We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star”
Review of Le Sirenuse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Now this was a difficult review to write. Not sure whether to give it an average or v good rating. We stayed here at the end of September this year? The location was ideal, for us. 5 min walk down into the hub of Positano and its shops and beachside restaurants and harbour. We had a Superior Deluxe Sea view room on the 2nd floor with lovely views of the dome of the church and the whole town and the sea. We had 2 small balconies and a large living area with sofa and chairs, enormous bathroom and lovely bedroom area. Being on the 2nd floor was one floor down from the restaurant and as we were not by the pool it was peaceful and a 1 min pop up the steps to breakfast and dinner, once again ideal. Fabulous unobstructed views from the 2nd floor too.
We had lunch at La Sponda. Fabulous pasta dishes and local wine or champagne. Dinner was incredible. The best John Dory I've ever tasted. Hubby had veal which he said was excellent. The sommelier was extremely helpful with the choice of wine. The restaurant and the whole of Positano is just incredibly beautiful at night.
The pool and sunbathing area is right next to the restaurant which was fine up to a point. The pool wasn't too cold by the way in fact perfect temperature and stunning.
The negative parts were as follows: on arrival there was a good 25min wait for luggage that got stuck somewhere down in the harbour area but at least it arrived! The room was lovely but it smelt a little peculiar. Still not sure what it was exactly. The sunbathing area and pool was great but so many 'pop'-in visitors to "just use the toilet" or a "drink" got a little much. By 5 pm the tables by the pool and bathing area had become gridlocked by non residents which is great but it just looked and felt ostentatious !
We used the gym once which was very nice but they need air-conditioning desperately. Running for 25 mins was difficult as it was so muggy in there.
Sadly the following nights dinner (which must have been a completely different kitchen), presented me with a different John Dory dish ( I ordered the same dish as previous night as it was gorgeous). Dried out and accompanied by undercooked 'side orders'. I eventually got my meal 1hr later, 45 mins after my husbands. Not the John Dory but a spaghetti dish as the fish I was told to redo would take 40 mins. After 35 mins I asked the maitre d about my dish, he never came back to report where it was! 10 mins later I asked the other maitre d (who were both delightful and not their fault) and he did come back. It seemed the chef was annoyed! Finally the pasta did turn up. It was very good. Everyone was apologetic but for La Sponda and its reputation as world class this was poor.
The following morning for breakfast I ordered toast but after 25 mins I thought it was Groundhog Day again....... After 40 minutes we left, with our delivered to our table, newspaper (nice touch). apparently the toast was being 'freshly made'. Quite frankly I just wanted a normal piece of hot toast to have some of the yummy jams on but it never happened! Complacent or arrogant or just dated? It was nice but something was missing here at the hotel but adored Positano!

Room Tip: You still get fabulous views and peace and quiet in rooms away from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SMS39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

451 - 457 of 983 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

It is very hard to imagine how this hotel could get any better! From your newspaper waiting for you at breakfast, all staff knowing you by name and the way you like your morning coffee they get it right every time. The view is just sensational overlooking Positano harbour and only 140 steps to the waterfront which actually for this village is pretty good. From breakfast to dinner the food service is outstanding, great quality and just delightful. Another great plus factor is you can drive to the hotel and park, a major benefit for the Amalfi. The hotel itself has a certain calm about it and when combined with the furnishings and plants works so well that your days just seem to disappear. And Yes, I have read other reviews about the cost but all I can say Is that it is worth it as it is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in!!!!

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

While other reviewers have complained that this hotel is expensive, we thought it was worth it. It is expensive but it was also one of the highlights of our honeymoon. The concierge went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and to direct us to fun activities. For example, they organised for us to hire a motorbike and gave us directions, to among other things, an out of the way restaurant in Nerang Bay which we would never have otherwise found. We loved the boat trip which was very relaxing. Breakfast was excellent, situated in the restaurant with a great view and dinner in the restaurant was magnificent. So basically if you are worried about the price then perhaps you should not stay at the hotel but if you can afford to treat yourself we thought that it was well worth the cost. I did notice that the rather small, but lively pool does get crowded.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brush d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is, by far, the most wonderful place I've ever stayed. I don't even know where to begin in describing it because everything was so magnificent. From the minute you arrive you enter a lovely, tastefully decorated villa built into the hillside of Positano. The decor is in fact exquisite - not necessarily opulent, but refined and utterly beautiful - a well curated mix of antiques blended together to bring you beauty, taste, refinement and luxury. You are treated equally as well, as the service follows the same pattern. The bedrooms are as lovely as the rest of the property and the view overlooking the Mediterranean is unparalleled. Do not miss it! Breakfast on the pool terrace is delightful, the proximity to the town is perfect (walking the meandering streets of the town is available right outside the front door) and drinks on the terrace as the sun goes down over the sea was the highlight of our visit. Even the music playing was perfect!

Room Tip: Pay for the sea view. It's worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LittleWing59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The rooms on the second floor below the outside dining area on the third floor
are very noisy because the metal chairs scrape on the floor above the rooms when they are moved This happens during the dinner hours as late as 11:30pm and begins early, like 6:15am in the morning. If you are a light sleeper do not stay in these rooms. Otherwise the hotel was perfect including the spa where we had great massages. The staff is terrific and the breakfast sumptuous.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This charming hotel is awesome. We have visited 3 times and canhardly wait for number 4. The view from the hotel of the sea below are spectacular !!!. The best thing I can say is that a famous Dermatologist who never goes in the sun made this comment to after he took my advice and made the trip ":I cannot wait for tomorrow in order to see the same views that I saw today while sitting in the sun !!!
The town of Positano and the hotel on the Amalfee coast is a popular place for corporate CEO's. Once you go you will definitely go back. It is paradise on earth !!!!

Room Tip: Any room on the third or fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caboken1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

There are one or two aspects of this Hotel which are not ideal but after staying 5 nights here we concluded that it has so many redeeming features that it would be churlish not to give it a top rating. We had previously spent 5 nights at the Caruso in Ravello.
Part of the problem was that we had been very spoilt at the Caruso which has much more space and an infinity pool and view which is one of the best in Europe.
We were booked in to a Junior Suite which was a large room with a sitting area and a small balcony with lovely views over the town and sea. The balcony was somewhat smaller than we expected (we had an enormous one at The Caruso) but it was big enough to sit out on and the room itself was beautifully and tastefully decorated and the bed was very comfortable.
We were on ‘Breakfast Plan’ and the buffet breakfasts were superb, with an excellent choice of cereals, bread, fruit etc and a ‘cooked’ option where basically they will provide whatever you want within reason.
A major plus point is the Hotel’s ‘Calendar of Events’ which comprises different activities each day such as visiting the fish market with the Sous Chef, Stretching classes and Yoga, Olive Oil and Wine tasting. The highlight is twice daily boat trips along the Amalfi coast on the Hotel’s converted wooden fishing boat. Most of these activities are complimentary. Because we were in a premium room we also enjoyed a complimentary trip along the coast on the Hotel’s Riva Aquarama speedboat. This was awesome.
We only ate in ‘La Sponda’ restaurant once but we had the best meal of our entire holiday here; the quality of the food and wine was beyond fault as was the service. Sure it is expensive as some reviewers have pointed out, but in my view no more than equivalent quality restaurants in London. And where in London would have an outlook and ambience like this?
The service level in the hotel and restaurant was excellent in all respects and at all times, and overall the staff were professional, efficient and friendly.
The only criticism we would make is, as alluded to above, the pool area is rather cramped with sun beds very close to each other and the pool is rather narrow where you have to choose your time to do a few lengths. I would like to be a fly on the wall if everyone came out to use the pool facilities at the same time! We counted about 35 sun beds against a potential maximum clientele of well over 100 people. It can also be a bit noisy because you are right next to the pool and lunchtime diners. That said, there were no problems with availability while we were there and in the context of taking the rough with the smooth, there was plenty of smooth to compensate for this one drawback.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a balcony and view over the town and sea. If you can afford it, I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.9 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
900 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 38 in Positano
913 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 38 in Positano
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Sirenuse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sirenuse Hotel

Address: Via C. Colombo, 30, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#8 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#15 Family Hotel in Positano
Price Range: £419 - £1,594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Sirenuse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Sirenuse is a charming family owned hotel located in the heart of Positano. Opened in 1951 by the Sersale family who converted their summer house into a hotel with 12 rooms. The hotel has grown since then with the acquisitions of two neighboring houses to 59 rooms and suites. Le Sirenuse today is still run and managed by the Sersale family who ensure the same atmosphere of warmth and intimacy remain, while breathtaking views of the Mediterranean and the village of Positano make this an unforgettable place to spend a holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Sirenuse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Sirenuse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing