We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be back...”
Review of Covo Dei Saraceni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Covo Dei Saraceni
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Glencoe, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We will be back...”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My wife and I began a two week 30th Anniversary trip to Italy at The Covo. After spending four nights there we left for Florence and then were scheduled to go on to Tuscany and Rome. We had such a fabulous experience in Positano and at The Covo that when we arrived in Florence we both had the same thought, "why did we leave Positano"? We called The Covo and they explained they were very full but that if we were willing to change rooms a few times they would accommodate us for five additional nights. One of the highlights of our trip was sitting on our lovely balcony when we returned to The Covo and toasting our wise decision! The staff at The Covo is extremely professional and welcoming, from the front desk, to reservations (Gino and Camillia), the restaurant, etc, the service, all in our book is top notch. One benefit to staying in
several rooms is that we learned that we would be happy in any of them, they all have a great balconies with world class views. A few other observations: the buffet breakfast offerings were many, fresh, and the service was fast. You could linger, or if you wanted to get a quick bite and get on with your day, you just gave your room number and left. The pool was beautiful and the staff there was also very attentive. Because of The Covo's location it's great if you are dining out elsewhere in Positano since unlike most you are walking downhill to to return to your hotel, we encountered several couples who were dreading their walks back uphill to their hotels after dinners! Finally, The Covo was great about arranging for porters to the staging area higher up in Positano for check in and check out and we also had them arrange drivers to the Naples train
station and it worked beautifully with no delays or issues and once again we were impressed with the precision and great service we received. If you are arriving at the Naples train station you will get off the train and quickly see your driver holding a sign with your name displayed. From there, you'll soon be in a very special place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    210
    59
    24
    17
See reviews for
127
521
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 6 nights and it was perfect. The rooms are very big and attractive and the balcony views of the water and Positano are amazing. I thought Positano was magical, because of our view. It was also fun being above the dock area, watching people arrive and leave the island. The pool/bar area is big and also has breathtaking views. Being able to go to the pool after walking all day or instead of sightseeing, was ideal and it didn't seem to me that many hotels had a pool. The beach is rocky, so we were glad they have a pool. The breakfast has plenty to offer with made to order eggs if you desire. The staff is all delightful. The only negative about this hotel is the internet does not work in your room. It works from the hotel lobby. Positano is on a hill and this hotel is at the bottom on the beach. You walk up hill to get to everything. My husband has bad knees and he was fine with it, but I could see it being a problem for some. The benefit is after having dinner (full), we walked down hill to the hotel. We didn't miss the spa, because we got so much exercise walking up and down hills. I can't wait to go back and we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to have a terrific view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank urlucky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had such a good time at the Covo Dei Saraceni in June that we had to go back again in September. Glad we did as we had even a better time. Stayed in Positano before in another hotel and as not impressed. However, after staying at the Covo dei Saraceni we changed our minds. The rooms and views are great and the service is wonderful. Whatever you ask them they will go out of their way to help. Rooms are clean and comfortable and housekeeping is excellent. Breakfast room and selection of food is also very good. We asked for a cheese that was recommended to us by our taxi driver and they ran and got us a whole plate of it with fruit.
Pool is relaxing and chairs are always available. They just added an additional small infinity pool that overlooks the beach and town.
Only complaint this time was a bit of noise from the room we had this time.
Location is great to the beach, ferry, restaurants, center of town and a nice walk up the hill to many shops and beautiful views.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigFanSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful trip to Positano. Some friends of ours from Germany recommended we stay in Positano which is near Almaphi. We highly recommend it. The location is perfect, right off the water near the boats. We recommend you are somewhat fit as there are many steps in this city. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were perfect. We were on the sixth floor overlooking the beach. The windows opened to a balcony. We could view the beach, fireworks, boats coming and going. breakfast was delicious with hot and cold options. Eggs, bacon, sausage, plus fruit, yogurt, cheese, cereal, and wonderful breads and sweets. Things to do...rent a boat, day trip to Pompeii or Sorento, Ravell,
Relax, eat pizza and Gelato.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I planned our trip to Positano just a few weeks prior to arrival so finding accommodations was challenging. After reading several reviews on Trip Advisor I decided I wanted to stay down as close to the beach as possible to avoid long walks up the hill at the end of the day. I admit I was a bit nervous about this hotel after reading some of the reviews but I will have to say we had nothing but polite and helpful staff (at the reception desk, bar, pool, dining, breakfast room - everyone was always asking how they could help). Yes - it is expensive. But Positano is expensive and you are paying for the most beautiful location overlooking the main dock and beach. I don't understand why this isn't rated much higher on Trip Adviser. While expensive it is not overpriced in my opinion. If you want a less expensive hotel then stay up the hill. If you want luxury then this is the place for you. If we are ever so fortunate to return to Positano this will be our hotel of choice. in fact we won't visit unless there is availability at Covo Dei Saraceni!

Room Tip: I do not think there is one room that DOESN'T over look the water. It is that perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelwithBoys5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Some reviewers said "dated". I say marvelous! Perched above the main beach, a stage with music and dance below each evening. We simply commented that is was our anniversary and mysteriously a bottle of wine arrives at our room with compliments. You are remembered and feel warmth and a sense of welcome from all the staff. Clean, great view, perfect location and simple relaxing along the pool or in the restaurant. An open balcony door at night brought the sound of the sea to lull us to sleep. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidPeschell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel is expensive but you are paying for the location... right on the beach in the best town on the Amalfi Coast. The room had a beautiful view and the service was great. Room was clean and offered a turn down service. Be prepared to be a mountain goat (lots of stairs) but it is worth it.

Room Tip: Room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#8 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Franca
Hotel Villa Franca
#20 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covo Dei Saraceni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covo Dei Saraceni

Property: Covo Dei Saraceni
Address: Via Regina Giovanna, 5, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#12 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#12 Family Hotel in Positano
#16 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Covo Dei Saraceni 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Covo Dei Saraceni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covo Dei Saraceni Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing