We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveller rating
179
87
59
36
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
179
87
59
36
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful view large room terrace stairs ferry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 422 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

With a last minute booking, we spent a blissful few days in a gorgeous suite. The staff were charming and couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast - ordered the night before - is delivered to your room to eat on the balcony overlooking the bay. Fresh fruit costs extra though. The word resort in the name is an exaggeration. This is just a very nice hotel with a rooftop hot tub. The hotel offers a shuttle service to the beach otherwise take a 25 minute walk down a great many steps with beautiful views. Conveniently located 100m from one of only main bus stops in Positano. Wifi is not - as on google - free but €10 a day for one device at a time only. I would have given 4 stars had this (and fresh fruit at breakfast) been included in what is quite a high priced hotel.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank AnneFromTwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palazzo Marzoli R, Direttore generale at Palazzo Marzoli Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Guests,

Thank you for stay with us at "Palazzo Marzoli Resort in Positano".

It was a pleasure have you here with us as our guests.

That the wifi is for payment is clealry written on every websites of bookings.

We hope to have you here with us next time.

Yours Sincerely.

Palazzo Marzoli charme Resort, Positano
(Luxury Exlusive Rooms & Suites)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

If you arrived in Positano by boat, use the porter service to take your bags to your hotel.

This hotel is not central, which we knew when we booked, and didn't mind the walk into town and either caught the local bus back or if the timing was right we would use the hotel shuttle (van).

We arrived about 2pm and our room was not ready so they showed us to the outdoor lounge area on the first level. We asked for a drink and chose a coca-a-cola each. Little did we realise that they cost €10 each!! They cost €8 from the menu but they charge €2 to deliver it to you.

I am not sure why they use the term "resort" in the name of the hotel as there is nothing 'resort' like about this hotel.

You have to put for wifi at the hotel, the only time we had to pay for wifi on a 3 week trip in Europe. Even though we paid, we then had to call reception a couple of times before we could actually get the wifi working.

They have a room service menu which is provided from external to the hotel and is expensive.

Breakfast is served in your room and is very average. They offered scrambled eggs, which is one scrambled egg shared between 2 people and 2 slices of bread stick. Worst breakfast offering of our whole trip to Europe.

Everything is Positano is expensive and this hotel is no exception.

If we ever come back to Positano we would probably just visit for the day and stay in Sorrento where hotels are much nicer and cheaper.

The bedroom was quite small and the bed was very hard and uncomfortable. They shower was a half normal size shower and very hard to move about in.

We would never stay at this hotel again.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
7  Thank Curfew156
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russo10, Direttore generale at Palazzo Marzoli Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Guests,

We woul like to clarify some points of your review.

As clearly writen in every websites the check-in is from 15:00pm.

When you order something like the cola-cola or other you see the menù with all the prices, we don't understand why you before order something and after complain about the price if you have already seen on the menù.

Our High-Speed wifi works very good.
Also that the breakfast is served in the room is written in every websites.

If you looking for something cheaper you do not have to go in Positano or Amalfi Coast but in some other places, we have not called you to come in Positano, you have choosed to made the booking in Positano.

Yours Sincerely.

Palazzo Marzoli charme Resort, Positano
(Luxury Exclusive Rooms & Suites)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Our experience at Palazzo Marzoli… well, where do we even start

My girlfriend and I planned a week long trip to the Amalfi Coast and found this hotel to be a little expensive, but since we were booking it just two months before, there weren’t many good options available. So, this why we went with Palazo Marzoli in the first place.

We got to the hotel super excited since the views on the way there really were breathtaking. As we arrived, we were greeted by the owner of the hotel (an elderly woman) and her helper. Both did not speak English (orSpanish) just Italian. A second woman soon came along and took us upstairs to our room. The room we were assigned looked confortable, it was very spacious, and had an amazing view. She took us around the room (which was to our surprise larger than we imagined) and soon left.

About half an hour in, we got a call from the front desk, telling us we were given the room as an “upgrade” and that the following day we had to change to the room we paid for. That right there, was a real pain, since we preferred to be in our assigned room instead of moving the next day (of course they didn’t have our room available, which is why they told us we had gotten an “upgrade”).

So, the next day we moved, to a much, much smaller room, with the same view.

Before I start with the negatives, the hotel is very clean… which for us, is a vital aspect when we are traveling abroad.

Ok… so what did we think about our 5 day stay at Palazzo Marzoli?

1. The hotel is more like a three star hotel, and the word “Resort” doesn’t really go with what they offer to their guests.
2. It is very, very much overpriced.
3. Breakfast is horrible, they offer pastries, yogurt, juice and coffee delivered to the room every morning. The whole tray is just wrong… but the coffee, the coffee was the worst. It really tasted so bad that we had to go buy coffee elsewhere every morning.
4. They charged 10 Euros per device a day for Internet… I think this is pretty self-explanatory. Expensive and ridiculous.
5. Not to mention the price for parking… 25 Euros a day… crazy.
6. Next up…our bathroom… we had many issues here. First, it smelled really bad all the time (as if there was something in thesewer). The hairdryer, which was from the 90’s… was cold air only, and when asked what was wrong with it… we got a long explanation about how in Italy the law for hairdryers was that they couldn’t be hot… because it was a hazard for kids. (hmm?)
7. The staff is not friendly at all, not to mention that only one of them speaks English. They don’t even try to make an effort in smiling or even asking if everything is ok or if we need something. Nope, that was not happening.
8. The AC turned off during the night… we have no idea why… it just did.
9. Last but not least.. checkout. The night bellman had to literally wake the owner up for her to check us out… besides the fact that she didn’t speak or even understand English… she didn’t know how to use the POS machine. Every time she tried to make the transaction… she was so slow, that it restarted over and over again. After many tries, and a lot of time wasted (20+ minutes)… she finally did it and most importantly, we finally got to leave this place!

In conclusion, we would not recommend this hotel! There are much better locations, prices and people in town than Palazzo Marzoli!

They are so bad at customer service, that I’m sure they will respond this review and deny all these statements as they did many other ones!

Date of stay: September 2017
5  Thank GabrielB152
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palazzo Marzoli R, Direttore generale at Palazzo Marzoli Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Customer,

Do you think that we answer the review denying? as far as your writing is clearly false.

At our hotel all the front desk staff speak English perfectly, if there are no people who speak English as we answer to this review in English?

Your reservation was for 1 Comfort Room with sea view, the first day we gave you free upgrade to a large suite, then the following day we said you would have had the room you booked, instead of say thank you you will complain for it?

That wifi is for payment is clearly written on all booking sites, how do you be surprised now?

Additionally, for you the parking at Euro 25.00 is expensive?
Other Parking in Positano takes over than Euro 35.00 per day, it is a very normal price for Positano and Amalfi Coast.

The AC and phon works perfectly.

We do not see any real problem, but only minor problems are overwhelming complaints about you for paying.

Yours Sincerely.

Palazzo Marzoli charme Resort, Positano
(Luxury Exclusive Rooms & Suites)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We booked a "suite" for just one night, as we had to leave our other hotel in Positano due to prior bookings. The advertisements made it seem as thought the hotel was within easy access to the center of town, and that it featured a spa. While there is a friendly shuttle that goes down to town three or four times per day, you cannot feasibly walk to town, or even see it from this location. There is no spa, but evidently they can have someone come to give you a massage.
Our room was quite expensive and had it's own hot tub. The inside of the hot tub was coated with a very smelly grit. I have yet to get this smell out of my swimsuit.
Staff was not unfriendly, but they were not particularly warm or helpful. They were nice, but my other experiences in Italy were so much more intimate that this place felt impersonal. The location way up the long hill was a surprise and I felt kind of trapped; I wanted to be able to walk up and down to town at will and you really can't do that from here.
You do get road noise, but it isn't awful.
The décor was pretty nice, and the room was quite comfortable. But all in all, I don't think it was anywhere nearly worth the price.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kennis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russo10, Direttore generale at Palazzo Marzoli Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Customers,

As you writing here is not true and we don't understand why you write things that are not true.

Our shuttle is available 5 times a day for the beach (not 3).

The spa is in the hotel, but you never asked.

We never received complaints from you about the tub or other.

Also our hotel is located along the main road, with plenty of free space, where you can freely walk up and dowm.

What you write is absolutley not correct.

Yours Sincerely.

Palazzo Marzoli charme Resort, Positano
(Luxury Exclusive Rooms & Suites)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

It is difficult to find words to describe the horrendous nature of our experience but I will try. We booked and prepaid for 4 nights via Travelocity. After traveling for almost 18 hours we arrived in the early evening only to be informed by the front desk clerk that our room would not be available and that they would be putting us in a hotel "nearby at the beach". We protested this but were told that we had no choice. We inquired about the spa and fitness center they had advertised and were informed that they didn't have either. They then put our bags in a car and drove us about 10 minutes away and told us that the only access to the hotel is walking for another approx 10 mins down a very steeply graded area with MANY (approx 850) steps- in spite of my informing them that my mother was in great pain due to impending knee surgery. He kept saying "it's right around the corner".. but it wasn't .We finally arrived at a vacant apartment by the beach where an older woman who barely spoke English demanded our passports. We resisted and were told that we had no choice but to comply as they would not refund our money. The accommodations offered were not acceptable nor what we paid for. We left and lugged our suitcases to a nearby restaurant where we booked another hotel (which only had one night available). As a result of their deceptive business practices, we didn't believe they would have the room available the next night as they stated. We ended up having to completely rearrange our trip and leave Positano early . What a nightmare !! Avoid this unethical establishment or book at your own risk of ruining your vacation. (Other reviews state same issues. These people should be ashamed of themselves.)

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
11  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russo10, Direttore generale at Palazzo Marzoli Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Customer,

What you write here is absolutley false.

You have made a reservation with an invalid credit card abd you have not provide us another valid credit card after several emails to you.

You have also come at our hotel pretendeted the room also if the reservation was cancelled, we have informded you and show you also on booking.com that your reservation was cancelled and strange you was surprise.

We have helped you to find another place to stay and we have suggest you a property on the beach in the center of Positano. (you was not forced to accepet, you can choose to go somewhere else), you have choose to go.

You also wanted to use the free message service but it is not possible use for free, we do not understand why you wrote here that we did not have massages.

And we have not written anywhere that we have the fitness room.

Next time we suggest you to provide a valid credit card details if you wanna confirm your reservation and not be surprise when you have the reservation cancelled.

What you write here it is only for write bad things.

Yours Sincerely.

Palazzo Marzoli charme Resort, Positano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews