We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks spectacular, lacks some personality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Ranked #38 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Reviewed 1 November 2009

This hotel is too expensive as it lacks guest facilities but Positano is expensive generally so you need to pay lots to get somewhere special. There is a complimentary shuttle bus service dropoff/pickup downtown. Reception staff needed a bit of prodding to offer advice on local information. Very basic continential breakfast served on a tray in room/private balcony. No restaurant or room service for snacks but nearby shops and small fridge in room. Disappointingly the spa was turned off (they said because of rain!) which was the main reason we booked this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Marzoli Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2009

I am an expat living in Belgium, so I travel a lot. Staffs in European hotels are usually pretty rude and unkind, but the staff in this hotel tops them all. A staff in the front desk, a bold guy with an attitude, was extremely rude. I was traveling with 2 and 3 yrs old babies, and they charged 50euro for one child. Plus, don't forget your babies passport. Thye will give you a [--] hard time oif you do not have them for your babies. I say this hotel is a ripe off. here are a few things about the hotel. I strongly do not recommend this hotel at the price >100 euro.

Location: bad. Far from all the activities in Positano. You have to take a bus to go out for drink or eat. they run every 30min, so it can be pretty inconvinient. There are Best Western hotel, true 4 star hotel, which is located at a good spot with nice view.

View: not the best, but it is OK.

Staff: [--] rude. Do not even try to talk to them. I was about to leave the hotel, but they would still charge me any way, so I had to stay.

Breakfast: we got 3 pieces of bread and a cup of coffee. worst European breakfast ever!

Price: I paid 170 euro for a tiny room. You can get a lot better hotel in near Positano beach or nearby

Amenities: no restaurant, small bathroom, TV with no working chanel, noise hallway

This hotel will try their best to rip you off, especially if you are a foreigner. Avoid if you can.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shoshosho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoMarzoliresort, Direttore generale at Palazzo Marzoli Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear customer,

We are very sorry for your reclaim, but many of the things you mention are not accurate.

You booked a Double Room for 2 people and the day of your check-in you showed at the hotel with 2 children, this is the reason why we asked to pay for the baby, because it is no longer a reservation for 2 people but it is for 4 people.

A short walk from the Resort there are many: bars where you can drink, restaurants, supermarkets, shops, tabacchi and many other stores.

About the breakfast as you said you had 3 pieces of bread and 1coffee, we never saw a breakfast like this and we don't understand why you say the false.

In a nutshell there are people who travel and try to find defects for all, this review is not even worth to be answered.

Anyway,

Best Regards

Diego Marzoli

Hotel Manger and Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

My wife and I stayed there for our honeymoon. Hotel was fantastic. The service was excellent, quick, clean and friendly. They upgraded us to the room with the biggest terrace - the rooms are beautifully decorated, clean yet modern. Amazing shower! Breakfast was brought to our room every morning and they picked us up from Naples airport and left us back, very convenient as the journey takes 1 hour.
We can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sm05gm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 21 October 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Stayed here for a long weekend in October.

Plus points - the hotel building itself is lovely. Small, boutique feel, very clean and quiet. Above the centre of Positano, but the hotel offers a shuttle service down into town and there is a bus stop close by which means this is not an issue. Breakfast was included too, croissants, coffee and yoghurt.

Negatives - The customer service. My boyfriend had booked car parking in advance since parking in Positano is notoriously difficult. He had agreed a price of 25Euros per day with the hotel, not cheap, but the going rate. When we got there and were parked up, they said that the price had gone up to 40Euros per day since he had a Porsche. This was a shock to say the least and seemed to based on no rationale other than the fact that they believed they could charge more based on the make/model....? Our shock/incredularity was met by laughter/smirks on their part and the whole thing was very frustrating. After 15 minutes the argument was going nowhere and we settled on a compromise of 33Euros. I would like to warn others about this and would strongly reccommend anyone staying at the hotel either pays in advance for parking or ensures the hotel is aware of the make and model of your car in advance before committing to a price so they can not repeat the trick. The fact that the car parking was an ongoing scam was compounded by their insistence (which we refused) that we pay for the parking 'in cash' upon checkout! The whole thing left a nasty taste in the mouth and somewhat spoiled the experience of the stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLMFivepointone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Have just spent a week in the Palazzo Marzoli, a small hotel on the outskirts of Positano with fantastic views down to the shore. Don't be put off by the 777 steps to the beach, yes it is a long way but going down is easy and meanders in and out of the streets and houses. Going up is tougher but the hotel runs a free shuttle every two hours and there's also a bus stop right by the hotel. Breakfast on the room's terrace is a great way to start the day and well above avergae for an Italian hotel's interpretation of a continental breakfast. The staff are very friendly and helpful, even arranging for my wedding ring (that I managed to leave in the safe) to be sent to the next hotel we were staying at.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njwukofgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Good design, friendly owners that help us to parl our car in their garage for reason price, but..I booked the quadriple room and they offered to sleep on the couch, although there was second room. For open it they asked extra fee!! Be careful! On chekout we are not paid for it, just price for our room.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#8 of 38 in Positano
890 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#20 of 38 in Positano
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
I Giardini dei sensi
I Giardini dei sensi
#28 of 38 in Positano
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posa Posa
Hotel Posa Posa
#27 of 38 in Positano
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#14 of 38 in Positano
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Marzoli Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Marzoli Resort

Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 334, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Positano
#21 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range: £137 - £1,031 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Marzoli Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant boutique hotel Palazzo Marzoli is an old historic home of the late'' by an intimate 600 A charming resort, an alternative to the traditional hotels in Positano, which is a perfect blend of luxury, technology and ricercatezza.Ampi and light to spaces reserved for guest rooms, all with sea view with bed and breakfast.Il relay mode, in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, is furnished with taste and attention to detail: dominate the whiteness of the wall and blue ceramic tiles and complements '' arredo.Completamente renovated respecting its original architecture, as evidenced by the capitals of the facade and the portal'' s era, the Palazzo Marzoli resort is the ideal location to spend a holiday on the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palazzo Marzoli Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Marzoli Resort Hotel Positano
Palazzo Marzoli Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing