We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location, but that is all what it offers.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Caravella Positano
Reviewed 22 July 2013

You can never get closer to the beach. Everyday, you wake up looking out of the window in front of the beach with nice breeze. If there is no other negative, I would have given 5 stars here. The wi-fi (10 euro per day) only worked the first day (we stayed for 3 nights) so we had to use the wi-fi (free) at restaurants. You do not get house keeping everyday as it is apartment (that is what we were told, only once in 2 days) although we pay by the night. The ladies on the property do not speak much English, so it was difficult to ask for anything. To begin with, they are not around all the time, so it was difficult to find them whenever you need them.
However, the use of beach furniture in front of the apartment is free (you have to pay 12.5 euro per person for the chair at the beach), and it is nice to read, drink or sleep on your own terrace. You can walk to all the restaurants on the beach, pier for the boat, shops in a few minutes. So, we really liked the location, but I don't think we want to stay there again. Maybe for a different price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momwith4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva R, Direttore generale at La Caravella Positano, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2015

Dear customer,

You've written a lot of false things.
The wifi function perfectly, if thou have paid for one day, how do you expect this to work for another 2 days?

The beach club is not part of Caravella.
Infront of La Caravella there are: umbrellas, chairs and tables available to customers for free.

We hope to have you again with us in Positano as our guests.
Yours Sincerely.

La Caravella Positano Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for La Caravella Positano
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

My sister's family and my family booked la Caravella with Expedia for a 4 night stay in July. We requested apartments alongside each other and received email confirmation that this would be fine. When we arrived with the porters the "concierge" came out and instructed the porters to take my family to another property. No explanation was given to us.

The good news is the apartment we were taken to was delightful "Casa carola" much nicer than the dungeon that my poor sister was obliged to stay in. Nonetheless we were disappointed not to be near each other as promised and consider the customer service by both la Caravella and Expedia to be dismal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Hungryonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The pictures online made this "hotel" seem like an incredible experience, and incredible experience it was. The rooms are extremely small, all with the scent of moth balls. The woman who owns the rooms barely speaks english and she also doubles as the maid. We had to switch rooms during the first day because of complications and she said she needed an hour to clean it. Going into bed the first night we find filthy sheets covered with dirt and stains, a lone sheet covering the mattress along with another stained quilt as a blanket. The pull out couch is more like a 3 inch tall cot sitting on wood planks, with only a itchy burlap quilt as a blanket. We were also told that there would be laundry facilities and bikes to rent. Still have not seen any bike rentals and the so called laundry facilities is having Rosa, the woman who owns the rooms, personally wash your clothes for you. Furthermore, my whole family and I are completely disappointed by our stay and only wish we were better informed. The view is great, yes, but that does not make whats inside any better.

Room Tip: A tip? Save yourselves the money and stay somewhere else, ANYWHERE ELSE!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This place is perfectly located on the beach, you can fall asleep listening to the sound of the waves crashing on the shores. The room was spotlessly clean, with everything we needed to enjoy our stay including cushions for the furniture on the large balcony. I would call the decor rustic, which if you are accustomed to modern boutique hotel rooms is a bit of a shock, but still quaint and it grows on you.
Our main issue was the weather, which to be fair was not the La Caravella's fault, but I think if it was scorching hot rather than constantly raining our experience would have been much better.
Staff were helpful and friendly.
I think it's overpriced at 169 per night, but that's Positano for you!
You get a 10% discount in the restaurant next door.

Room Tip: We were in vista 1 and vista really is unparalleled. If you want to avoid the ubiquitous steps - ge...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sligoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Location is great, right by the beach and very close to shops and restaurants. The rooms were clean and spacious. We weren't aware that it was located in a pedestrian area. We were dropped off at the car park and got lost looking for the place (it being late, rainy & dark didn't help) as there were no signs directing to La Caravella. Also, there is no office/reception, and management was only contactable via phone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalinderK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We came on the ferry from Capri so we landed and a three minute walk later we were at our hotel (very easy to find!!). I knew I rather be close to the beach and we happily trekked up the hill at night for dinner and then back down to music on the rocks after dinner which is a two minute walk from the hotel. Rosa was an absolute delight !! She was so kind and made dinner reservations for us and what not. Yeah there's a bit of a language barrier but its amazing what you can accomplish pointing at things and acting out what you're trying to do (which always made rosa laugh). Rooms were clean, nicely decorated and charming! Bed was comfortable. Had a great view of the beach which was wonderful to wake up to. I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erinmh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

The residence is hard to find, walk down steep walkways and a lot of stairs. No car needed, local transportation was great. The residence is an old house on the beach, so you hear the ocean waves. Even in November it was sunny and warm. There no reception, so you need to figure out whose letting you into the apt. Or room you rented. Everyone in town was helpful and friendly. The residence was bare bones and a smell was consistent in the bathroom that made me sick, very much like sewer or drainage issues. The showers were either very hot or very cold. The bed was horrible. Again, the location was perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctdudette100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#38 of 38 in Positano
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montemare
Hotel Montemare
#25 of 38 in Positano
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Posa Posa
Hotel Posa Posa
#28 of 38 in Positano
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.5 mi away
I Giardini dei sensi
I Giardini dei sensi
#27 of 38 in Positano
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 38 in Positano
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Caravella Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Caravella Positano

Address: Via Rampa della Teglia 23, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Positano
Price Range: £157 - £583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Caravella Positano 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Caravella Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Caravella Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing