We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, fantastic location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, fantastic location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in April. Hotel clean, rooms good size with clean updated bath. Balcony in room 22 overlooks front of property with the wonderful smell of lemons from the trees below. Breakfast typical for Italy hotels. The location here is key! Main sidewalk full of shops with short walk to beach below. Front desk happy to make arrangements for ferries to Capri as well as restaurant reservations. Fabulous location for an amazing town. Could have spent entire vacation here.....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kskrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    114
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
158
562
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We arrived from Amalfi and thought we had the best stay there but this hotel continued to exceed our expectations. Our room was fantastic a corner room on the second floor of the old hotel with a balcony looking out over the pool and a view of the 13th century church next door and views of the sea beyond. The room was spotless, large and well appointed. The bed was very comfy and although we were right beside the church and the bells rang during the day they did not ring at night. Breakfast was out on the patio, even though it was chilly there were heaters that could be brought right up to the table, with many options both hot and cold and great coffee. The staff was very helpful with making dinner suggestions/reservations and easily arranged transport of our luggage by porters down to the ferry for a small fee. The location was perfect right on the main walkway, easy to access shops and restaurants. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2nthru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at the Palazzo Murat for three nights in early April. The staff was very polite and professional. The room had a nice view on the gardens, and the fragrance of lemon trees below was very pleasant. The only minor downside was with the technology - the wifi connection was not very good and the TV service was disappointing. Other clients seem to have similar problems, witness the number of people huddled in one of the reception rooms to catch a better wifi signal. Anyway, tech issues aside, we were in a great hotel in the centre of Positano, with plenty to see. We would definitely return !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IJK_London_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Everything about our stay at Hotel Palazzo Murat was exceptional. The service, the value, the food, the views, the extra services touches and effort from all staff (none of which was requested, but is simply a great example of the thoughtfulness of the staff and how good they are at anticipating needs of customers).

I wish we had stayed longer than just 2-nights. We stayed in the old part of the hotel, which was phenomenal. I did not see the new part of the hotel to compare, but i would request the same exact room we had when we go back -- #5.

Room Tip: We loved room #5 and had double views of the water and of the beautiful Positano cliffs, as well as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa_Katherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

The hotel is beautiful, and in a central location in Positano. We were able to easily walk down to the beach, up to the shops, etc. The only drawback of the location is that you can't get there by car, which made drop offs difficult - we had to drag our luggage up and down the somewhat steep walkway and stairs.

The grounds and the room were gorgeous. We were on the first floor, which had a nice secluded feel due to being surrounded by the gardens. Views from everywhere are amazing, either looking up at the surrounding cliffside or down to the water. The tub was a bit narrow, we assume typical for Italy.

The pool was nice, but not heated. Great views of the 13th century church right next door from the pool.

The complimentary breakfast every morning was amazing. Great selection of fresh fruits, juices, eggs, breakfast meats, pastries, and very good coffee. The hotel also has a very good restaurant which serves lunch and dinner.

The service was very good - everyone was extremely polite and helpful. The front desk staff loaned us a power adapter, saving us a lot of trouble as it was impossible to find one locally. They also offer a complimentary boat trip along the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianMBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Hotel Palazzo Murat in a large room on the second floor of the newer building. Aside from getting very lost trying to find the hotel (my own fault for not listening to our drivers directions & then too stubborn to ask for directions - just head down the main path to the beach & you can't miss it) there was nothing I could fault.
The room was clean, spacious and had a wonderful view of the dome and the amazing Positano hillside.
The grounds were immaculately kept. In Postiano it is such a rarity to have so much flat land.
We enjoyed the breakfast on the terrace each morning. There was a good selection of hot and cold foods. The coffee and juices were also very nice.
We had dinner in the restaurant one night and thoroughly enjoyed our meal.
The complimentary boat trip along the coast was a real highlight. Though I believe Positano is the pick of the towns the other towns are amazing when viewed from the water. We had a nice short swim in the crystal clear water just in front of Sophia Loren's old home. Very special.
This hotel is very well located. Right in the centre of town and a short walk to the beach.

A couple of tips - if you want a much quieter beach then take the path to the right of the main beach. It's only a 400m walk but the beach is much nicer and the cafes offer great light meals and cold drinks.
- If travelling from Naples consider booking a private transfer with Wisely Travelling (see review). It is much easier that the train and bus alternative.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We spent a week at Hotel Palazzo Murat in September 2013. The weather in Positano was still in the mid 70's to low 80's. We had a very large room on the second floor of the original building and looked out on to the ocean, cathedral dome, palm trees and the terrace and grounds below.
Our room was very beautiful, and we had a very large bathroom with a hot tub. The bed was hard, so they added some blankets underneath the sheet which helped. The staff members were very polite and accommodating, and basically fulfilled every wish. The breakfasts out on the terrace were delicious, with hot and cold dishes, fruits, deserts and espresso drinks made to your liking. It was nice being able to get in the swimming pool after a hot day of sightseeing. You can order food and drinks at the pool, served by a discreet waiter who takes and delivers your order. Swimming in the Mediterranean is a great thing to do, even in September. Don't go to Positano without taking a swim in the ocean. We had a complicated train connection after our stay at the Palazzo Murat. The front desk staff solved it for us, and we could have been sitting ducks without their help. We loved it here and hope to return often, and would recommend this place hands down, for anyone wanting a wonderful place to stay on the Amalfi Coast.

Room Tip: I suggest a room in the original building. On the second floor you have a view of the ocean and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank renaissancetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
1.0 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#3 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#14 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Murat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Murat

Property: Hotel Palazzo Murat
Address: 23 Via dei Mulini, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#1 Family Hotel in Positano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Murat 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Murat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Murat Hotel
Palazzo Murat Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing