We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL VIEWS OF POSITANO”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Capitano

Il Capitano
Ranked #26 of 85 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$55 - US$153
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, View, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Instagram: ristorante_il_capitano
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL VIEWS OF POSITANO”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We had dinner here on our last night in Positano, wanting to eat somewhere with a great view. We hadn't heard anything about this restaurant, but took a chance, since any other restaurant with a view had exorbitant prices. We had a gluten free pasta, and a regular pasta, with salads. Both our meals were very good, although not quite as good as Il Fornillo. We also enjoyed a wonderul wine which we always have trouble finding - Aglianico.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    236
    65
    45
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
197 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Terrific View...Very Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We chose this restaurant because we could see the terrace from our rented villa. Attached to the Hotel Montemare, the views from the terrace make this a worthwhile choice. Reserve a table along the rail for the best view, and insist that they honor it.( we had to after they offered us another table) The staff were friendly and efficient. Food was very good...seafood was fresh and well prepared, the pasta was also freshly made and very flavorful. The meat eater in our group enjoyed the lamb chops, although they were a bit small.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Go for the View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

My brother took his engagement photos in Positano up and down this charming one way street. By the end of it we decided to settle into a nice restaurant that overlooked the nightly coastal view. This place does that justice!

The moment we stepped into the restaurant the staff gave my brother and his fiancée a glass of champagne each. Apparently they had seen them taking photos and wanted to congratulate them. We were floored!

The food itself was pretty decent. The best dish of the night was their monkfish pasta. The risotto wasn't bad either. Avoid the pizza.

Overall the view and their kindness is what won us over.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffma007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
188 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A+ view, very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

One of the better evening meals we have had in Positano. Wait staff very nice. Octopus salad for appetizer had a nice combination of ingredients and was very flavorful. Grilled squid with grilled vegetables also very good. Lamb chops a tad thin, but very flavorful.
We did not get dessert.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The food here was quite good. Disappointed that there were on pizzas as on the menu (in an Italian restaurant!). fabulous views across the bay. Its a climb from the town though. Bit disappointed with the service which was a bit slow

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tonywilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Capitano also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Il Capitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing