We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights on our first ever trip to Positano.

Pro's:
-Friendly staff, especially Antonio!
-Clean and comfortable rooms. I didn't want to leave the balcony! We were staying on the top floor and had an enormous balcony with the most spectacular views.
-Free breakfast
-STUNNING views. This deserves it's own point because they were that phenomenal.

Con's:
-Some of the staff at the front desk continuously tried to push certain restaurants, which they must have some stake/partnership in. When you come back from dinner you're asked where you dined as if they are keeping tabs. The recommended restaurants were empty whenever we'd walk by. It was just a strange little hiccup to the normally very friendly service
-As some others have noted, LOTS of steps to get down to the beach. We are pretty fit 30 year olds and it was quite a trek but we came to enjoy it. You also always have the option of not taking the stairs and using the street, or taking the bus. The views from being higher up are worth it!

While this was a charming hotel and we were treated very well, I would probably try somewhere different next time for variety.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShShCdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Positano_Pasitea, Direttore at Positano Art Hotel Pasitea, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. I'm sorry a bit for what you write about the restaurants. We're just trying to help customers, because in a resort town like Positano is easy to make wrong choices. I'm sure you've eaten well in the restaurants recommended by the hotel. But probably you write these things because you believed in some other restaurateur who we do not recommend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    395
    85
    28
    20
See reviews for
174
582
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife and I only had three days to spend on the Amalfi Coast and are very glad that we spent that limited time at the Art Hotel Pasitea. As others have stated, the walk up and down the hill is not for the faint of heart but that's part of the experience in Positano. The bus stop is right outside the hotel for the times when your legs just won't carry you. The room was very comfortable. Bathroom was typical of what we've experienced when traveling in Italy. Shower was small by U.S. standards but the water pressure was excellent. In-room air conditioning was more than adequate. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The lobby and common areas are full of interesting artwork, hence the hotel's name. There is an elevator when you don't want to walk the beautiful staircase. All staff with whom we interacted were extremely polite and friendly. Special kudos to Tony and Enzo for their assistance with drivers, tours, restaurants and overall assistance. These guys take great pride in ensuring your expectations are met. The breakfast was OK. Again, similar to what we've experienced at other Italian hotels. Certainly sufficient to get you going in the morning. Lastly, the views.... words don't do justice to the amazing views from the large balcony. Favorite part of the day was enjoying my first cup of coffee (complimentary in the room) from the balcony, just staring at the hillside. Our room was #34 and we strongly recommend it. Overall, a great experience. If you're visiting Positano, do yourself a favor and try the Art Hotel Pasitea. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a sea view but be sure to confirm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lschiezzari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Positano_Pasitea, Direttore at Positano Art Hotel Pasitea, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
I have no words. This is a wonderful review. You describe perfectly the hotel and our work. Please come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

A good place to stay in Positano. Very friendly staff, Tony is always happy to help, suggest and book restaurants and arrange transfers. Rooms were good value for the price with WIFI included. Great views from the balconies and a good spot to dry some last minute washing!!
Positano is a difficult place to get around but the Pasitea is right on the bus stop which made the location right for us.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Positano_Pasitea, Direttore at Positano Art Hotel Pasitea, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you. I really love these reviews. Because they are our best card. You have described in a concise and useful, our Hotel. I make you my compliments :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We were probably spoilt after spending a few nights at a fantastic hotel at a nearby town just before, so came with very high expectations. Still Hotel Pasitea is a very good hotel - our room was spacious and clean with a large balcony. We had a sea view, but I think I expected more from this and probably did not compensate for the long walk to the centre of the town. Buffet breakfast was good - not bad but not too exciting either. Some of the staff were nice and friendly, others seemed a bit rude. We got a few tips for restaurants - in both cases food was good but we ended up spending too much time on transfers. Restaurants offer free shuttle service, but don't go for that if you prefer to spend time in the town instead.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stavz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Positano_Pasitea, Direttore at Positano Art Hotel Pasitea, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thanks for the review. As I always say, Positano is appreciated walking. You could stay close to the beach without walking, but you would not understand anything of the country. The restaurants we recommended have the best food and the best view of Positano, even if they are a little far away. I think that you have enjoyed the free transfer from the Hotel to these restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Loved the rooms, nice and spacious with large balconies - amazing views exactly what was shown on the website! and very friendly helpful staff. Great location with restaurants within walking distance. Steps to beach may have challenged some but we were realistic in our expectations to walk everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnMaree013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Positano_Pasitea, Direttore at Positano Art Hotel Pasitea, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you. You have enjoyed our Hotel, but more importantly, you have appreciated Positano. Without walking, you can not fully enjoy Positano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Positano Art Hotel Pasitea. The rooms were incredibly spacious and ours even had a jacuzzi bathtub, which was very welcome after our long travel day. The balcony was huge and had a lovely view of the town. The only challenge for us was getting to the hotel. Make sure you have a detailed map and a plan when you get into Positano. A bus does go by the hotel, but we never found the right bus and the ferry drops off in the port at the bottom of the town. Taxis and porters are expensive, but may be worth it just to make it easier. The hotel served a very nice breakfast. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: I would ask for the room with a jacuzzi tub if you want one. Some of the rooms only had showers. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciarasd09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Positano_Pasitea, Direttore at Positano Art Hotel Pasitea, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thanks for the nice review. You have photographed very well to our hotel. I'm sorry for the difficulties you've found, but the beauty of Positano also lies in the natural difficulties of its territory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We start this review by noting that we stayed at Art Pasitea after spending the previous two nights at a higher rated (and much more expensive) hotel in Positano. So our expectations may have been a bit higher than they should have been. First of all, the location of the hotel is not ideal. It is a hike straight up from the town center. As two people who don't mind walking everywhere, even we found the location a bit too out of the way. The views from the hotel are very nice, but there are great views at nearly every hotel in Positano, including hotels that are more conveniently located. The room itself (#24) was a bit stuffy. The balcony was lovely, but not at all private and could be viewed from another balcony next door that extended out further from the hotel. The staff was generally helpful -- Enzo would arrange reservations, etc. -- though there was one mix-up where we were told that we wouldn't need a reservation for lunch at a particular restaurant and when we arrived there, we were told that we did. Overall, we were not overly impressed with the hotel, and for the price, think we probably could have done better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
2 Thank GraceandAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Positano_Pasitea, Direttore at Positano Art Hotel Pasitea, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thanks anyway for your review. If you think you're in Positano, without walking, you can see little or nothing of Positano. Because if you see only the beach you can not understand anything of the village, and that's a shame. For the rest we are the 4 star hotel which has the best value for money in Positano. But, if you did not like your room, you could say it and we would have changed immediately
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
869 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#38 of 38 in Positano
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#14 of 38 in Positano
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 38 in Positano
943 reviews
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 38 in Positano
611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 38 in Positano
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Positano Art Hotel Pasitea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Positano Art Hotel Pasitea

Property: Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Address: Via Pasitea 207, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#10 Family Hotel in Positano
#13 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#14 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Positano Art Hotel Pasitea 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the bay of Positano, the Positano Art Hotel Pasitea is a perfect example of Mediterranean architecture, with its masonry, lava stone and wrought iron furnishing. Completely renovated, the Hotel has the typical terrace-structure which can be immediately recognized thanks to the magnificent bougainvillea coming up from the vulcanic rocks to underline the property shapes made of arches and vaults. The Hall has a blue flooring painted of white waves which reminds the water sea movement. The circular stairs leads to every floor from which enjoy a different amazing view of Positano and of the sea. All the rooms are wide, air conditioned, with satellite television and individual balconies overlooking the sea. Each one faces a wonderful seaside landscape and the suites have a seaview Jacuzzi. The hotel has also a very special wine bar, where it’s possible to have dinner, taste the best products of Italian gastronomy and chose from a great selection of national wines. Free Wi-Fi ADSL connection and efficient business corner in the lobby. Private car park with an extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Positano Art Hotel Pasitea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pasitea Hotel Positano
Best Western Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing