We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel, great location”
Review of Le Agavi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Agavi Hotel
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Bronxville, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel, great location”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Positano was the first of four cities to visit in Italy for our recent Honeymoon. Beautiful location. The hotel's main entrance is at the top and the rest of the property is built below along the mountainside with access to their private beach. Getting to the beach is an experience with the tram that leads you halfway down and then an elevator built inside the mountain! The rooms are a bit dated but charming and clean. The overall decor of the place is an old world style. As you walk through the property along winding walkways, you can stop and look over to see the lower levels and the beautiful coast. It's breathtaking at every angle. We stayed for 5 nights and had two different rooms after we upgraded. Nothing was wrong with our first room, except our patio was a bit small. Our upgraded room had a much larger bathroom, patio, and closet/dressing room. The beds did seem quite firm but I happen to like it that way so no complaints about that. The breakfast buffet was nice. Who could resist eating breakfast every morning outdoors overlooking the entire side of the mountain and rest of Positano?? We had dinner at the restaurant one night. It was a little more pricy than in town, but the food was great and service excellent - and again sitting on the restaurant's balcony with nighttime views. Overall, ALL of the staff we interacted with were excellent. We spoke often with two people at the front desk. One was a young girl with dark curly hair (cannot remember her name) and the other was a man named Emidio. Both of them were very helpful and friendly. The hotel provided hourly shuttle service into town making it very convenient to get there and back. Out of the four hotels we stayed at across our trip through Italy, Le Agavi was the best. We look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    139
    41
    20
    12
See reviews for
99
335
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel has a major advantage in Positano of having it's own beach accessible via a funicular down the cliffside. We found this a great place to relax. the rooms are a bit old fashioned and have hard beds. However, each has a balcony with terrific views over Positano. We did not eat in at all as there are many restaurants in positano to try out with a free shuttle to and from the hotel. The service was excellent and the staff more than made up for the slightly dated decor. Overall we found it an excellent hotel for a beach holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swift Current, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a great room on the east side of hotel with a view overlooking Positano and the Bay. The deck outside was the best part. Only complaint was the rock hard bed. The included breakfast was excellent along with service. Be sure to take the "tram" down to beach - quite an experience. Also, walk 50m to the North to walk down the many many steps into town. Would recommend this highly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGSSpeedyCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Brilliant place, view and service. We stayed for 4 days and loved every minute. The hotel is in a fantastic location (although a free shuttle ride from the town of Positano) the professionalism of the staff was great. Each room had a balcony with those amazing views. It's all good, put the hotel and town on your bucket list.
So impressed!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Keenjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

There is absolutely no doubt about the unparalleled position of this hotel.
It is the best feature by far. And the courtesy of the staff is superb too.
If you're challenged without a gps then it might be fun finding your room - I kept finding very confused fellow guests trying to work out the lifts down the cliff face! We also all agreed that the bathrooms need a makeover and that the mattresses on the beds should be thrown off said cliff! They are terrible. But as a base for exploring Positano, while keeping a step above the crowds, with the bonus of an amazing view from your own personal balcony - well this is hard to beat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BVOS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We just got back from a 10 day trip to Italy. We stayed in Positano for 4 days and loved the whole experience. This hotel was the perfect choice as it has the unbelievable views from everywhere on the property, beautiful landscape and very clean and attractive rooms, and balconies. The breakfast on the patio with the views is amazing, and the fresh fruit is like nothing we have had anywhere. The choices are very large compared to what others have said. There were eggs, ham, yogurts, pastries, cold cereals and a lot more. Not sure why anyone would not be happy with that! We loved the beach area, the great assortment of chairs, umbrellas and the service was great. The rooms are varied and you can request a room close to elevator and close to reception if you don't like the many stairs. We had no problem with taking two elevators because you are on a cliff with steep drops. What other choice could they give you? The rooms are placed so that you have balconies that don't line up perfectly on top of each other, therefore you have more privacy and need the different elevators to get to your room. We stayed in room 104 and it was perfect, close to top of hill for shuttle and close to anywhere you wanted to go. The funicular was amazing and smooth, right to the beach. This location is great because you have quiet and yet it's less than a 10 minute shuttle to downtown, which is super busy, noisy and after a night of eating and shopping, you have a peaceful glass of wine waiting on the balcony, and amazing views to look at. You can spend a fortune on rooms there, or stay at a bargain room downtown, it really does not matter, as long as you choose what it is that makes you happy. We chose the views over downtown, and had the best of both. Would recommend highly and would stay there again. There are a lot of great places to stay in Positano, and the food is the best anywhere you eat!

Room Tip: Rooms at the top of hotel near the reception are convenient, near the elevators, close to funicular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tinamr911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here for our first trip to Positano! The staff was extremely helpful, room very clean, although the shower never properly drained correctly! The views are amazing and we enjoyed the pool very much! A lovely buffet style breakfast and again amazing service! Would not recommend to the physically challenged as there are many steps, ramps to get to the road, an elder couple we witnessed first hand with this experience!
If you want to be out of town ( which we did!) this is an enjoyable hotel to stay at!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancyndp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 39 in Positano
825 reviews
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.5 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#14 of 39 in Positano
845 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#39 of 39 in Positano
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 39 in Positano
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Agavi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Agavi Hotel

Property: Le Agavi Hotel
Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 127, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#12 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Agavi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Agavi hotel, a sheer drop from the cliff to the sea, is just five minutes by car from the center of Positano. It features a private beach, a breathtaking view over the Amalfi coast, an open-air swimming pool with a snack bar and rooms with air conditioning. All the rooms of Le Agavi hotel, belonging to different room categories, dispose of equipped balconies or terraces, a satellite TV and private bathrooms with a tub or shower. Le Agavi hotel has 3 bars and 3 restaurants,led by our starred chef, one of which located on the beach, with beach club facilities, also open for dinner, with a water taxi service as well, with menus for theme nights and tasting menus, where you will have the chance to relax and enjoy authentic typical dishes of the coast. In front of the hotel is a sita bus stop, 15 km away from the Circumvesuviana train station. The hotel disposes of a shuttle bus service to and from the center of Positano, leaving almost every hour. The hotel is one hour by car from Naples and 13 km from the beautiful town of Sorrento, from whose harbor hydrofoils leave towards the island of Capri and many other destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Agavi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Agavi Positano
Hotel Le Agavi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing