We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Covo Dei Saraceni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Covo Dei Saraceni
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We will be back”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I planned our trip to Positano just a few weeks prior to arrival so finding accommodations was challenging. After reading several reviews on Trip Advisor I decided I wanted to stay down as close to the beach as possible to avoid long walks up the hill at the end of the day. I admit I was a bit nervous about this hotel after reading some of the reviews but I will have to say we had nothing but polite and helpful staff (at the reception desk, bar, pool, dining, breakfast room - everyone was always asking how they could help). Yes - it is expensive. But Positano is expensive and you are paying for the most beautiful location overlooking the main dock and beach. I don't understand why this isn't rated much higher on Trip Adviser. While expensive it is not overpriced in my opinion. If you want a less expensive hotel then stay up the hill. If you want luxury then this is the place for you. If we are ever so fortunate to return to Positano this will be our hotel of choice. in fact we won't visit unless there is availability at Covo Dei Saraceni!

Room Tip: I do not think there is one room that DOESN'T over look the water. It is that perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelwithBoys5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    201
    59
    24
    17
See reviews for
125
503
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Some reviewers said "dated". I say marvelous! Perched above the main beach, a stage with music and dance below each evening. We simply commented that is was our anniversary and mysteriously a bottle of wine arrives at our room with compliments. You are remembered and feel warmth and a sense of welcome from all the staff. Clean, great view, perfect location and simple relaxing along the pool or in the restaurant. An open balcony door at night brought the sound of the sea to lull us to sleep. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidPeschell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel is expensive but you are paying for the location... right on the beach in the best town on the Amalfi Coast. The room had a beautiful view and the service was great. Room was clean and offered a turn down service. Be prepared to be a mountain goat (lots of stairs) but it is worth it.

Room Tip: Room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The best part of this hotel is the location. It is steps away from the ferry and the beach. The hotel is beautiful. Staff is very professional and helpful. They can arrange porters to bring your luggage to the parking lot if you have a car - I highly recommend that.

The room was fine. We paid for the view - we reserved a junior suite and had a small terrace overlooking the beach. I thought the room itself was outdated - particularly the bedding. The bathroom was huge, but the shower was so small.

Also, everything costs extra - including the room safe, which was crazy given the amount of money we were paying to stay there. That part really disappointed me.

The pool area is fantastic. I loved it because there was so much space and the salt water pool looked wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ekob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We are just returning from a long weekend at Covo Dei Saraceni (in September), and we absolutely loved it.
The hotel has the best location you can wish for, right on the beach of Positano, just above the meeting points for the ferry and boat tour and near all the shops and the Church.
We booked a Junior Suite which apparently has been renovated recently, the design is chic Mediterranean style, our room was large with a comfortable bed, large sofa and coffee table and big TV screen. The bathroom is large too with your own sauna!
The private terrace is overlooking the town and the sea with two sun loungers and a dining table where we had our dinner the first night because we arrived quite late.
The hotel has two pools on the 5th floor and enough loungers if you want to rest before a boat trip to Capri, Amalfi... It is very peaceful and the staff was very kind.
We had lunch at the pool restaurant where they serve the best pizza in town (we confirm).
We also had dinner at their gastronomic restaurant on the ground floor which serves a fine cuisine with very good fishes and typical recipes. I suggest you tell the waiter (thank you Paolo) what you like and you let him and the Chef decide for your meals. He also made us try a dish with Tuna and a creamy mozzarella that was absolutely delicious. What I like the most about the restaurant is how fresh are the products, the fish, the vegetables and the meat, it is simple but so tasty. It is very romantic and you can still see the buzzing town. The entire team was very professional, discreet and friendly too.
At the reception, the staff remembers who you are and are given us useful touristic advice. They were very efficient and nice during our entire stay.
The breakfast has a vast array of cakes and local pastry, you must try it! They also have various Italian cold meat, fresh fruits and typical English and continental breakfast too.
Following some comments about the room, this might be for standard rooms but I recommend to book a Junior Suite because it does change everything and will create amazing memories. It is a good value for money considering the service, the size of the room and the location of the hotel in general.

NB: we parked our car at Gennaro car park (the last one when you come down) and did our sightseeing by boat for 3 days. Ask for a porter at the car park to bring your suitcase to the hotel.

Room Tip: Third floor - entirely renovated and redecorated. Our room was a Junior Suite 33 with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eloelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Pros....great location
Great staff!!!!!!!!!
Bed comfy
Cons.....
Bathrooms dated.....looks like your granny's invalid shower/bath unit... Soo dated
Bedrooms ... Small and ....yes ...dated
Breakfast OK for a 3 star hotel

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank challenger317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We have stayed at the Covo every September for the last few years, we have experienced a few changes some not for the best, saying that it is still the best place to stay in Positano with mostly positive comments and only one little negative comment that would only apply to people who have already stayed at the hotel.
Positive points are many
Position of the Covo is the best in Positano, a comment that was voiced by several people we spoke to on our stay.
The Staff are great especially Augusto and his team at the pool.
Rooms, we stay in a junior suite with terrace on the 5th floor usually 45 but changed to 42 this year will go back to 45 next year, these suites are a few steps from the pool, there is a large terrace with two sun beds, beach towels can be picked up from reception if you wish to visit the beach.
The pool is spectacular and is in the sun from opening 9am to about 5pm when we go there is also a new infinity pool and spa which I loved.
I love the restaurant, the food is the best they will also get you anything you want if you order the day before and although it is nice to visit other restaurants I personally don't think you will find a prettier setting with the twinkling lights of Positano at night, saying that this is where the only negative remark is.

Negative Point, Cove used to offer 25% reduction in the main restaurant for residents of the Hotel but has since stopped this, I do feel they should offer some kind of discount for residents if they choose to eat they and think more people would eat there if there did offer a discount .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunnyHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
1,166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
1,332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
872 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Franca
Hotel Villa Franca
#20 of 39 in Positano
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covo Dei Saraceni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covo Dei Saraceni

Property: Covo Dei Saraceni
Address: Via Regina Giovanna, 5, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#11 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#12 Family Hotel in Positano
#16 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Covo Dei Saraceni 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Covo Dei Saraceni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covo Dei Saraceni Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing