We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Cooking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Fornillo

Il Fornillo
Ranked #26 of 84 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
248 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Great Family Cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a family run restaurant that serves great food in quality and quantity. We ate hear two of the three nights in town. We were not disappointed. Sitting out on the patio is a great treat watching people walk by and viewing the hillside.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlOjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    267
    110
    52
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful home cooking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

If you want a home cooked, authentic meal- dine here! The food is fantastic! We ended up dining here twice in one day since we loved it so much. The mussels (soup), spaghetti with cherry tomatoes, eggplant parmesan, and squid ink pasta, and margarita pizza were all delicious! All in all two great meals for a great price. They also have a wonderful view and serve great house wine :) A must try if you're staying nearby!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ashasumanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Views and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

This restuarant is situated higher up the hill in Positano so affords lovely views over the water. Has inside and outdoor dinning. The food was lovely and service was great. Atmosphere was created by a waitress who walks around talking to herself the whole time and yells orders at the staff. Would definately recommend for a relaxing, laid back meal when visiting Positano.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MelliiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“wonderful evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

i had taken 27 Australians for dinner here. the view was amazing and the staff where very friendly and attentive. the food was very flavorful and so much we struggled to get through it all. It was truly a wonderful night and the woman who served us was a wonderful character that entertained our party like they where family. well worth going to try.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ArnicaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for takeout!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We enjoyed takeout and a sit down dinner at Il Fornillo. The pizza is great. Really enjoyed the caprese as well. Very reasonable prices with a very friendly staff. A traveling band will visit the restaurant as well. Makes for a wonderful evening!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank agood1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Fornillo also viewed

 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Il Fornillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing