanging from trees. I'll be honest, we ate here on our second night in Italy which was a few weeks ago and I cannot remember what we ate but I definitely remember loving it all and recommending the restaurant to others we met along the way in that area. The service was excellent. Definitely try this place when in Positano.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    201
    69
    38
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A beautiful garden and indoor restaurant, it does not have the views of Positano, but it is superior in its food, presentation and professional service. The wait staff was efficient and friendly. The atmosphere is more on the high end side and the wine list is extensive and somewhat pricey.
If you are looking for a higher end, inside place with fantastic food, this is your place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salcombe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Well located”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This restaurant is well located in the centre of town and has an excellent menu for a first evening in Italy. Food is excellent and service good. Seafood excellant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service and food in a lovely setting”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Max is one of the most atmospheric restaurants we have eaten in. It is in an art gallery and downstairs the restaurant is furnished with beautiful works of art in a baroque style. It also has a lovely outdoor courtyard where we ate. The service was excellent, as was the food. There was also a lovely little cat which sat at our feet and accepted the odd tidbit if we offered it (but equally made no fuss if people did not want it around them). We enjoyed our evening here very much.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Great food, great place, nice service..
A little more expensive than other places but services and food can tell you why.
I had the fish with potatoes, white local wine, profiterolles (i know is french) and loxal desert wine, couldnt be better...

Helpful?
Thank Renato A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Max also viewed

 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ristorante Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing