We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“THE Place to Stay in Positano”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Lara

Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Terrace
View from terrace View from terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Terrace
View from terrace
View from terrace
View from terrace
View of apartment block
Stairs up to the apartment
Entrance
Entrance
Entrance
Entrance
Terrace
Terrace
Lounge
Lounge
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bathroom 1
Bathroom 1
Bathroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bathroom 2
Bathroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Bathroom 3
Bathroom 3
Bathroom 3
Corridor
Kitchen/Diner
Kitchen/Diner
Kitchen/Diner
Kitchen/Diner
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Positano, Amalfi Coast, Province of Salerno, Campania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
5slrubin
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THE Place to Stay in Positano”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were so fortunate to be able to stay at Lara's beautiful apartment during our stay in Positano. The location was absolutely perfect - it really is only about 50 steps to the shore-line, and about half that to the main shopping area. Just the location alone is more than enough to recommend this place, especially for the price. However, the unit is incredible - especially compared to the so-called "four star" hotel we stayed previously. It's wonderful for a family - each BR is very comfortable with a queen or king bed; the unit is spacious and clean with bathrooms in 2 of the 3 BRs; the balcony is large and has a great view of the village and sea. Add in a newly remodeled unit with a full kitchen, fridge, washing machine, and wifi, and there is no better value you will get in the Amalfi Coast. Lara is a very attentive host and an outstanding resource for vacationers. The best compliment I could give is that this unit is so good I almost want to keep it a secret among family and friends.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
It was lovely to have you and your family stay at Casa Lara. I enjoyed meeting you and my dad had a lovely time talking to you. I'm pleased you also got to do the cooking class with my brother and the boat trip with my uncle. You certainly managed to do a lot in the two days you stayed at the apartment. I do hope you come back soon to visit. Until then take care. Regards from Lara, Peter, Gennaro e Salvatore
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendySask...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Apartment, absolute pleasure to stay there.”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

It was such a pleasure to stay at this beautiful apartment. Lara has thought of every detail and made us feel very welcome. It is very well equiped, pristinely clean, comfortable beds, ample towels, wifi etc.great washing machine, dishwasher. It was so easy to stay there right amongst little shops, close to restaurants, the beach and ferries. Lara had the basics there for us already including bread, jam, biscuits, cold water, prosecco,beer and more which was very much appreciated as we didn't have to go shopping on our arrival day. The balcony was great to have our late afternoon drinks and snacks and watch the world go by. There are steps going up to the apartment obviously and I would recommend hiring a porter to bring your suitcases to the apartment, I think that was 10euros, not sure now, but just makes it easier. Once in the apartment it's very, very easy and convenient to walk around as it is so close to the beach. The apartment is beautifully decorated in blue and white and has such a lovely ambience. Truly felt so at home there and wish we could have stayed for a month.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved everything about this property, it was fabulous!
Liked least: I just could not find fault, it was perfect.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2016
I was lovely to have you and I do hope you can come back and visit soon and stay longer. Take care. Lara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeandBa...
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
“The Perfect Place to Stay in Positano”
Reviewed 24 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Casa Lara in Positano was the perfect place to stay. This newly, wonderfully renovated three bedroom apartment was spectacular. It has three very large bedrooms with nice bedding, a huge well stocked kitchen, a large patio overlooking the beachfront piazza and a wonderful hostess. Thank you Lara for making our stay in Positano UNFORGETTABLE !! Ciao !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remodel and location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2016
Thank you, it was a apleasure to have you. I hope I can welcome you back to Casa Lara in the not so distant future. Take care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhornad1
Baldwinsville, New York
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“The perfect location to stay in Positano”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Recently, two couples booked a 10 night stay at Casa Lara in Positano. The plan was to use this as a base of operations for day trips to Caprl, Amalfi, Ravello, Sorrento, Pompeii and surrounds. The apartment is perfectly located looking down on the main piazza in Positano, only steps from the Cheisa del Santa Maria Assunta and the Spiagga Grande. It is at the bottom of the pedestrian stairway which descends from the westerly hillside palazzos and hotels overlooking the town. The walk to the beach, restaurants and boat dock is literally stairless, unique for this vertical town of many steps.

Our hostess, Lara Coprano was fantastic in helping us locate groceries, restaurants and wine stores. She works mornings down at the boat dock selling excursions, so she was always available to consult on restaurant reservations, car service, bus and boat schedules. She offered to make phone calls to schedule car pickup for our day trip to Pompeii and restaurant reservations in the evening using her Italian language skills that we lacked. Of course, one would swear that English was her first language!

The apartment was immaculate and very well equipped. Lara was so kind to stock the place with assorted staples including breads, wine, beer, water, butter, spices as well as napkins, TP, Kleenex, etc.

The three bedroom, two bath apartment was perfect for two unrelated couples. It would work good for three couples, especially if they were related, since one of the bathrooms would have to be shared. The kitchen was huge and we cooked a huge steak dinner one night with au poivre and porcini mushroom wine sauces...plenty of pots and pans, serving platters, etc.

The best part of the apartment was the huge outdoor patio overlooking the piazza. With room to seat eight, we ate most of our meals and played cards there at night. One night we had front row seats on our third floor balcony for a wedding party down below on the piazza and reveled in the music, dancing and local customs.

Considering that we were in a prime location not requiring one to negotiate stairs to get to the main attractions, we felt that our €100 per night per couple rental was a great value. We would certainly recommend to family friends and others. One of our best rips yet!!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2015
Hello,
Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure to have you. I'm glad you had such a nice time in Positano. I hope if you ever decide to come back and visit that you come and stay at Casa Lara, I'm sure I can find some other great places for you to explore. Take care, ciao.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger T
New Hartford
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ten Days in Eden, relaxation and fun here!”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The location was perfect. Everything was as advertised. Very spacious with a view of the Mediterranean and shoppers below. We spent our time on the porch area when home. A very good home base for ferry transportation to other sites on the Amalfi Coast.

Lara was an excellent hostess and provided us many suggestions on restaurants and places to visit. She arranged for drivers and other services when needed.
The area was beautiful and the people very friendly.
One word of caution. There are many steep climbs and steps. Not recommended for the elderly or informed.
We swam in the Mediterranean and enjoyed the beach

A trip to Pompei was a highlight. We also visited Amalfi, Ravella, Capri, Sorrento, and Positano itself.
We would highly recommend it. ".............................................................The food and wine were fabricated lous

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View of Mediterranean and plaza
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2015
I'm really pleased you had a lovely stay at Casa Lara and I enjoyed meeting you and sharing my favourite places with you. I do hope that you will come back and visit again. Ciao, Lara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sef-kentu...
Versailles, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect spot to enjoy Positano”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Casa Lara is in the center of Positano - on a square close to the beach. There were five of us sharing the property and we had plenty of room. Lovely views, close to all the restaurants, and shops. We had a driver from Rome and he dropped us off on the road - we walked down the main pedestrian passage and were met by the porters bringing our luggage. Lara provided a good orientation to the town and was available for questions. It is the perfect spot if you do not wish to negotiate the numerous steps it takes to get to many of other B&B's and hotels.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aandgp1
Derby
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Truly Positano”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My wife and I have been visiting Positano for many years and have mainly stayed at Le Agavi, which is an excellent hotel. However for this family holiday we stayed at Casa Lara which is a delightful apartment very very close to the beach, many affordable restaurants & passenger ferry services to Amalfi and Sorrento. The facilities have the warmth of a typical Italian home. Casa Lara is situated on the second floor at the end of a small square. The large tranquil balcony / dining area gives you a view of the square below and yet is shielded from vie by the beautiful Bougainvillea, Rose & Hibiscus plants. Lara ( the owner ) has a real gem here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balcony area
Liked least: Everything was good
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing