We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good had to go back again!”
Review of Covo Dei Saraceni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Covo Dei Saraceni
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had such a good time at the Covo Dei Saraceni in June that we had to go back again in September. Glad we did as we had even a better time. Stayed in Positano before in another hotel and as not impressed. However, after staying at the Covo dei Saraceni we changed our minds. The rooms and views are great and the service is wonderful. Whatever you ask them they will go out of their way to help. Rooms are clean and comfortable and housekeeping is excellent. Breakfast room and selection of food is also very good. We asked for a cheese that was recommended to us by our taxi driver and they ran and got us a whole plate of it with fruit.
Pool is relaxing and chairs are always available. They just added an additional small infinity pool that overlooks the beach and town.
Only complaint this time was a bit of noise from the room we had this time.
Location is great to the beach, ferry, restaurants, center of town and a nice walk up the hill to many shops and beautiful views.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigFanSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

435 - 441 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful trip to Positano. Some friends of ours from Germany recommended we stay in Positano which is near Almaphi. We highly recommend it. The location is perfect, right off the water near the boats. We recommend you are somewhat fit as there are many steps in this city. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were perfect. We were on the sixth floor overlooking the beach. The windows opened to a balcony. We could view the beach, fireworks, boats coming and going. breakfast was delicious with hot and cold options. Eggs, bacon, sausage, plus fruit, yogurt, cheese, cereal, and wonderful breads and sweets. Things to do...rent a boat, day trip to Pompeii or Sorento, Ravell,
Relax, eat pizza and Gelato.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I planned our trip to Positano just a few weeks prior to arrival so finding accommodations was challenging. After reading several reviews on Trip Advisor I decided I wanted to stay down as close to the beach as possible to avoid long walks up the hill at the end of the day. I admit I was a bit nervous about this hotel after reading some of the reviews but I will have to say we had nothing but polite and helpful staff (at the reception desk, bar, pool, dining, breakfast room - everyone was always asking how they could help). Yes - it is expensive. But Positano is expensive and you are paying for the most beautiful location overlooking the main dock and beach. I don't understand why this isn't rated much higher on Trip Adviser. While expensive it is not overpriced in my opinion. If you want a less expensive hotel then stay up the hill. If you want luxury then this is the place for you. If we are ever so fortunate to return to Positano this will be our hotel of choice. in fact we won't visit unless there is availability at Covo Dei Saraceni!

Room Tip: I do not think there is one room that DOESN'T over look the water. It is that perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelwithBoys5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Some reviewers said "dated". I say marvelous! Perched above the main beach, a stage with music and dance below each evening. We simply commented that is was our anniversary and mysteriously a bottle of wine arrives at our room with compliments. You are remembered and feel warmth and a sense of welcome from all the staff. Clean, great view, perfect location and simple relaxing along the pool or in the restaurant. An open balcony door at night brought the sound of the sea to lull us to sleep. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidPeschell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel is expensive but you are paying for the location... right on the beach in the best town on the Amalfi Coast. The room had a beautiful view and the service was great. Room was clean and offered a turn down service. Be prepared to be a mountain goat (lots of stairs) but it is worth it.

Room Tip: Room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The best part of this hotel is the location. It is steps away from the ferry and the beach. The hotel is beautiful. Staff is very professional and helpful. They can arrange porters to bring your luggage to the parking lot if you have a car - I highly recommend that.

The room was fine. We paid for the view - we reserved a junior suite and had a small terrace overlooking the beach. I thought the room itself was outdated - particularly the bedding. The bathroom was huge, but the shower was so small.

Also, everything costs extra - including the room safe, which was crazy given the amount of money we were paying to stay there. That part really disappointed me.

The pool area is fantastic. I loved it because there was so much space and the salt water pool looked wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ekob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We are just returning from a long weekend at Covo Dei Saraceni (in September), and we absolutely loved it.
The hotel has the best location you can wish for, right on the beach of Positano, just above the meeting points for the ferry and boat tour and near all the shops and the Church.
We booked a Junior Suite which apparently has been renovated recently, the design is chic Mediterranean style, our room was large with a comfortable bed, large sofa and coffee table and big TV screen. The bathroom is large too with your own sauna!
The private terrace is overlooking the town and the sea with two sun loungers and a dining table where we had our dinner the first night because we arrived quite late.
The hotel has two pools on the 5th floor and enough loungers if you want to rest before a boat trip to Capri, Amalfi... It is very peaceful and the staff was very kind.
We had lunch at the pool restaurant where they serve the best pizza in town (we confirm).
We also had dinner at their gastronomic restaurant on the ground floor which serves a fine cuisine with very good fishes and typical recipes. I suggest you tell the waiter (thank you Paolo) what you like and you let him and the Chef decide for your meals. He also made us try a dish with Tuna and a creamy mozzarella that was absolutely delicious. What I like the most about the restaurant is how fresh are the products, the fish, the vegetables and the meat, it is simple but so tasty. It is very romantic and you can still see the buzzing town. The entire team was very professional, discreet and friendly too.
At the reception, the staff remembers who you are and are given us useful touristic advice. They were very efficient and nice during our entire stay.
The breakfast has a vast array of cakes and local pastry, you must try it! They also have various Italian cold meat, fresh fruits and typical English and continental breakfast too.
Following some comments about the room, this might be for standard rooms but I recommend to book a Junior Suite because it does change everything and will create amazing memories. It is a good value for money considering the service, the size of the room and the location of the hotel in general.

NB: we parked our car at Gennaro car park (the last one when you come down) and did our sightseeing by boat for 3 days. Ask for a porter at the car park to bring your suitcase to the hotel.

Room Tip: Third floor - entirely renovated and redecorated. Our room was a Junior Suite 33 with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eloelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#7 of 38 in Positano
984 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
914 reviews
1 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Franca
Hotel Villa Franca
#19 of 38 in Positano
840 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covo Dei Saraceni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covo Dei Saraceni

Address: Via Regina Giovanna, 5, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#12 Family Hotel in Positano
#12 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#16 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range: £350 - £790 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Covo Dei Saraceni 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Covo Dei Saraceni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covo Dei Saraceni Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing