We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful surprise!”
Review of Santa Croce

Santa Croce
Ranked #33 of 86 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$39
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a wonderful surprise!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We traveled up the hill by city bus from Positano to Nocelle for the view and didn't expect much in the little town. But we stumbled on Santa Croce at lunch time and were very nicely surprised. It has great views over Positano, a friendly staff, and killer food. Don't miss the seafood pasta. Heavenly!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank goodeatsed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    105
    25
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely family restaurant, wonderful food”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Probably the best place around with fantastic views. It is in Nocelle, above Positano and you definitely don't want to miss it because in this full of tourists trap area, this is a wonderful hidden gam. Everything we ordered was great, especially the pasta ragu and desserts was heaven. Service was exceptionally great as well.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shoshi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
331 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Lovely staff and more great views”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

There are probably three ways to get here: via the Sentiero degli Dei from Bomerano, up the 1,800 or so steps from Positano or via the local bus. Tried all three and enjoyed them for different reasons (the views, the exercise or the white knuckle ride!). It made for a lot of effort to get to Santa Croce but the service was very pleasant and the food adequate. Even though this does not seem like high praise - adequate is one of the better adjectives I would use to describe my dining experiences on the Amalfi coast. The waiters were friendly and the place did have a native family dining alongside the tourists - so it must be doing something right.
Very glad to have taken the recommendation to try it but I feel certain that I must have missed at least one gem hidden in Positano!

Helpful?
1 Thank Pi31415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
145 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Our favorite Restaurant on the Amalfi Coast”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We walked the Sentiero Degli Dei for the second time in two years. It is a wonderful, easy hike with a rewarding lunch at Ristorante San Croce overlooking Positano. Joseph, the son of the owners remembered us from our last visit and was obviously proud to tell us about the new kitchen and viewing windows he had installed during the winter. We had a wonderful meal finished off with some limoncello.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheersfornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Land, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We popped in for lunch during our hike on the Path of the Gods. The view is just breath taking and the food was perfect. Wonderful way to take a break on the hike!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hwils002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santa Croce also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Montepertuso, Positano
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Santa Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing