We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location, great apartment”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Mariano

stunning view over positano from terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
stunning view over positano from terrace
view at night from my terrace pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
stunning view over positano from terrace
view at night from my terrace
pool
corner of terrace with bench
master bedroom
bathroom
Spacious and airy master bedroom tastefully furnished for a relaxing atmosphere
terrace and living room
kitchen
living room leading to the terracce
living room and terrace
view from my terrace during the day
entrance to one of the bedrooms from terrace
outside the house
Sunny terrace for great views, perfect for reading and relaxing with a glass of wine
third bedroom with two single beds
terrace at night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Positano, Amalfi Coast, Province of Salerno, Campania

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Areti W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, great apartment”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The apartment is great, 3 bedrooms, good sizes. En suite for one of them. It's spacious, clean and well equipped. Aircon in the lounge. Kitchen has what you need for a holiday, plus dishwasher & washing machine. Lovely terrace to sit out in with a view over the shared pool. The pool has a lifeguard on duty. Kept clean & well maintained, no shortage of sunloungers. Pool is just down the next level, easy to get to. Lovely view from the terrace.
Mariano (owner) is very helpful and friendly, tries to make your stay as enjoyable and hassle free as possible. Free wifi in the apartment (we found Italian telecoms in general weren't the same as the broadband we're used to! )

Positano is a beautiful location, built into the cliff side on the Amalfi coast. But it's not for those who don't want to climb lots of stairs! From the villa complex (well maintained, gated, private parking) you can make your way all the way down to the beach front and the centre of town by following a series of steps built into the town. It took us about 25 mins to get down to the beach. We did walk back up a couple of times but the steps can be hard work - they're steeper and deeper than a staircase at home - more like being on the step machine at the gym. We usually took the local bus, drops you right back by the villa. Lots of lovely restaurants in the area too. Great base to explore the area - Amalfi, Pompeii & Herculaneum etc easy to get to from here.
We would definitely return to the villa and Positano.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally F
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking Views”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Can't recommend this apartment enough. Whilst there are a lot of stairs to the apartment (up hill to exit) the stunning views of Positano and the swimming pool are more than worth it, it's breathtaking!! There is a supermarket across the road with delivery service, yummy restaurants and bus to the beach at the entrance. Slept 6 adults comfortably and we didn't want to leave. Mariano the owner was so helpful and lovely! Loved this place so much!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Dear sally
Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill p
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Never get tired of the view”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This unit sits high on the terrace above Positano and as you can see in all of the pictures has a great view. Found myself taking the same pictures over and over again. Great place to just sit and soak it all in. One level down is the pool which shares the same view as the back porch.

The first thing we noticed when we looked through the cabinets was that there were cleaning products everywhere. A great sign that the place was well taken care of .

A big plus with this unit was parking. If you have never been to Positano the streets are about 1 1/2 lanes wide, have cars parked all over the place and occasionally you need to get past a bus going in the opposite direction, so a safe place to leave your car while there is a real necessity.

Kitchen was well equipped, we cooked in every day for breakfast and a couple of nights for dinner too. One night my sons went to dinner at the restaurant right across the street (da Costatino) and they said the food was great-they even gave a 10% discount for people staying at the complex. By the way, if you GPS doesn't lead you to the place (mine didn't) type in the name of the restaurant and when you get there the gate across the street is the parking lot to the complex.

Mariano was very responsive to our needs. In spite of a late arrival (got a little lost) he was patient and went through all the instructions with us that night. We needed a couple of extra towels which he delivered the next day.

Grocery store was about a 10 min walk both up and down stairs but Gianni the store owner will either drive you back or deliver later so you don't have to haul everything back up the stairs.

As has been stated in other reviews, if you can't or don't want to do the stairs, don't come to Positano. About a 25 minute walk down multiple staircases to get to the center of town, but definitely worth it as there are great views and hidden parks along the way. If your not training for a triathlon take the bus (for less than 2 Euro) or a cab (for 25) back up the hill.

Overall, as this was my first trip to Positano I felt I made a great choice for accommodation and would recommend it highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggiemay...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A dream place to stay”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My Husband, two teenage daughters and I spent two weeks in Casa Mariano in July, it's in a private gated community at the top of the town. This was a truly wonderful vacation for us. Two double bedrooms, one en-suite and one bedroom with 3 single beds, (one bunk). Two bathrooms is such a bonus with teenagers! Washing machine, kitchen fully equipped and stocked with all essential cleaning supplies. Air Conditioning works well and there's even a T.V. although we did not use it. The large balcony overlooking a stunning view of the town, the pool and bay is by far the best feature though and I will never forget it. The pool is open each day from 9:30 - 5:30 - pity it has to close this early each day but it is manned by a lifeguard.
You have to be fit to stay here. To get to your car you have to walk up 130 steps so not convenient but well worth it if you are able. To walk to the beach it's over 800 steps!! There is a local bus service back up though so no worries on this front and it's great fun.
The local supermarket is De Luccia's - it's a 5-10 min walk, very small and expensive. We were told they would deliver our groceries to the casa but when we asked Giovanni the owner he was not very friendly and said he was too busy!
Positano is expensive so do be prepared but we had such a wonderful vacation. Mariano was wonderful and we have some great memories of our time here. Thank you Mariano

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Balcony
Liked least: The ants outside on the balcony.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
itsfredli...
hull
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Casa Mariano is one of the most beautiful spots in the whole of Positano. Sitting on the large terrace with a glass of wine is probably my favorite memory of the Amalfi coast. The views are just spectacular. The apartment is well equipped and the kitchen has everything you will ever need there is no bath but two good sized shower rooms. The outside space is large and has plenty of furniture for eating at or just relaxing on. Parking is impossible in Positano so the fact the apartment comes with its own gated car park is great add to that the pool and this place is one of the best locations in town. Mariano could not have been more helpful and gave us all the info we would need. The pool is a fantastic and very clean and well kept and a real treat to have in Positano. Some of the Restaurants are a joy and our two favorites where La Tagliata which is about 2 miles up the road and Da Costantino which is right next to the apartment car park.

I would not go to this apartment or the town of Positano if you are unfit or have any trouble with stairs as the whole town is a staircase. Im a fit guy but the walk to the beach and back tested me especially carrying a toddler on my back ( dont take a pram its pointless) and even the walk to the nearest shop will consist of over 800 steps there and back. The bus service is on the hour but if you want to pop out for supplies then on foot is sometimes the only way.

We had our 17 month old with us and I do need to say their are some problems to consider if taking such a young child. There is no bath. There are 2 steps from the patio door onto the terrace which our little girl could not get the hang of and fell down quite a few times. The terrace also has quite big gaps between the railings Mariano did give us meshing to put up but this only stretches half the terrace so we needed to block off half the outside area with chairs laid on a side. You will be carrying your child everywhere so a child backpack is needed. These are just points to think about if you are taking a toddler so wont affect most people.

Casa Mariano is a fantastic place to stay for discover the Amalfi coast and I would highly recommend a stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing views
Liked least: some problems with having a toddler there
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W
Lutherville, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful views of Positano from beautiful apartment”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our family of 4 stayed is Casa Mariano in Positano and had a wonderful experience. Mariano was always quick to reply from the booking to questions while staying at his apartment. The outdoor patio has the very best view of Positano. The 3 bedroom apartment was perfect for our family and we stayed in 2 nights to cook dinner in the spacious kitchen. Our wifi went out a couple times but with 3 of us using the internet, that certainly could have caused it. Mariano was always quick with a solution. I would highly recommend Casa Mariano but be sure to pack lightly since Positano and Casa Mariano have lots of stairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The view was fabulous!
Liked least: The wifi going down
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
6
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the pool
Liked least: The many steps to and from it.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing