We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 5 days”
Review of Covo Dei Saraceni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Covo Dei Saraceni
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great 5 days”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 days in June and it was great. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were teated so well. Pool area is perfection, room was fine but what made the stay were the staff. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    212
    59
    24
    17
See reviews for
128
530
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We spent the second part of our honeymoon here earlier this month, staying for 3 nights after 4 in Sorrento. After a beautiful journey along the coast we were in awe when we arrived at Positano, a beautiful gem of a town, unspoilt at least in the main by cars as they can only go so far. If staying at Covo Dei Saraceni highly recommend using the town porter service to take your bags, this was €5 per piece of luggage and well worth it considering the fairly steep walk down along cobbled paths. Once we worked our way to the hotel we were absolutely blown away by the location and exterior of the hotel, prime position right on the beach, overlooking the beach and the town.

We had a classic room, room 14 which was a corner room, it looked to be the biggest of the classic rooms, with lots of space and a huge bed. The rainforest style shower was amazing too. Pool terrace and infinity pool were lovely, again we couldn't believe the luxury of lying in the sun looking at the fantastic view. Staff around the pool and bar area were great, as were the restaurant staff at breakfast. We didn't eat in the evenings there, there is a wonderful choice of less formal restaurants nearby. We did have lunch which was fine, if a little overpriced. Breakfast was also ok, the usual hotel buffet style. Also an extremely clean hotel, there was a maid service to the rooms twice a day, and the pool area was immaculate.

Overall a beautiful, perfectly located hotel. Our one negative is that occasionally there was a bad smell of drains coming from the stream outside - unfortunately this made it a little unpleasant on the balcony at times, and some of the bars immediately outside the hotel were similar.

Room Tip: We had a classic room, number 14 which looked the biggest of the classic rooms with a fab rainforest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elbee1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a great 5 star hotel located just at the dge pf the main beach area Positano. The most notable part of this hotel is its great location; you don't have to use long stairs to go up to the beach, the hotel is actually in the beach ! And the ferries to capri, amalfi, naples and all other Amalfi coast villages embark from the small port right in front of the hotel, so if you arrive buy both or visit nearby areas, this should be a great option. The next thing we liked was the great rooftop pool!!! It was clean, with service of nice refreshments, towels, etc, and there wete enough sunbeds for everybody!!! The rooms were clean and well serviced. Because we spend part of our honeymoon there, and the travel agency put a notice on this to the hotel staff we were pleasantly surprised to find a nice bottle of champagne and congratulation card waiting in the hotel. And one more thing... The balcony... There was a great balcony in front of our room that looked to the beach... Great place to sit in the eveneings and enjoy many concerts thaat took poace in the beach.

the restaurand on the ground floor was a very good one... I'd recommnd seabass they have... Overall a bit pricey, (dinner for two with a bottle of average wine could easily end Eur 150) but great in terms of food and service.
Both the hotel and restaurant strongly recommended !!!

Room Tip: Take a room with balcony!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Checking into Covo Dei Saraceni for a three day celebration of my daughter's 21st birthday, I admit to being initially intimidated by how large the hotel appeared ,but once we got settled into our very large room with a terrace overlooking the ocean and the rest of Positano and then explored the property,we fell in love with the place. It has three pools,many places to dine and the owner has a restaurant high atop Positano that felt as though we had to drive 5 miles up the mountain to find. Once we arrived,we were greeted by a gracious,lovely woman and both the meal and the ambience were as if we were in someone's home.
The hotel arranged our trip to Capri,which amazed us and we were quite content to spend our days at the beach,the pools or strolling the quaint streets filled with tempting boutiques. Of course,no stay would have been complete without homemade sandals while we waited.
Thank you Covo Dei Saraceni,for a wonderfully relaxing three days.
Best,
Judith Wayne
jawwaj@aol.com

Room Tip: My only complaint was the tile floors. The people above us were quite noisy and there was no carpet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jawwaj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Gorgeous views from room and rooftop pool of Positano and Capri. Perfect location and convenient, base of Positano near beach, ferries to Capri and Amalfi Coast. The rooms were perfect for a beach location, clean and bright and comfortable. Great for family, right near all the restaurants and shops, lively area. Breakfast was amazing. Hotel proprietors are wonderful, most of the hotel staff was helpful. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Request best views and higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

While Positano isn't the easiest place to get to, it was worth the drive from Siena to Naples, and then by private car. (We booked the private car thru the hotel and it was worth every penny.) The hotel staff was extremely friendly and the room was simple but clean. The view however from our patio was exceptional. The breakfast buffet was robust and offered a great variety to choose from. The hotel restaurant, with seating near the water, cooked one of the best pizzas we had in all of Italy. And, it was really nice to enjoy a seaside gin martini. This place is a must if you are spending some time in Positano and/or the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

This is the most amazing hotel we have ever stayed at. It surpasses any Four Season, Ritz or St. Regis. We are staying in room 35, Junior Suite Deluxe Superior, the pictures didn't do it justice. I wold say there's a 1100 sq foot terrace w/ pool, amazing view and 3 dining areas. There's also a garden with lemon, eggplant, tomatoes, and basil plants. Beautiful lanterns that are candlelit at night. You never want to leave the room!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenGChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 39 in Positano
824 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
911 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#15 of 39 in Positano
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
1,212 reviews
1.0 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 39 in Positano
815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covo Dei Saraceni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covo Dei Saraceni

Property: Covo Dei Saraceni
Address: Via Regina Giovanna, 5, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#11 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#12 Family Hotel in Positano
#16 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Covo Dei Saraceni 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Covo Dei Saraceni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covo Dei Saraceni Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing