We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Positano! You MUST read...”
Review of Le Sirenuse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Positano! You MUST read...”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We traveled to Positano for our honeymoon in July and it was the best decision. Le Sirenuse was 5 starts all the way! The people are fantastic, they all greet you with a smile on their face and are very attentive. If you need anything, they are all very helpful.

The Hotel Restaurant was amazing, breakfast and lunch were absolutely worth it. DO NOT EAT DINNER AT THE HOTEL. Overpriced, small portions and a real waste of a night in Positano. Breakfast - you get a large assortment of everything, cereal, breads, cheese/meats, pastries, etc, and can order omelets if you like. Everything was delicious, including the fresh mozzarella in the morning! Lunch portions were huge compared to the dinner. Try the seafood pasta (clams, mussels), one of the best meals I’ve ever had! Back to dinner at the hotel’s restaurant - everyone around us that night complained (we weren’t the only ones) and we left (several hundred euro) absolutely starving.

Our room had a partial view of the ocean and it was perfect. All the rooms are updated and very clean. The shower was amazing, but didn’t have a door so the floor got wet every time we took a shower. I think that might be just a European thing. The terrace was big enough to sit and look out onto the ocean.

It is expensive, but worth every penny! Check out the oyster bar and champagne bar - really wonderful views and great service.

Take advantage of their boat cruises – they offer different things like olive oil tastings, we went on the sunset night cruise before dinner. The hotel has their own wood boat (holds about 10-12 people and they served us wine/prosecco/cheese/meats/nuts, etc. What a perfect night on the water!

The pool was a dream – and one of the main reasons why we chose this hotel. It was big enough to swim and cool off. The chairs/cushions around the pool were large and comfortable. The wait staff at the pool were fantastic! They bring you water, nuts and olives as much as you want. They genuinely love their jobs and are truly attentive.

The exercise room was great and had plenty of updated equipment.

The location is perfect nestled high enough on the coastline. They have a back entrance/exit which cuts through the streets and get you to the beach faster. It’s a great walk – gets your legs burning, but the beach is not too far. We walked it every day - some days we walked down the streets and shopped. The people are All so friendly.

I would also take a cooking class at Max's Restaurant. I learned SO much. Great people, great food, great place to grab dinner! We went there twice and everything was fantastic!

I highly recommend making a reservation at La Tagliata for lunch/dinner. You arrange a pick up and drop off. The restaurant overlooks the coast line up in the mountains. Take a look at their website: www.latagliata.com/. We’ve been there twice already and you will NOT be disappointed. No menus, one set price, home-made wines, pastas, meats, fresh vegetables, everything made on premise. They just bring you plate after plate. You will not be disappointed!

Remember to tip!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LaurenCos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    86
    30
    13
    8
See reviews for
109
619
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 893 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

It is expensive, very expensive, yet worth every euro. Prices start at 500 euro – this for a room without a view. And who feels like foregoing the view when in Positano? You need to pay as much as 1,000 euro per overnight stay for a room with a superb view, but then you are also guaranteed a 5-star romantic stay of the most excellent quality.

Few places around the world will be able to match the romantic ambience of Positano; and Le Sirenuse compliments this location as beautifully as can be imagined – as were it caviar and champagne in one and the same mouthful.

The hotel staff are polite and charming as only Italians can be – when at their best.

The hotel spa area is top notch and staffed with professional therapists knowing their metier. Albeit not as in Thailand, the surroundings are still lovely – even though they have been kept in a more contemporary style. When staying at a hotel of this calibre, using the hotel facilities is a must – otherwise you will only cheat yourself out of a fantastic experience. When booking in advance, you will get 10% off on all treatments.

If you do not want to relax around the pool, the beach is only a stone's throw from the hotel. Here you can, among other things, enjoy a lovely pizza at one of the many beach restaurants; or you can go on a boat trip directly to Capri – alone, or on a guided tour.

It is difficult to find words describing how incredible this hotel actually is; and this from a 360-degree perception: encompassing everything from food, wine, rooms, ambience and service to the spa. So I think I will just let the pictures speak for themselves and round off by concluding that if you have the choice of giving the love of your life a huge diamond ring or a stay at Le Sirenuse, then the stay will always come in as a sure winner, as this will be remembered in eternity.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank fublife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I love love love this hotel! So charming, best service, amazing view, delicious food and a staff that really makes you feel special- thats it! I felt like a million dollar princess staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clagmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I honestly didn't know where I was going when I went to Positano, but everything about Positano is fabulous and Le Sirenuse is the queen Bee. Charm, sophistication, a spa to rival all spas, lemon trees galore... The Boat! With daily trips out the the sirens to swim, I had a blast at Le Sirenuse, so romantic, fun, happy, and views to rival any. San pietro was great to have dinner at, but it lacks the charm and happiness of Le Sirenuse.

Room Tip: I had a room with the postcard view, not sure if any others had anything less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RyFy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2012

One of the best hotels inPositano and Italy very pro staff a wonderfull palace the view from the restaurant and bar is amazing great place for couples.
10 out 10 Fantastic and great deco.
Loved it. :)
A must

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarjanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Just got home from 2 weeks in Greece/Croatia/Italy. Spent 4 nights in Positano at Le Sirenuse. It was fantastic. Absolutely first rate in every way. Great suite, beautiful pool area, fantastic breakfasts, incredible dinner. Very helpful and attentive desk as well as chamber maids and porters.

I can not find one single negative with the minor exception that car park was extra (at $1,500 per night to charge 20 or whatever it was seems a bit ridiculous) but tht is a very minor fine point. The hotel and Positano should be on everyone's bucket list...I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wall Township, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The hotel and our room was gorgeous! Staff were very accommodating and very nice. The restaurant was outstanding- amazing food, had a mandolin and guitar player sing at our table, great service. Breakfast was wonderful. The view and location were second to none! A wonderful place to spend our wedding anniversary! We'd go back in a heartbeat! Worth every penny, and then some!

Room Tip: Reserve a room with a full sea view. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.9 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 39 in Positano
838 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#14 of 39 in Positano
585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
870 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
1,231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#4 of 39 in Positano
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Sirenuse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sirenuse Hotel

Property: Le Sirenuse Hotel
Address: Via C. Colombo, 30, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#8 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#15 Family Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Sirenuse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Sirenuse is a charming family owned hotel located in the heart of Positano. Opened in 1951 by the Sersale family who converted their summer house into a hotel with 12 rooms. The hotel has grown since then with the acquisitions of two neighboring houses to 59 rooms and suites. Le Sirenuse today is still run and managed by the Sersale family who ensure the same atmosphere of warmth and intimacy remain, while breathtaking views of the Mediterranean and the village of Positano make this an unforgettable place to spend a holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Destinology, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Sirenuse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Sirenuse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing