We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveller rating
179
87
59
36
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
179
87
59
36
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful view large room terrace stairs ferry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 422 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

This is a quaint hotel overlooking the Positano bay. We arrived in peak season so everything was very busy. We had two rooms each with balcony and jacuzzi - they large and the bathroom quite spacious. We had breakfast on our terrace in the morning and it was made to order. My wife had an omelette and I had croissant's and melon. The rooms if featured a multi-plug adapter that allowed for US type plugs to be plugged into their outlet. This I think is a brilliant idea because sometimes finding outlets for the iPhone and the iPad are challenging. The front staff well very helpful and one evening directed us to the club Positano restaurant which had a free shuttle. The service at the restaurant was excellent and the food very good. The next night, they provided a shuttle down to the harbor where we visited a restaurant. this cost €35 but considering the traffic and amount of people in Positano, it is not an unreasonable price. One has literally to drive down almost 2 miles of winding roads down to the beach and then take another road all the way back up to the hotel. The driver at the hotel, whose name was Agostino was extremely nice and after we called the hotel when we finished dinner, he was right there to meet us at the parking area. So all in all, I had a very pleasant stay with my family at this beautiful converted palace. We pre-paid everything through Italy luxury travel and there were no additional charges. The only negative feature was that some of the television channels were having signal reception problems which I reported to the front desk. Positano is extremely busy in July, so when really he arrives at a peak season with lots of people in a beautiful destination One other future travels need to be aware of is that Wi-Fi is an extra €10 a day. One has to have a PayPal account in order to pay for the Wi-Fi. However every restaurant in posit Tonto has free Wi-Fi.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Loubserpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 July 2017

The owners of this hotel ruined the entire experience of Positano for myself and my family! On 12th March 2017, I booked and fully paid for a quadruple room with sea view at Palazzo Marzoli Resort, Positano for a total of AUD$1606.24 to arrive 9th July 2017 for 2 nights. I received confirmation that the room was booked and paid for.
On 21st June 2017, I received an email from the hotel asking if I could possibly change my dates from 9-11 July to 7-9 July. I emailed back immediately to say that we are unable to change our dates as we have a full 4-week itinerary with accommodation booked and paid for and therefore have no flexibility to alter dates.
On 30th June 2017, I received another email from them saying that, due to a technical problem in the bathroom, they are unable to accommodate us for our booked dates of 9-11 July…(10 days away!) This, of course, is an obvious lie and excuse to cover up the fact that they had overbooked the hotel – an inexcusable practise undertaken by greedy, self-centred, irresponsible hotel owners.
After several further emails in which I explained that we are travelling with my brain-injured daughter who suffers from anxiety amongst a range of other problems and that this situation would cause much distress to our entire family group (2 additional rooms had also been booked and paid for), they continued to deny our fully paid booking and proceeded to book us into a filthy, old, dilapidated hotel with no mention of a refund or compensation. The '4 star hotel' they booked us into only had 4 stars because it had a pool. The rooms were disgustingly dirty, old, uncomfortable with a tiny bathroom - certainly not what we'd booked and paid for. And the room rate at that hotel was one third of the price we paid. They refused to refund the difference between the 2 rooms even though we approached them and asked for it.
The attitude of the owners (a family business) was unacceptable and uncaring and you would be doing yourself a complete dis-service by booking this hotel. It is the WORST service I have ever experienced from a hotel ever and I have travelled extensively all over the world.
There are plenty of other beautiful hotels in Positano - DO NOT BOOK THIS ONE!!!
The photos attached show the room that the owners of Palazzo Marzoli booked us into after accepting our booking and payment of over $AUD800 per night! And have not refunded us the difference.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
14  Thank FamilyTravels169
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russo10, Direttore generale at Palazzo Marzoli Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Customer,

We would like to clarify some points in your review.

Due to a technical problem in the bathroom of your room (which may happen), we had to move your booking in another hotel.
Sadly, problems can happen in every hotels of the world.

You left 2 comments by writing false things about our hotel and our Staff, having never entered in our hotel, so you cannot judge anything about our hotel.

You have also posted a photo of another hotel (which has now been canceled) by selling it for ours, and there has been a complaint against you for diffamation and for post false photo of our hotel on internet.

Yours Sincerely.

Palazzo Marzoli charme Resort, Positano
(Luxury Exclusive Rooms & Suites)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile


For a 4* hotel in one of the most beautiful places, I could not believe the poor standard of service and hospitality we received...in particular also since we booked the best room in the hotel...and paid accordingly!

1) We requested a pickup from the ferry port and the receptionist told us to walk despite the hotel being 100metres above sea level (with 2 suitcases also!!). Instead we had to pay a taxi to take us!

2) Having booked the jacuzzi suite we asked the staff how to use it (it was far to hot)..after calling 5x to reception someone came but did not have a clue...instead they flooded the balcony due to making the jacuzzi overflow! This was at 11pm at night - so we disnt even get to use/enjoy it!

3) They charge for Everything! At nearly €600 per night B&B would expect all breakfast items to be included...but no! If you want some ham or cheese to go with your eggs and one small slice of bread you have to pay! Likewise if you would like a glass of fresh orange instead of the concentrate... I sound like a snob, but if its available and you are paying the above mnetioned price, it should be included!? Even wifi you have to pay for....

4) Very noisy hotel next door (wedding was on) meant we had a poor nights sleep! Not the hotels fault but was another annoyance to add to the poor hospitality.

5) Front of house staff were unfriendly and rude - did not create a nice atmosphere at all. In fact they made us feel very unsettled.

6) On checkout we asked for facilities to wash and change. We were offerred a toilet and a tap at the base of the wall on a terrace. We asked for a towel to dry with and they refused saying we had checked out. As a human this is appawling - how anyone could treat another person in that way is beyond belief. And we were PAYING customers.

7) This was the final night of our honeymoon and staff did not attempt to do a single nice thing for us to make our stay memorable - which was the case at the previous hotels we stayed in!

8) Aside from service did I mention the used earbud on our bathroom floor and the sink that didnt drain!? Not the standard of a suite I would say!

At checkout we also witnessed another distressed family from Australlia who had fully paid for a roon who had been moved to a hotel down the road away from thieir family. The reception staff were disrespectful, unhelpful and dismissive of the family who were clearly in distress. They had fully paid and the hotel staff would not refund them. To say the lady and man behind the counter were rude would be an understatement. Whilst complaints are one thing

Easily THE WORST hotel and experience i've ever had. Would not recommend at all. AVOID AVOID AVOID

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
11  Thank Sherpa316148
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russo10, Direttore generale at Palazzo Marzoli Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Customer,

We would like clarify some points in your review that are Absolutely false.

It's normal that a hot tub is hot, since it's called HotTub, every guests that we have wanna have a Jacuzzi Hot.

Breakfast is included there is no extra charge to pay.

Our staff is looking forward to meeting all of our customers' requests, and is kind to everyone.

You have written a lot of false things, the bathroom in the reception is a complete classic bath.

This comment is part of the person who wrote the other negative comment, just for the satisfaction of leaving a negative review by inventing false things, but don't worry we see who will smile, the police will do their job.

Yours sincerely.

Palazzo Marzoli charme Resort, Positano
(Luxury Exclusive Rooms & Suites)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Location: The room is located conveniently near the bus stop for the bus that travels up and down the coast. There is a decently long hike to take the stairs down to or up from the beach (my wife and I took the 10-15 minute walk every time but we are in reasonably good shape). Alternatively there is a shuttle or you can take a cab. I wouldn't advise the cabs as they are pretty pricey but if that doesn't bother you go for it.
Inside the hotel: The hotel is well kept and clean. There is someone at the desk 24/7 if you have any issues. When you leave they keep your key at the front desk (a common practice in the area) and return it when you come back. The view from our room looked out over the town and the ocean and was absolutely beautiful.
Breakfast: Breakfast is served in the room. It is basic but tasty and additional items can be added for an additional fee. You can choose the time it is served and we ate on the balcony table and enjoyed our beautiful view.

Room tip: Sea facing
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 199charlesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 June 2017

It's very pretty, but they nickel and dime you for being a nicer hotel. You have to pay 10 EUR/day per device for Wifi. On our last day, we told them we needed a taxi to go to the port with our bags. We didn't know that the taxis can't go all the way down, but they didn't say anything and charged us 20 EUR for a 5 minute ride for someone from their hotel to drive us. We asked about the jacuzzi as there was one on our balcony and they said it'd be 100 EUR to set it up for us for 1 night. The other hotels I've stayed at in Italy have been less expensive, better service, and don't charge you extra for everything. Wouldn't stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank dmullen427
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russo10, Direttore generale at Palazzo Marzoli Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Dear Customer,

We would like to clarify some points in your review.

That the wifi was for payment is clearly written on all booking web sites, so it seems weird to bring back this amazement here.

Regarding the taxi we clearly said to you that in Positano you can arrive by car until the Mulini Square and then walk until the port, the taxi fee is the standard fee for a taxi in Positano.

Finally, you have booked a Standard Double Room and we have upgrade you in a Suite with no any extras, but only for the use of the Jacuzzi there was an extra, because we can not offer you a jacuzzi use for the price of a stanrad room, which is why only for the use of the Jacuzzi there was an extra which you were not obliged to take.

We did not charge for any extras, but just for what it was.

Yours Sincerely.

Palazzo Marzoli charme Resort, Positano
(Luxury Exclusive Rooms & Suites)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews