We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Jupiter, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unique Hotel”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Once a Monastery it retains the feel of long ago and upgraded to 21st century life. Beautiful views and a great location. However the bathrooms are small and the bathtub could be dangerous as it is shaped funny making it pretty easy to slip. The rooms were very clean and the service was fine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    850
    155
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
183
646
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Palazzo Murat is a truly unique hotel. In a setting of tremendous beauty my greatest memory will be of the staff who actually define friendly, welcoming and professional caring and service. Special mention to Noemi who served us drinks near the pool. Have a Positano!

From the superior room with balcony, you actually can see the sea on either side of the church dome. An amazing flowering vine grows on my balcony railing. The hotel restaurant actually should also have the number one Trip Advisor rating. We ate there two nights out of three -- a first for us. You could not improve on the outdoor setting under flowering jasmine, the very creative food, and the great service. The grounds are a botanical garden. This hotel will make your trip!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenH224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

What an amazing place! We stayed for 5 nights in May and the hotel was perfect in every way.
The garden and grounds are especially gorgeous with the sweet smell of blooming flowers, fruit trees and a wonderful vegetable garden. The room was spacious and very clean, the bed linens of high quality and the view onto the garden so magical.
The staff were professional and friendly with a couple staff that were superb: Noemi was extra sweet and friendly who offered suggestions for our stay. She was kind, warm and sincere. People like Noemi create the lasting positive impression that a guest and hotel manager look for. She is special and won't be forgotten. Cheecho was also a friendly and warm soul who greeted us with a smile and warmth to brighten each day. Antonio as well as the Al Palazzo waiters were kind and welcoming. The hotel was perfectly situated and we truly enjoyed our time and felt so at home. Thank you all for a wonderful stay and may god bless you for all the good you bring to each guest
Adeana Tanko Osika and Cleo Tanko

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRQao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We loved Palazzo Murat for many reasons; first despite losing a day of our honeymoon stay because of travel delays, they upgraded us to a beautiful Suite with an awesome balcony overlooking the Sea and the Hillside. More importantly the entire staff provided us with exceptional service, from the hotel front desk who went above and beyond with help tracking our "lost luggage", to Cicco one of the daily servers during breakfast and throughout the day, to Naomi by the pool who was a dear, friendly young woman who provided us with great poolside service each day and the front desk staff including Tony who were terrific. In addition to a superior location within a 5-8 minute walk to the beach or less (it's hilly), and many of the beachfront restaurants and shops all around, we were surrounded by the beautiful gardens throughout the hotel lobby, in the outside dining areas, and walkways. The gardens are especially beautiful. We were treated to a wonderful sumptuous breakfast buffet with delicacies both for the traditional american breakfast and of course the soprassata, italian cheeses, fresh sweet tomatoes, italian bread and many desserts, multi juice options and of course Cappucino that could sustain you for hours; and we cannot forget the smiling faces from everyone. The staff speak English well but of course appreciates a few words in Italian too if you know or learn a few phrases!! It was the start of our Honeymoon and although we lost a day in travel, and didn't get our luggage for over 3 days, they made us soon forget the hassle of international travel and helped us relax and enjoy our honeymoon to the fullest. We hated to leave to head to the Eternal city of Rome, imagine that. They make you feel like family rather than guests/customers. The pool is very lovely and the sitting area was perfect for a small group to relax and overlook the sea. There were about 15 lounge chairs. The beach is more like gravel, so staying at Murat with a lovely area and pool was terrific.The only drawback is No Fitness center but given all the hills and lengthy stone steps all around the city, a short brisk walk of 30-60 minutes will give you more exercise than jogging 4 miles or doing the stairmaster. Pack comfortable shoes...no heels ladies (and I love my heels)...Thank you Palazzo Hotel....Grazie Mille per tutti.

Room Tip: Definintely get a room with a Balcony and Sea view if you can!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Beautiful hotel situated conveniently in Positano to the ferry docks, several great shops, and some delicious restaurants.

Service, from the porters when you arrive to checkout, is very thorough and friendly. Front dest staff was overly accommodating with recommendations, directions, etc. Antonio is fast with the drinks and knows how to make them.

Breakfast is an average European buffet with several options. Nothing spectacular, but the terrance on which it's served makes for a lovely setting. More impressive is the restaurant, which boasts delicious food, an good wine list, and good service.

Rooms were cleaned well...even reorganized a bit which was helpful. Housekeeping staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious with very well-equipped bathrooms (ours had a rain shower head, a powerful wand, and a waterfall). Ours featured a large veranda with locking vented shutters so we could enjoy the cool sea breeze.

Wifi is slow, and despite being somewhat "remote," in 2014 hotels need to have fast wifi. We had one little cleanliness issue with the hotel room, but nothing major. There isn't a fitness facility on site...I'm not even sure where they'd put one. And this is a personal complaint and not reflected in my score; after two weeks in Italy I desperately need a treadmill :) The streets just aren't safe for running.

Helpful?
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Molesey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The location is in the centre of Positano but yet very quiet, because the hotel building is not facing the street, separated by its garden. The hotel has a lot of character and has cozy feeling. The view from the balcony was just amazing. A small but nice swimming pool in the centre of Positano is another treat. Car park is in a couple of minutes walk distance but the hotel staff will help you carry your luggage. The tour on the boat was excellent, too.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank One_FridayStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kadima
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed with 2 kids during April, a bit chilly for the pool but rooms are heated, and breakfast was served outdoor when possible. Beautiful grounds and gardens. Exquisite service and accommodation. View to sea is obstructed by the church but location is superb. Access to beach, restaurants , concierge very helpfull and service is outstanding. After sampling all top notch restaurants can recovommend the following:
1. next 2
2. la tre surelle
3. For desert only (not full dinner) the beautiful restaurant in the neighbor 5 star hotel " le sinuse"
the in house restaurant turned
out to be a good choice.
Would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dec3096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 38 in Positano
947 reviews
1.0 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
851 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#11 of 38 in Positano
870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 38 in Positano
1,252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Murat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Murat

Property: Hotel Palazzo Murat
Address: 23 Via dei Mulini, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Positano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Murat 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Murat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Murat Hotel
Palazzo Murat Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing