We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Palace in Positano” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palazzo Murat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Palace in Positano”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We found this delightful hotel to be very comfortable with spacious rooms a balcony and wonderful views.The breakfast is served alfresco each morning weather permitting.It has a Michelin Guide restaurant which lives up to its reputation and is resplendent in a beautiful garden .Each morning we had the most beautiful breakfast buffet one could imagine.The hotel is next to shops and close to the beach. A good size swimming pool is located in the grounds with some shady trees. We had been to Positano several years before and had admired this Hotel each time we passed it by.
We are so happy to say we truly enjoyed our five night stay immensely.

Room Tip: High floors for top views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flynn010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    113
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
154
559
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Hotel Palazzo Murat is definitely one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. From the moment we walked in to the second we left, we were given A+ service. Upon arrival, we were served fresh lemonade and treated like their only reservation. The rooms that we stayed in had incredible views (room 26 and 27) and were extremely clean. Each room had a cute balcony and were spacious. The pool was immaculate and the grounds were very well kept. The breakfast that was provided was delicious and the service could not have been better. I really felt that I was being taken care of and any time I needed something I was given immediate assistance. The location was perfect and the maid staff was meticulous.
The only feedback I have is to be careful in their bathtubs. They are very narrow and can be difficult to stand straight in and I wish the pool had opened earlier than 10:30am.
This hotel deserves more than 5 Stars.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

My husband & I booked the cheapest 'garden room' and were delighted. I have never stayed in a hotel that I have not one complaint about!
The staff were so friendly and charming, accommodating without us needing to ask. Breakfast was a dream, with polished silverware and delicate crockery, all served in a stunning courtyard that we could have sat in all day. Look for the tiny lizards basking in the trees and of course the jasmine & lemon trees are stunning. Heavenly scent. Right in the middle of bustling Positano, a short stroll down hill to the beach. Hire a canoe and explore round to the left of the coast. We found a small beach with no one on it one day.
Our friends were getting married at the nearby Hotel Marincanto, which was far more expensive, but was far less superior in all honesty!
Positano was a little too busy for our liking, but I would love to return during low season and explore more. We would definitely return to the Palazzo Murat and we're extremely fussy Brits ;-) Thank you for a memorable stay.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lexi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
247 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

For Italy this is a good hotel. We had room 32, at the end of the new building close to the sea and church. Room was ok but not large for 2+1 child. Room is serviced twice per day, and very well serviced. Breakfast is ok, service during breakfast was not always friendly. Positano is nice to see and stay for a few days but much too busy and touristic for a longer stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pats911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I wondered why this property was rated as #1 when I knew that there were other luxurious properties right on the water. Now I know...Palazzo Murat is the best combination of a quality hotel, excellent staff, awesome breakfast, and the best location in town. In Positano, location is extremely important because of the steep hills. This property is right in the center of town...a 3 minute walk to the main street and a 3 minute walk to the beach. It is also within a 5 minute walk to many restaurants. (If you are down hill from where you want to go in Positano...good luck). Rooms are classy, the cleaning staff is meticulous, the pool is nice, and Concetta who runs the front desk is amazing. The daily breakfast buffet which is included is the best that I have ever had.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GregI1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We just returned from a long weekend last weekend for my birthday. We stayed in room 27. We had a fantastic time, cant say enough good things about the hotel. The room was gorgeous, breakfast amazing, staff helpful, location perfect. All excellent. They put on a free boat trip one day which was very nice.

Would recommend eating in the pizzeria on the walk to the beach furthest to the right of Positano ferry point- best pasta ever. Chez Black was good too. We did a day trip to Capri - avoid a Sunday.

Overall this really is an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 27 with a partial sea view - it was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I have wanted to stay at the Palazzo Murat since reading a travel article about it a few years ago. I finally got the chance to stay there for three nights in June and I was not disappointed. The experience begins when you step through the entry loggia into the elegant courtyard of this 18-century palazzo that was once the summer residence of Joachim Murat, king of Naples. The building is wrapped in glorious old bougainvillea vines and has a two-tiered fragrant garden bursting with citrus fruits. The staff offered us a refreshing glass of lemonade while we waited for the check-in process to be completed and this wonderful service continued throughout our stay. Mornings, we were greeted with a warm smile by Chico, a senior staff member who presided over an impressive breakfast buffet eaten under flowering trees. We also enjoyed an outstanding meal at the hotel’s Al Palazzo restaurant, offering elegant regional cuisine. The staff were knowledgeable and gracious, and quickly able to alter a set-menu meal to accommodate my sister’s seafood allergies. The staff were also happy to arrange transfer by private, air-conditioned car from Naples which was a wonderful way to reach Positano. We had a garden room on the ground floor which was spacious and cool with a beautiful little patio overlooking the glittering doom of Positano’s Santa Maria Assunta church. One note about the bathroom: the tub was quite narrow by North American standards making it a bit of a balancing act to shower. We enjoyed the hotel’s pool also – a great place to cool off at the end of a day of sightseeing. My only regret is not being able to spend more time at the hotel since there is so much to see along the Amalfi Coast. Is the cost of this experience high? Yes, it was but worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
1.0 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#3 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#14 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Murat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Murat

Property: Hotel Palazzo Murat
Address: 23 Via dei Mulini, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#1 Family Hotel in Positano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Murat 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Murat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Murat Hotel
Palazzo Murat Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing