We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't beat the location.”
Review of Covo Dei Saraceni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Covo Dei Saraceni
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“You can't beat the location.”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The best part of this hotel is the location. It is steps away from the ferry and the beach. The hotel is beautiful. Staff is very professional and helpful. They can arrange porters to bring your luggage to the parking lot if you have a car - I highly recommend that.

The room was fine. We paid for the view - we reserved a junior suite and had a small terrace overlooking the beach. I thought the room itself was outdated - particularly the bedding. The bathroom was huge, but the shower was so small.

Also, everything costs extra - including the room safe, which was crazy given the amount of money we were paying to stay there. That part really disappointed me.

The pool area is fantastic. I loved it because there was so much space and the salt water pool looked wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ekob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    221
    62
    24
    18
See reviews for
139
551
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We are just returning from a long weekend at Covo Dei Saraceni (in September), and we absolutely loved it.
The hotel has the best location you can wish for, right on the beach of Positano, just above the meeting points for the ferry and boat tour and near all the shops and the Church.
We booked a Junior Suite which apparently has been renovated recently, the design is chic Mediterranean style, our room was large with a comfortable bed, large sofa and coffee table and big TV screen. The bathroom is large too with your own sauna!
The private terrace is overlooking the town and the sea with two sun loungers and a dining table where we had our dinner the first night because we arrived quite late.
The hotel has two pools on the 5th floor and enough loungers if you want to rest before a boat trip to Capri, Amalfi... It is very peaceful and the staff was very kind.
We had lunch at the pool restaurant where they serve the best pizza in town (we confirm).
We also had dinner at their gastronomic restaurant on the ground floor which serves a fine cuisine with very good fishes and typical recipes. I suggest you tell the waiter (thank you Paolo) what you like and you let him and the Chef decide for your meals. He also made us try a dish with Tuna and a creamy mozzarella that was absolutely delicious. What I like the most about the restaurant is how fresh are the products, the fish, the vegetables and the meat, it is simple but so tasty. It is very romantic and you can still see the buzzing town. The entire team was very professional, discreet and friendly too.
At the reception, the staff remembers who you are and are given us useful touristic advice. They were very efficient and nice during our entire stay.
The breakfast has a vast array of cakes and local pastry, you must try it! They also have various Italian cold meat, fresh fruits and typical English and continental breakfast too.
Following some comments about the room, this might be for standard rooms but I recommend to book a Junior Suite because it does change everything and will create amazing memories. It is a good value for money considering the service, the size of the room and the location of the hotel in general.

NB: we parked our car at Gennaro car park (the last one when you come down) and did our sightseeing by boat for 3 days. Ask for a porter at the car park to bring your suitcase to the hotel.

Room Tip: Third floor - entirely renovated and redecorated. Our room was a Junior Suite 33 with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eloelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Pros....great location
Great staff!!!!!!!!!
Bed comfy
Cons.....
Bathrooms dated.....looks like your granny's invalid shower/bath unit... Soo dated
Bedrooms ... Small and ....yes ...dated
Breakfast OK for a 3 star hotel

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank challenger317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We have stayed at the Covo every September for the last few years, we have experienced a few changes some not for the best, saying that it is still the best place to stay in Positano with mostly positive comments and only one little negative comment that would only apply to people who have already stayed at the hotel.
Positive points are many
Position of the Covo is the best in Positano, a comment that was voiced by several people we spoke to on our stay.
The Staff are great especially Augusto and his team at the pool.
Rooms, we stay in a junior suite with terrace on the 5th floor usually 45 but changed to 42 this year will go back to 45 next year, these suites are a few steps from the pool, there is a large terrace with two sun beds, beach towels can be picked up from reception if you wish to visit the beach.
The pool is spectacular and is in the sun from opening 9am to about 5pm when we go there is also a new infinity pool and spa which I loved.
I love the restaurant, the food is the best they will also get you anything you want if you order the day before and although it is nice to visit other restaurants I personally don't think you will find a prettier setting with the twinkling lights of Positano at night, saying that this is where the only negative remark is.

Negative Point, Cove used to offer 25% reduction in the main restaurant for residents of the Hotel but has since stopped this, I do feel they should offer some kind of discount for residents if they choose to eat they and think more people would eat there if there did offer a discount .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunnyHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in September and had a lovely visit. The Pros: If you hope to be close to the ferry's and the main city center, this location is perfect! The pool is amazing and overlooks the entire city with beautiful views! The view from the room is great, and even better for people watching! The staff were very kind and set up breakfast to be delivered to our room on our day of departure as well as arranged the porters etc. The Cons: Given how expensive this hotel is, the rooms are a bit small and not as nice as you'd expect. The shower is TINY and could barely fit my boyfriend who is quite tall. The pool bar is expensive, and given we were coming from Capri (and thought we'd seen the most expensive pool/beach clubs) this was more pricey. All in all, the hotel is beautiful, but I wouldn't consider it 5 star, definitely 4!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SBCrystal31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

When dreaming for the past few years about my trip to Positano, I always knew I would stay at the Siruense. When it came time to actually go, we would be traveling with a 1 year old and they don't allow children under 6... so, we found Covo Dei Saraceni and it was wonderful, we had the most relaxing time, the staff from the lady who made up our room, all of the concierge staff, the man who managed breakfast and then the hotel restaurant to the people working at the pool bar, were SO accommodating to us and just pleasant to be around. When we left, I felt like i was saying goodbye to family.

I am glad for our misfortune and the turn of events that led us to the Covo, it has a huge pool that overlooks right where the boats come in and when you are laying out you look up to the beautiful mountain and all of the buildings that make the city's landscape.

My only mild complaint was that the breakfast itself (not the people, view, room, etc) but the food was not the greatest... but again it was ok and I am just telling you the worst thing for us.

We made great friends at the pool and even shared a day trip on a private boat with them one of the days ****our favorite day.... swimming in the mediterranean and going straight down the coast past Amalfi.

Another great part about the location is that it is at the bottom so it is your choice to go up the hills, etc but if you can't get around that well then this is a great location for you.

Room Tip: we were overlooking the pool and the sea.... magical!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJM2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Highly recommend this hotel. It is located right on the water next to the ferry. Our room had a balcony looking over the beach and cafes. It was not the fanciest hotel but it was my favorite due to its convenience to the ferry, beach, views and staff. There is a beach across the street or a private beach is within a 5 minute walk. The hotel staff were the best. This was my favorite hotel out of the five locations during our trip to Italy. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 38 in Positano
944 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
869 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#14 of 38 in Positano
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
850 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#38 of 38 in Positano
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 38 in Positano
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covo Dei Saraceni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covo Dei Saraceni

Property: Covo Dei Saraceni
Address: Via Regina Giovanna, 5, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#12 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#12 Family Hotel in Positano
#16 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Covo Dei Saraceni 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Covo Dei Saraceni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covo Dei Saraceni Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing