We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights of our honeymoon and loved every minute. Couldn't fault anything. Very clean with lovely gardens, pool area and courtyard. Would recommend to anyone. Great location right in the heart of the town.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wombats23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,041)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Palazzo Murat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

My wife and I travel quite a bit. We recently stayed at this hotel (Oct 22--26th, 2013) and had a wonderful time! This hotel is an easy walk to the beach (for trips to Capri) or the great restaurants that have a view of the water. Our room was luxurious: large, airy, a garden view and quiet! The staff were all helpful and cooperative! They made us feel that our questions were important to them.
There are lovely restaurants there; our favorites were: Chez Black (on the water) and La Tagliata and Il Ritrovo. These last two will pick you up (free shuttle) at a church---3 minutes walk from the hotel. They ALL had superb food!
There are wonderful shops located within a few minutes walk; some art galleries aare pricey---but looking is free...
I recommend this hotel highly; I also think that if you come down to Naples by train, you should contact Sasha Bianco for one of his cars/drivers for the trip from Naples to Positano (it cost us 110 euros + a tip) and was well worth it!
Go!! Enjoy this great place!!
Warm regards,
Bob and Gladys
Port Washington, NY USA

Room Tip: We had a garden view and total quiet! This place is wonderful!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nyvoice98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

There is a reason this is one of the top rated hotels on TA, with almost zero negative feedback. It is truly world class in a world class destination. Imagine what it takes to maintain such a high rating when your clientele is often some of the more demanding type with higher expectations - this hotel doesn't disappoint on any level.

The service is outstanding, with a wonderful outside dining area used for a leisurely breakfast. The grounds are also fantastic for a late night drink where they will make your favourite cocktail before bed, or a pre-dinner aperitif before you go out to visit any one of Positano's amazing restaurants - that is if you have decided not to dine at the in-house restaurant which is very good. We enjoyed a late evening drink a couple of nights with the sound of a street singer a few blocks away singing classic Italian songs accompanied by his guitar.

We stayed in a special superior room, which was at the far end of the 'new' section. It had an enormous and private terrace, and we were very happy here. The hotel seems to charge more for the older section of the hotel, but I can't imagine it could possibly be any better than the room we stayed in. It was light, roomy, excellent bed, wonderful views. I would definitely recommend this room to anyone.

Positano can be expensive and let's face it, you don't go here on a backpacker budget. But there are so many hotels who look to cash in on the location without providing the substance. This hotel is not one of those. It is worth every penny, and is class, class, class.

Room Tip: Go with the special superior in the new section. Great terrace with privacy.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 1800hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

What a great time we had at the hotel. The staff were wonderful. Polite, helpful, and fun. Special thanks to Stefano and Salvatore who helped us with everything that we wanted. I would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning in the future!

Room Tip: Get a terrace on the second floor and enjoy the ocean views!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Probably one of the best hotels in Positano. Great location. Great value, great food, large rooms, in the middle of everything in Postiano, staff is very helpful, rooms are full size, great restaurant. Just what everyone would want in Postano.

Room Tip: Get a room with a terrace, not a garden room. Off season rates are great!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 943jefferys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

A very atmospheric hotel with a gorgeous garden in which breakfast and the restaurant (Al Palazzo) are located. We stayed in the heritage wing: the room was very comfortable with a cute terrace with sea glimpses, but required negotiating a lot of stairs to get to it.

The hotel has an excellent location lower down in Positano, not very far to the beach and restaurants. It's also a short walk to the central piazza from which buses and taxis leave.

Breakfast was excellent - fresh and delicious. Towels are provided to take to the beach, thoughtfully packed in a beach bag. Rooms are serviced twice daily. A big downside, however was lack of wifi in the room despite it being advertised. It seemed to work in the lobby.

A great way to travel to/from Positano (and Amalfi) is to catch the fast train to Salerno, walk straight out of the station towards the sea (10 mins) and catch the ferry to your destination. The magnificent views of the coast are well worth it, plus it is probably quicker than car or bus from Naples or Salerno.

If you are planning a trip to the Amalfi Coast, bear in mind that virtually everything (hotels, restaurants, ferries) shuts down from the end of October to April, with a brief re-opening around Christmas. This applies to Capri too. If you did find a hotel open during this period, not much else would likely be available.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank Mosquito Magnet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I stayed in two hotels in Positano and can offer some perspective.

Some hotels are actually in town, and as soon as you step out the door, you are where tourists want to be, surrounded by restaurants and shops. Look for an iPad map, and find the part of via Cristofero Colombo that forms a sharp delta, almost a keyhole. The area inside is the town of Positano, Murat is in this group, and is really very central.

Some hotels are up the hill a bit, but you can still walk into town. This includes Le Sirenuse and the other hotel I stayed in, Eden Roc. Eden Roc is about as high up the hill as you would care to go on foot. Sirenuse is practically in town. The hotels in this group may have more amenities and better views, but also more street noise from vehicles.

Other hotels are way up the hill or out of the main town. Thus includes San Pietro and some others. If you pick a hotel in thus group, you will have to take public transport into Positano, which to me would be a big minus.

Palazzo Murat is indeed an old mansion, with charming grounds and antique-furnished guest rooms. Many overlook Positano rooftops or face up the hillside - quintessential Positano. Hence, it would be a good choice for a couple. Some drawbacks are very poor internet (none to speak of in the room), and barebones breakfast. Staff are okay but not warm or proactive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MannyG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 38 in Positano
965 reviews
1.0 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
871 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 38 in Positano
891 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 38 in Positano
1,273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Murat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Murat

Address: 23 Via dei Mulini, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Positano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range: £166 - £500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Murat 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Murat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Murat Hotel
Palazzo Murat Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing